ENOUGH!

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

He'll return again today. The one who is to be my husband. Although with all the lectures mama has been given me, I know that what I'm about to enter is not a marriage.

image
Source

Maybe, maybe I'll be lucky like Aunty Shade, and I'll be able to break free. Mama doesn't believe so. She says I've not got the body and face to keep one man, talk more of managing to snatch four others. Yet she feels I could learn a thing or two from Aunty Shade. Five marriages and all that experience. There have to be some past questions, right?

Only... Only what she tells me and what mama tells me, I fear I won't be able to do. But Mama says I'm too old now. If I pass this year, no one would want me at 27. Bayo is doing me a favour, I should be filled with gratitude. Thus, I must wash, cook, kiss his feet... Perhaps, I might feed him too, and flush his poo after him. I wonder if he'd appreciate that extra mile. I have to be a good wife after all. She says I must be meek, and the only time my voice is allowed to get loud is when I'm under him, fulfilling my wifely duties. Only my moans must reverberate through the walls, nothing else. My replies must always be yes. What good wife refuses her husband, anything? My lips must never be turned down in a frown, not even when he brings in another woman. It is my home, and I must keep it with wisdom.
Aunty Shade says to win him in the other room, that way, I can tame him around the house. She says she'll teach me the act of making him come back for more. That way I would raise my voice, say no a thousand times, and still keep my home. After all, a woman must do so with wisdom.

Yet, she just got out of her fifth marriage and father only visits once a year. He's too busy loving his other family. The one he had after mother and I. They don't see it. They don't realise that I do not want to be on a leash, or put one around my husband's neck for that matter. That is not my idea of a marriage. I want partnership, not slavery, but I'm 26, and beggars don't choose.

So yes, when Bayo comes today, under mama's watchful eyes, I'll be meek and quiet as he raises his voice... As he tells me I should be thankful for his mercies. I'll agree when he says he shares mama's views. I won't be allowed to flinch when he grabs my behind forcefully, and whisper disgusting words in my ears. I've no permission to feel disrespected when he tells me what part of my body he likes and doesn't, and how I'm to kiss the ground he walks on, as he makes up for my deficiencies. That way, he'd be happy and would be quick to give me his ring, his name, his home. He'd be quick to save my pride as a woman, since my worth lies in the title before my name. I have no doubt that after the pastor joins us, It'll be only I, aware of the shackles on my neck, hands and feet, as he drags me away to the place which would be my prison. Never a home.

image
Source

Today, I witnessed the wrath of a god. Who knew Bayo is Sango's descendant? The house still shakes even though it's been an hour since he left, the storm he had wrecked in his wake. Mama says I should call him and apologise. Run to him, do his laundry and roll on the floor with eyes bleeding.

Aunty Shade says to wait a little while. Later in the evening, she'll take me to the Iya Simbi. Iya Simbi always has the best undergarments. In fact, a single, unpromised lady is branded a whore the moment she steps into Iya Simbi's shop. Why else would any lady go there if not to get things to tempt and please a man with? God forbid she wears them for herself! To feel sexy and good. To walk around town with a secret smile on her face, knowing beneath her modest clothings, she had the attire of Aphrodite. God forbid a woman ever thinks of pleasing herself!
Aunty Shade knows this, she's a regular customer of Iya Simbi's, and the gossip network. Oh she knows when her back is turned, she's the biggest news but she cares less. As long as she's one of the best publishers, she's fine. So you see, Aunty Shade must know that if I step into Iya Simbi's shop and Bayo does not forgive my sins, I'll be ruined, doomed! The beggar who had no choice, would have less.

Yet she says this is the only way. To win a man, you must go through his third leg. I've been able to guess what subject her past questions are based on. Perhaps, she should just open a school. Iya Simbi would be a great partner!

Sighs. I digress. Mama won't speak to me. She's in the corner, sulking. Aunty Shade keeps giving me the eyes. This moment, it's one of pity, the next, it's one of disdain. The days have passed when I cared. A new dawn broke today.

Yes, Bayo returned as I'd foreseen he would. He did all the things I'd said he would. However, after endless sleepless nights, I've decided I'd rather live a lonely life, than a miserable one. Somehow, a lot of people think the two are synonymous. Well, not always. Ah yes. Bayo remained himself, but it was I who changed. I finally found the courage, the voice to speak out. The strength which has long laid dormant inside of me. So when he raised his voice, my lips turned down in a frown and I told him I didn't appreciate it. When he said my boobs are too small, I told him I love myself the way I am; perfect, beautiful. When he threatened to go to another woman, I told him I am too amazing to be an option, so he'd better not bother coming back. Then he snapped, and grabbed my behind again. He told me I'd do well to remember my place, to be grateful for his favor, or he'd be too happy teaching me forgotten manners.

It wasn't I who slapped him. No. Not the Ireti everyone knows. It was the Ireti that was finally tired of staying still. The Ireti who was birthed today. Surprised, he held his hands to his face and as he recovered, he proceeded to make do on his promises...

"Don't you dare!" I had said, my voice reaching the rooftops. It wasn't a moan. While shock held him a statue, I spoke in clear terms.
"The slave you seek does not live here anymore. Just a woman who has finally come into being. A woman who has decided to take her own life, into her hands. A beggar may not choose, but a Queen does not settle."

image
Source

The gates of hell flung open. The sky tore apart. It rained- fire and brimstone.
L O L. Pardon my exaggeration... Bayo is no Sango's descendant, but a dog's. The shock fell away. He broke free from his cage, then he barked. Like the rabid dog he is, but there was no bite. After all, a dog is no match, for a tigress.
It's been an hour since he left. The house still reeks of his stink. I have never felt better.

Sort:  

Aunty Zizymena, please take it easy o.

I love the story

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha okay i will @botefarm

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Hello @zyzymena your post has been featured on the Stach Post Review Article
Thanks for using the Stach Tag.
Keep Being Creative!.

Courtesy - Stach Curation team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85