A POISONED CHALICE (EPISODE 7)

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

I have killed her. I have killed the love of my life. This was not the plan. This was not what I had expected. All my dreams have evaporated like last night’s rain. What will I do? Where will I run to? God I have failed.


crime-64067_1280.jpg
pixabay: Geralt


I looked about the room and shook my head. I drew another drag of the weed and let the smoke blur the scene and cripple my brain. I stretched my legs and counted my toes. I could hear music blasting on the headphones wrapped around my ears, so I didn’t hear the knock, the cock of the guns, the screams and then my door burst forward in splinters.

Some splinters rained on me, piercing my skin. My roach fell from my hand as I tried to dodge the bits of wood. I could care less about the carpet getting burnt by the still smoldering roach because the stout mouth of a sawed off shotgun stared at me like I was peering into a well. My shoulders dropped. I was tired of running anyhow. I raised my chin as the tap of shoes tiptoed into the room. As Ahmed’s face came into view, a shadow flicked on my side and pain creased my face as something blunt ran into me. Darkness descended like a blanket and I lost time.


I woke up wet. I tried to shake my head but the pain was too much to take. I closed my eyes and let the pain throb like a trembling flame in my skull. Another onslaught of water pouring all over me, jerked me up and I tried to stare through the water but everything hurt. The light was too much. All the shapes in front of me were blurry and I could not make head or tail of what I was seeing.

Someone asked a question but I could not make out the words. I tried to stand up but I felt restrains on my arms, my chest and my legs. I was going nowhere. I fell to my side and mercifully, darkness descended again.

I woke up again and this time the pain had receded a bit. It was like a thought in the back of my mind. I didn’t try to raise my head though. I just left my head bowed down; I was too tired to raise it up. I tensed my muscles and felt the restraints still holding me to the chair. I sighed softly and then I heard a chair scrape.

“You are awake now?” a voice said.

I remained silent but I heard someone walk away from me and then a knock on a door. The door opened and I heard footsteps walk into the room.

“Obinna are you comfortable?” Ahmed asked.

I raised my head slowly and studied his face. There was this curious light in his eyes that I could not identify. He picked a chair and placed it before me then he sat down.

“You know everything was just as I expected until the gunshot. I thought about it that day then when I went to get Fatima’s body ready for burial, do you know what I found out?” he asked me.

I stared at him, curiosity eating inside me but I didn’t want to give him the benefit of not knowing anything so I kept silent.

“You don’t want to ask me, right? Well let me save your pride the stress. I went to her family house and I was told that they can’t find her body.” He said.

“What!” I yelled, surprise overshadowing my suspicions.

“Exactly! What happened to the body of a woman shot at pointblank range? Someone we saw bleed right in front of us? At first I thought it was a ploy by you but you ran too far and too hard for it to make sense and seeing your face now, I realize that you do not even know what is going on.” He added.

“Her body was stolen?” I asked.

“It would be so except for one detail. The crack den you took her to, the crack dealer you plotted with, the addicts that filled the house, every one of them has disappeared. The crack den is still there but the owner and the addicts claim not to have met or seen any of the persons I described. In fact, no one can remember a woman in a hijab taken into a hidden room. No one even remembers an altercation in front of the house. It is as if it never happened. When my men asked around, do you know what they got? No one in the neighborhood knew the crack dealer that you dealt with yet they knew the crack dealer that owned the place. Do you get what I am trying to say here?”Ahmed said.

“Fatima’s death was staged? You were set up?” I asked, confused.

“No Obinna. You and I were set up. We have been casted in a movie and we are playing the roles giving to us but we do not know the script or the director. I can tell you that we are not main characters in this.”

I shook my head then grunted as the pain hit me. Who would go to this extent to get Fatima’s body? Who would plan such an elaborate plot? It has to be someone that knows the history between the three of us.

“This thing will be organized by someone that knew the three of us from the past.” I said.

