Fifty word story: dreams and nightmares and dental flosssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiftywords6 years ago

Scalpel

"I'm at a mirror, I brush my teeth, and I have this oversized dental floss."

"I try anyway. I jam cord between my teeth. Gums bleeding, tears flowing, I'm compelled to continue."

"What's it mean, doc?"

"Find a psychiatrist? Open up!"

He lifts an oversized scalpel.

I can't wake up.


This story was different from my last #fiftywords entry. I actually took my freewrite from @mariannewest's daily freewrites, for which today's prompt was I Floss my Tears and carefully pared it down until I was left with only the essential bits.

If you like to see my previous #fiftywords effort:

Or other Flash Fiction:

If you want something a little more substantial, check out my bulkier, on-going Sorcery works, they could use some more attention:

Sorcery Teaser | Sorcery - 01 | Sorcery - 02 | Sorcery - 03 | Sorcery - 04 | Sorcery - 05 | Sorcery - 06 | Sorcery - 07 | Sorcery - 08 | Sorcery - 09 | Sorcery - 10 | Sorcery - 11 | Sorcery - 12 | Sorcery - 13

"Artwork" is my own.

~~ Thanks for Reading ~~

Sort:  

I am glad I read that in the morning, not late last night! It's just the kind of thing to keep me awake at night, or follow me into my nightmares!

Something about the mouth and teeth and anything to do with pain there and it's... unsettling. Throw in the dream aspect, and it starts to edge towards disturbing/nightmare material.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88