Survivor (Payout of this post is pledged to Tazewell ARC. Let's make happy endings for these lost little souls!)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

“Come on, boy. Let’s go.”

“Yay! Are we going out? For a walk!? Right now!? Play fetch? I want to know!” My nose already smells the world outside. The smell of wet grass and dogs walking past... I can’t not jump up and down.

“Quit barking, you idiot. That’s the reason we gotta to do this in the first place!” Why is he angry? I thought we were going for a walk. I’m just happy. I’d go anywhere with him, do anything.

He walks towards the door, my leash in his hand. I follow, head down, tail almost touching my belly. The scent of rain on grass pulls me forward. The leash in his hand pulls me back. I just want to please him. I look up at him and softly wag my tail as he walks me towards the car.

He is going to put me in the trunk. It’s dark in there and I know he’ll get angry again if I jump back out. The lid comes down and I can’t help it. Hands hold me down as the darkness closes in.

I don’t know how long it takes. How long I lie in moving, shaking darkness and the metal-and-paint scent of the car. He finally stops and I hear the engine shutting down.

I’m so happy to see his face when he opens the trunk. I’ll remember not to bark, I really will! I promise! He takes a backpack out of the car and walks into the woods with me. New scents tease and tickle my nose, pulling me on to explore a bush here, a tree there. The trail of a rabbit across the path where my human and I walk and the sweet scents of flowers everywhere.

My human walks up to a large tree and I mark it for him. This will be our place from now on. He takes off the backpack and pulls out two bowls, a little bag of food and a water bottle. Oh! He brought me food and water! He was like this all the time when I was a pup. He was nice to me then. I walk up to him and lick his hand.

He puts down the bowls and I have a drink. I hear the rattling of chain links and look up at him. He hooks it to my collar and ties it to our tree. What is happening? Is he leaving? It must be a game. He’ll be back soon enough. I eat, and lie down to wait. He hates it when I bark, so I just stay quiet and wait for him. I desperately want to show him what a good boy I can be.

Rocky.jpg

Darkness falls like in the car trunk. The scents and the noises are different. The woods become a scary place. I look around and try to be smaller. I whimper. Can’t be much longer. He’ll be back any time now.

I wake up to the sound of whistling birds and I jump up. Is my human here yet? I knock over my water bowl in my hurry to greet him. He’s not there. If being silent didn’t bring him back, maybe he wants me to call out to him? “Human! Where are you? Please come back!” My barks don’t bring him back. I turn back to our tree, the one I marked for him and curl up against it. His scent still clings there. I close my eyes and dream of when I was little, when he always smiled at me.

The sun is out when I wake up. I’m hungry. I ate all of my food yesterday and I spilled my water this morning. I smell water though. There is a puddle not far away and it smells amazing. My chain is too short to reach it. I bark again, as loudly as I can with my parched throat.

Night falls and I return to the tree where my human’s scent has begun to fade.

The darkness comes and goes and I wait for him. I hear footsteps in the distance. They are not his. They are different. The scent is not his either. My throat is dry and sore but I manage to bark. “I’m here!” Please, find me...

“Look, Aunt Jen. Up ahead! There he is. I knew I’d heard right.” The two humans come closer, and the boy smiles at me. “It’s OK, boy. We won’t hurt you.” I hope they have water. I wag my tail and try to be quiet. Humans don’t like barking. I remember that.

The woman is tall and her hair is the colour of the sunset. She looks at my empty bowls and says a word I’ve never heard. The look on the boy’s face makes me think it’s a very, very bad word. They won’t leave me behind again, will they?

I whine, and lower myself to the ground, tail firmly pressed between my legs. Please don’t get mad. I promise I’ll be good. Will you take me with you? I don’t want to be alone in the darkness anymore.

She looks at me and the frown melts. “Oh honey, don’t be scared. It’s not you I’m mad at. I just wish I could get my hands on the idiot who left you here.”

Idiot. That’s what my human always called me! She knows my name!

I lick her hand. “Did my human send you? I miss him so much. Will you take me back to him?” Oh no, I barked! I’ll remember next time, I promise!

She doesn’t seem to mind and lets me sniff her hand. Her scent reminds me of horses and of… Of other dogs. She knows other dogs!

The chain is badly tangled, but they work at it. In the end, she unhooks it from my collar and she carefully picks me up. I didn’t think I was small enough to carry like that, but she does look strong.

I lick her face and I put my head on her shoulder. Her hair hangs down her shoulders and tickles my nose. It smells like flowers. “Come on, buddy, let’s get you home. Patrick, run home and tell Grams. We’ll be right behind you.”

After days of hunger and thirst, in the sun and in the darkness, she carries me home and gives me water, food, and safety.

I live with them now. Grams and Gramps. Aunt Jen. They live on a farm. Patrick comes to visit me here. There are horses, sheep, chickens and cats to play with. And other dogs. There is grass, shaded by trees. There are always new scents to explore and adventures to be had. And there is kindness here. They don’t mind my voice. They don’t mind my insecurity. Sometimes when they leave I’m scared they won’t come back, just like my first human. But they always do.

They named me Rocky. Because they say I’m a fighter, a survivor. I don’t know who this Rocky person is. I like the name because they gave it to me.


I wrote another story, much like this one. I called it Somewhere Over The Rainbow. I started calling these little sketches my Rainbow stories and the name grew on me. There will be more Rainbow stories, simply because there are an endless amount of ways in which we, humans, inflict pain on the creatures entrusted to us. Like the first story, and the ones I have yet to write, I pledge the SBD payout of this post to the Tazewell ARC by way of @rhondak.

This amazing lady is a real live hero, who runs an animal shelter without funding or community support. For more info on the hurdles she faces, go here. Another lost soul came to her recently, and he is gorgeous. His name is Bailey. She has written about is arrival and progress. I strongly encourage everyone reading this, to visit her posts on Bailey and help Rhonda fund his journey towards recovery by supporting her posts. Also, he's adorable.

Meet Bailey!
Update on Bailey, the Steemit rescue.
Bailey's first trip to the vet.

She's also an amazing person with a warm heart and a sharp mind, and don't forget her sense of humour.Besides doing amazing things for animals in need, she also does amazing things for this community. We owe her for the existence of Fiction Workshop, the SFT curation trail, and a lot of other things that I don't even remotely understand.

This story was again written in her honour. I owe big kudos to @bex-dk, @carolkean and @geke for their time, effort and encouragement. You are all in my heart, and don't think you'll be getting rid of me too easily.

Thank you!!!

Sort:  

We have no desire to be rid of you. hugs @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tinypaleokitchen to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Andrew aka Thinknzombie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I love the artwork you put with this story. It's so good to see it all come together like this! And no, we are not letting you go anytime soon. :-)

Why thank you. That means a lot coming from my favourite zombie. 😉

Thanks for sharing your wonderful stories @tinypaleokitchen Yes, they're sad but they give us all a chance to remember to do good where ever we can and without being asked if possible. :) xox

Thank you so much for your kind comment. I have promised myself to try to not write a tearjerker next time. ;-)

This may be one of the best rescue stories I've ever read. SUPER job, Tiny. :-)

Thank you so much, Rhonda. Glad you like it. ;-) hugs

I love everything about these posts - pretty spot on dogs-eye view of the world I think, and what a great cause to help out. I resteemed this through @resteembot and @resteem.bot as well as my own resteem - hope more eyes see this great post!

Thank you so much!

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Also - check out @reblogger, by reading this post.
Your post was resteemed thanks to @carlgnash


Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05