HELLO STRANGER!

in #fiction6 years ago

It was a Tuesday morning.
The sun shone like it was in a fierce competition with a non-existent twin, wickedly showing off it was the boss. But I welcomed its biting warmth. It was a refreshing change from the famous unpredictable London weather.

imageimage
I smiled, as I tilted my face upward, eyes closed, facing the heavens, soaking all the warmth in. Paris. Beautiful city of love. What better place to get the total feel, if not the Eiffel tower.

I smiled again, a bit sadly this time, as I watched lovers walk around in each other's arms, occasionally gazing upon one another with so much love and adoration. The old people always warmed my heart the most. They always looked so breathtakingly adorable, sometimes I found something in my eyes. Then the teenagers, young, full of emotions and strength and hope! All the things that young love was.
Sighs... I too was like them once.I looked away, trying to push back the waves of sadness that were once again threatening to take over, and gazed upon a very familiar purple padlock.
Elizabeth and Joey, it read.

I remembered it just like yesterday. Closing my eyes again, I let my mind take me on that trip I've gone on much too often, in the weeks that have passed.
Giggles... Kisses... Warm hugs... Declarations of love... And unending promises, as two hands fixed the lock, and threw its keys to an unknown place. More kisses, and a final silent promise- 'forever', before turning to go away, arms around one another.
I was just ending my reverie when an all too acquainted voice pulled me out of it.

'Hi'
I couldn't help the smile that graced my face as I turned toward its source, opening my eyes.

'Hi', I answered.

I quickly identified the owner of the voice, a dark, handsome roguish young man in all his 6'2 glory.

'I'm sorry. I really do not mean to intrude but I've been watching you for quite a while now and you seem alone', he spoke again, pausing to gauge my reaction before continuing.
'Although, for the life of me, I can't begin to imagine how such a beautiful ray of sunshine could be all by itself in the famous city of love, even more so, at its very heart'. There was that accent I coudn't get at first.

Still smiling, I spoke.
'Irish?'

He gave me that smile that always threatened my life, and I was sure at that moment, I would have read a flat line on an EKG.

'Bummer. Obvious much?'. This time, I laughed
'You couldn't keep it a secret if you tried. Neither can I'.
He smiled more now. 'Oh yeah. English. The accent is very distinctive. Come to Paris much?'
'Well, it's just over a 3-hour train ride, I love the sun here. It's always warm. How about you? Quite a distance from the shores of Ireland'. I said knowingly.
'Oh yeah. I was told the greatest treasure I seek would be here today.' He paused again, looking at me meaningfully, as if wanting to let his words sink in and birth butterflies in my belly- unsurprisingly, they did just that.

He continued,
'Turns out it wasn't a wolf cry and I am most delighted. Pardon my manners'.
In one swift move, he bowed, gentleman style and stretched forth his hand as he introduced himself.
'Joey. Joey Sanders'
Offering my hand in return, and giving a slight curtsy for effect, I replied.
'Elizabeth. Elizabeth King'
He took my hand in his and brought it to his lips, his eyes never leaving mine. When my skin felt the cool touch of his lips, I felt the treacherous shiver ran down my spine.
'Elizabeth. How befitting for a Queen'. There was that darned accent I had fallen in love with at first-hear again. He gently released my hand before coming to stand by me, offering me his arm which I took happily.
'Dear Elizabeth, as I see it, you are alone. I am alone. A terrible sight to behold in this beautiful city renowned for love. What say you? Perhaps we could go grab brunch together?' He asked, with his signature devilish wink.
Not trusting my voice, I whispered
'I'd love that'.
And as we started moving, I could'nt help the grin that extended to my ears as I recalled the day-before-yesterday's phone call

Elizabeth: How do we do this? Where do we start over?'
Joey: Well, I guess from the very beginning. Only, I do everything right this time. At least, I'm sure as hell going to try.
Elizabeth: (long pause).

That's all I ask for.
I couldn't help shaking my head in unabashed adoration as I looked up at the man who I knew I would love forever. Funny how just three nights ago, I was still thinking about how I would move on without him, and now, here we were. He had come back. For me. For us.
As we left the bridge, I spied the familiar purple, and an ethereal feeling of calm and content washed over me.

'Forever, indeed'.

until i write again

yours truly

@zizymena

Sort:  

Wooow zizymena,
i barely couldnt stop reading! By far the best fiction i have read here on Steem! Really loved how you charectered Elizabeth, guess i fall for those old beautiful names..

Cant wait to read more of you, it was a blessing,
all the best from germany,
johannes (:

Thank you so much @johannesburghart. I'm so humbled.

I said i will ask you what you studied
You are too good

Awwww😁 you won't believe if I tell you I am a biochemist.

I didnt hear you,lemme go and clean my ears

Lemme clean my eyes💃

This is a great piece.

Thank you so much

This is good, I almost got sacked because I was engrossed reading from this and I left work.

😁😁😁 please don't get sacked o. Thanks for reading.

You have a skill dear

Thank you so much

Awwwnn, so cute love.
So beautiful

Thanks sweetest for always visiting. I'm grateful

Aww😢. Forever indeed Joey😢

I so much salute your creative acumen.

He gave me that smile that always threatened my life, and I was sure at that moment, I would have read a flat line on an EKG.

I can relate that feeling. Seems like the feeling I got when my crush called me on video call. I wouldn't have just read a flat line on electrocardiogram, I'm sure the display would've been blank :)

Awwwww this is so sweet but a blank display on the EKG isn't such a good thing. oya I pray tell,who is this crush that has you got you feeling this way?

She didn't just ask this question, did she? :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71