You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hours of a (television/film/media) Crew Member

in #film7 years ago

I really appreciate what you are saying @pocketchange. I've written a few other articles on steemit about how much I enjoy my job and how there are definitely many perks that we are afforded, so on one hand, I absolutely agree with you! Some of my most favorite things about working in this industry are the people and the fact that each job is different than the last. However, I also feel very strongly that production - specifically production assistants - have hours and wages that can be absolutely ridiculous. And I'd also like to point out that the spoiled things that make the crews have fun times like you have pointed out above are all there because part of production's job is to make sure the rest of the crew is happy (not to mention that when anything goes wrong they have to be there with multiple different ways to make it right). I've said it before and I will say it again, the mark of a really good production team is to not even notice that they are there and doing anything. There is so much that goes on behind the behind the scenes that some crew members either aren't aware of or have forgotten. And unions are great when they do what they are meant to do, but having worked with them closely for many years I can also say with certainty that they can also cause their fair share of problems. And the production assistants are very rarely able to be unionized and while there are some production jobs that are union there are tons of ways to get around having to be a union member and be on the job. I appreciate your points about the good sides of production (and I agree with them!) but there hours are definitely a major negative for a lot of us. Thanks for reading and supporting my post. I look forward to hearing more of your opinions on this and other posts! :)

Sort:  

Boy oh boy @ekpickle and @pocketchange sign me up for the gigs that I'd have the luxury of standing around, chatting, smoking and enjoying craft service treats. I'll give you there is down time but specifically in the commercial world the work is steady and the days are long. I can't name a job that I got to eat with the rest of the crew or hit the bathroom more than once while on set. Not very glamourous if you ask me. I did laugh when @ekpickle mentioned she was scared to see what her hourly wage really was... on my latest tampon spot I made well below minimum. I'd say with the hours I put in no union could afford most p.a.'s or a few folks in production. The bank would be broken. That being said, no matter how difficult the schedules are or how hard the days have been it has afforded me a lifestyle to raise my family. The flip side? So many crew members health including mine has suffered in the long run. Again I say balance is the answer... solid hours and enough turnaround for all.

Actually, filming Commercials are a favorite of mine... They're usually short in the amount of Days Worked, and you make a ton of money... Even with all the Hours, they can't Kill you in just a few days...
@pocketechange

... $7.77 ... ... 1 Vote ... ... Reply

I agree that PA's seem to do the most hours around the Sets, starting before most of the Crew and working long after Wrap... They pretty much get paid the least amount of money for their time... If there was a way for them to all stick together and never agree to a Flat Pay Rate, things would get better for them... Too bad there wasn't a way for them to read my PC Theory... That could help their Purchasing Power after the Reset and Transfer of Wealth...
@pocketechange

..... $7.77 ... ... 1 Vote ... ... Reply

I'm curious, how long have you been in the union (I'm assuming of course that you are) and what department you work? I'm going to guess your g&e. I actually made the decision to specifically do commercials - though other projects get thrown in too - after doing 5 years in features. My favorite thing about them is that no matter how bad or good they are there's a definite end date. Unlike film and to some extent television where the schedule can suddenly be weeks longer than you expected. But for guys/gals that work commercials on the regular I'd say they might disagree about not getting killed hour wise. Most commercial shoot days are one or two days ish? You have to therefore book multiple shoots in a week - meaning you're not grabbing that 6 or 7 day pay bump and turn around time is not considered because you're working for different companies. It's by no means always heinous! But for those of us that aren't sitting by the craft service table or smoking, it can lead to very long tiring weeks. PA's aren't allowed to be on flat rate days any more, though I understand there are ways to get around it. They are however based on a 12 hour day and when given OT it's normally at only time and a half equaling about $21 an hour after 12 hours. And since they're first and last on set on every job they go from shoot day to shoot day constantly working the longest craziest hours making at most around $400 (if they put in a double day) for the day. Even the lowest man in each department makes more than that, usually without OT. I'm not saying all gigs are terrible, in fact I feel lucky I'm able to do what I do. I'm just saying there's plenty of people on set that a 12 hour day doesn't apply to and many of them get paid the least. I've enjoyed the back and forth @pocketchange. I think positive change can only happen when people are willing to listen to all sides!

@pocketchange your statement about "hours not killing you" made me reflect how many crew folks I've lost in the last few years. In the short term you are so right it's no harm no foul but most of these folks have literally worked themselves to death (both union and non union). The hours, short turnaround (even on union gigs), wear and tear.... I really think you and @ekpickle are both right. Love what you do but not so much it destroys you. There has to be a better way. It's fantastic that you are posting and bringing another informed side to this post. Thank you.

I don't work in the Grip or Electric Departments... I actually deal with most all Departments... I get paid by the Hour, along with Fringe Benefits and all the other possible Penalties and Forced Calls, that spoil us to the core... I've worked in the Motion Picture Industry for a very long time... I try to remain invisible as to my identity whenever I'm on line, so I never reveal exactly what I do... I do work on Location, in Multiple Cities and States... Oh, and I've heard all the Complaints associated with the industry on pretty much every Project... Thanks for commenting back... Do yourself a favor and read a few of my Posts... I have a PC Theory concerning the Reset and Transfer of Wealth...
@pocketechange

... $7.77 ... ... 1 Vote ... ... Reply

Wow sign me up I want to do what you do. Fringe benefits, forced calls, being spoiled to the core? Sounds glorious ;)

It's really not the easiest line of work to get into, but it is possible... You can't rule it out... Oh, and if you go past 6 hours without eating, you get what's called Meal Penalties for every half hour, until they break you to eat... It's insane for sure...
@pocketechange

... $7.77 ... ... 1 Vote ... ... Reply

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45