Emperor - Short Story ( Part 7 )

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

I do not know where I would have started, but here it is. The first memory I have is to run around the courtyard of the monastery. After that, memories are mostly related to learning, and strict monk control. I had very little free time and I used to wander around the forest when I had any. Early on, I developed love for history, you can not believe how many records are saved here of our and other wars. Brother Arhel says that it is one of the largest libraries in the Empire, although no one knows about it. Along with history, I was taught in every area that you can remember. Even some of the skills I do not take pride in. I was learned languages, rule, economy, trade, warfare and fighting all kinds of weapons. Even history and economics are of great passion, the natural talent I am born with, is to make medication and potions, and sharing my mind with the Presences. It is still not clear to me what kind of benefits it can provide, nor to which specific purpose it can be used. Nobody told me yet. For years I've been wandering around here, and it never occurred to me to wonder who I was, where I came from, or who my parents are. Shortly after my fifteenth birthday, everything was explained to me. My complete role as my origin. In those moments, it seemed to me like I was alone in the world, although I knew that you and our father are there somewhere. And now he's not there. I'm sorry to say this, but I could not feel sadness. I never met him. However, I was angry for months on him for giving up on me, so much anger, it was simply stronger than me. And then they told me that you would come here in the coming period, and since then I have not been lonely at any time. I do not know what else I'd say, ask me. This is my life briefly. All this seems to me to have been said in one breath and I listened it, amazed. Gestures, behavior, we were identical in all that.

We'll have time for a more detailed conversation. I'm so glad I finally found you. I feel like I was returned a part of the soul that I did not even know I missed. What I first thought when Alar told me that I had a brother was that I would never be alone again in this world, and that we could achieve great things together. Perhaps even more brilliant and bigger things than Alar and our father, but in a different way. I was completely calm, serene. And my brother radiated the same kind of loneliness as the monk who had come to my room earlier.

The first thing you have to know is that your life is not in danger by that wound you got from the swamp. I personally took care of that. And now, let's just take a walk, you'll get fresh air he said.

I tried to get up with his help, but the leg just did not want to listen to me, I did not have control. He walked in and out of the room for a moment, and he came back with a stick that would help me walk. Slowly, step by step, we went into the hallway and headed towards the exit. I noticed that along the corridor there are four other rooms identical to that in which I was lying, but they were empty. We went out, and the same song of the bird that awoke me, has now changed its pace and theme. She was joyful now, and it came from all directions at once. The building from which I came out was terraced, made of large blocks of stone, too large for human hands to lift them. Everywhere around, in the perfect circle, there were four more buildings. Built by same material, intended to last for millennia, only they were larger. There could be thousands of people in them, not just four monks, and my brother, as Alar told me. The forest surrounded this property, a dense forest full of life.

In the very center of the yard, two monks sat. As the two of us approached them, I noticed that they also had some calmness and security. This was seen in their movements. When we were a couple of steps away, they interrupted the conversation and turned to us. Wisdom contained in their eyes can not be written. A wise look.

Welcome, brother. We want you peace. Do not ask the questions that are in your mind, it will be time for that latter. Keep this peace, so that the recovery will be as fast as possible. With these words, both of them hugged me and left.

Image 1 2

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79