Ahmed laughed harshly and stood up. He looked at me sadly.

“Who knows the three of us the most? You and I didn’t contact much but Fatima knows both of us really well.” He said.

“what are saying? Knows? You think she is still alive? Fatima would not do such to me. No she wont.” I said with all the assurance I could muster.

“One last thing as you romanticize on Fatima. The gun you used had only blanks. Who gave you the gun?” he asked as he turned and walked to the door.

“I do not believe this. Fatima would not plot such trickery. She loved me! You destroyed our lives! You should have said no and let her alone!” I screamed at his back.

He stopped with his hand on the door knob then he turned to look at me. In his eyes I saw the broken heart that he tried to hide.

“You are a fool, Obinna. Fatima didn’t give a fuck about the two of us. If you ever see her again, run as far as possible from her. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. My men will release you, you are free to go. Don’t come looking for me ever.” He said then the door opened and he disappeared into the gloom.

I sat in stupor as the ropes were loosened from my body. Fatima could not have done this to our love. She could not have plotted such wickedness. No.


Stay Tuned For Episode 8
See previous episodes here;

Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Episode 4
Episode 5
Episode 6


©warpedpoetic, 2018.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this story! You've really sparked my interest in reading the previous episodes (this is my first exposure to the story).

From what I gathered though, it seems like Fatima and Obinna had planned on her death? Or so Obinna thought. I'm getting a Breaking Bad vibe from what I've read and that's without any prior knowledge of the story. Maybe that's just because of the mention of the crack den. But it's this kind of crime, murder, drug related content that always makes me think of that or possibly Ozark. I watch a lot of episodic content on Netflix hahaha

Thanks so much for sharing! I'm gonna dive into the ealier episodes and give them a go. Cheers!

I am glad I could make you stop and read. The story is unfolding as I go and I don't really know what is going to happen next but like any series, that's the fun part, isn't it?

I was surprised that Fatima seems to be playing a more active role in the series than I had planned. I had actually intended it to be a fight between two men over a woman but isn't that too cliche?

I hope I get to continue the series though as it seems propel enjoy it. Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate .

Yes, please continue it! It would be a shame for you to stop halfway through an untold story. I love that you're building it as you go. Ultimately that's what writing is but I understand the difference from an author who may have outlined the entire story beforehand. I think either method is workable and this one seems to be working quite well for you.

That love triangle can be a bit cliche hahaha but it's only cliche because it's an actual common occurrence in life, not just story telling. Still, I like the way you've gone with it. Everyone loves a good twist and really that's what made me think of Breaking Bad. The sudden departure from someone you worked with. A loved one turning on you when you least suspect it. It seemed so obvious that Fatima was dead but shes not and it looks like she may have orchestrated the entire thing.

I think you're doing a great job and I'd implore you to, at the very least, finish telling your story. Cheers!

I hope I am successful. I have several series that I never completed littered all over my blog. But I will put more effort on this one.

I know the feeling though! I have countless projects, unedited videos and photographs I've never touched that I need to. So you're not alone! I guess we both have stuff work on. Good luck brother! I'll be grinding along with you.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 183 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by warpedpoetic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.907 which ranks you at #4040 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 4041).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #112.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi warpedpoetic,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I wonder if she really betrays him... could it be? Or maybe there's something else going on. Whatever it is, it is exciting to read ^_^.
                     
Congratulations for your curie vote :).

I wonder what is worse... to believe that the love of your life is death and that you killed her OR to find out that love of your life actually never was the love of your life and that she betrayed you and made you think that you killed her..Interesting question.. but maybe all this is different and we have no idea what really happens.

Or maybe Ahmed convinced her to make a pact with him instead of Obinna and this is why he told him to run as far from her as possible when he would ever meet her.. there are so many questions opened..

How many chapters are you still planning to write? I'm sure that the next one is on the way already :)

Thank you for sharing!

Congratulations @warpedpoetic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17