JAMES BONG - Agent Of Anarchy - Episode 15

in #fiction6 years ago

James Bong races to save an inventor of a free energy material. 

Scene 1

Bong and Punch have just escaped the Triad underground prison and are on the move in Macao.

Bong:  So where’s your inventor friend?
Punch:  Central Africa.

Bong:  Central Africa? Why Africa?

Punch:  They have less electronic surveillance.  It’s easier to be a ghost.  More importantly, Central Africa has resources he needs to make the substance.  Resources that aren't as common in other parts of the world.  

Bong:  I don’t suppose you have any gadgets handy? Or cash?
Punch (sarcastic):  Oh, sure, they let me keep all my personal stuff during my month in prison.

Bong:  Any locals you trust?
Punch:  Not a soul.

Bong;  Why the hell are you in Macao then?
Punch:  To stay anonymous, you don’t want people around who know you, genius.    

Bong:  I know a little twerp hacker with an attitude you’d get along with great. Anyway, let’s get to a 3D print shop.  I’ve got an idea.

10 minutes later at a 3D print shop, they’re talking to an irritable, chain-smoking, shop owner guy.

Bong:  I’m telling you, just one text message on your phone, and I’ll pay you double for all the printing I need to do here.  I just need some funds.

Irritable Shop Owner Guy:  Triple!
Bong;  Glad to see there are such helpful people left in the world.

Irritable Shop Owner:  Take it or leave! This business, not charity!
Bong:  Fine, triple.    

Shop owner gives phone to Bong.  Bong texts K to send funds to the shop owner’s crypto account and schematics for everything he needs to print.  Once the funds arrive, he prints a new phone, the rest of the supplies he needs, and gets more crypto sent from K to his new phone.  He then arranges for a SteemAir private jet to Central Africa.

As Bong and Punch near the airport….. 

Punch:  So how exactly do you plan to get past security?  You realize that if we’re wanted by the Triads, then we’re wanted by the Chinese Government.   

Bong:  Yes, I’m well aware, two sides of the same mafia.  And I prefer to call government a ‘violent gang with fancy titles’, by the way.

Punch:  You still didn’t answer my question.
Bong (reaches into backpack, pulls out two contact lenses):  These are iris changing contacts to hide your identity.

Punch:  And facial scanners? What about those?

Bong (pulls a pack of tiny adhesive dots from backpack):  These are nano-modifiers.  You put one on your forehead and it changes the readings on their face scanners.    

Punch:  And if anyone recognizes us from memory?
Bong:  Oh, don’t be so paranoid.  This is why I like working alone.

Punch:  There are things I’d much rather be doing, trust me.
Bong:  Anyway (reaches back into backpack):  That’s why I’ve got two fedoras.

Punch:  You’ve got to be kidding.
Bong:  Would I really have brought fedoras just to play a prank?

Bong and Punch get through security unnoticed and board their plane without incident.  Bong gets into the pilot’s seat of the private, hemp-powered, SteemAir jet and they take off.  Once they get up to cruising altitude, Bong puts it on autopilot and dials up K.

Bong:  K.
K:  Bong! You sound good for a dead guy!

Bong:  Yeah, gambling and martinis keep me in good order.    
K:  Someone wants to say hi.

Miss Moneybit (sarcastic):  Bong! I really could have used your help a couple days ago.  Thanks for being there, old buddy!

Bong:  Good to hear you’re relieved I’m not dead.    
Miss Moneybit:  Where ya headed?

Bong:  Central Africa.    
Miss Moneybit:  You have a camera?

Bong:  Just the one on the phone.  Do I have to record all of my missions? 

Miss Moneybit:  It is how we finance things, ya know.    

Bong:  Well, it’s gonna be one hell of a story, regardless.  I met a guy in a Triad prison who’s taking me to meet some inventor-in-hiding, who supposedly has some miracle free energy source.    

Miss Moneybit (sarcastic):  Triad Prison again?

Bong:  Very funny.  Long story.  I’ll update you when we get to Africa.    
K:  You mean you’ll call when you’re desperate for help again.

Click

Bong:  So tell me more about this energy source.

Punch:  I only know the basics.  The rest is over my head.  It involves combining organic materials with synthetic materials.    

Bong:  That’s nothing new.
Punch:  In a zero g atmosphere.    

Bong:  I stand corrected.  Zero g? How did your friend…
Punch:  He used to work for the Chinese Space Agency.    

Bong:  He worked at an extortion funded space agency.  Ok.
Punch:  He was doing experiments in zero g, that was his job.  Then he discovered the new material quite by accident.    

Bong:  And why did he flee?

Punch:  Luckily, he’s not naive.  He knows how much power the people that control the energy sector have.  He also knows it could be a threat to a huge government’s power.

Bong:  Like the Chinese criminal enterprise.
Punch:  Why do you keep referring to government like that?

Bong:  Because it’s the truth.  And how powerful is this material?
Punch:  He estimates it can power the entire planet for one year on one kilo.

Bong:  That’s definitely a threat to the powers that shouldn’t be.  So how do you know where to find him?

Punch:  We had originally set a rendezvous point.  He was to work out how to deploy the technology, without being destroyed or compromised.    

Bong:  Smart man.  Didn’t want to get Tesla’d, huh? 

Punch:  Something like that.    

Bong:  That reminds me, reach behind you and grab that duffel bag.  There are gun parts in there and instructions for assembly.  I printed them at the shop.

Punch:  I don’t like guns.
Bong:  I guarantee you will when you need to defend yourself.    

Punch:  How did you get them through security, anyway?
Bong:  Because, in case you haven’t noticed, security people at airports aren’t the sharpest knives in the kitchen.

Scene 2

Bong and Punch are making their descent into the Congo, near a small village called Kungu.  After a bumpy landing in a somewhat clear area…..

Punch (sarcastic);  Real smooth.
Bong:  And where did you learn to fly?

Punch looks at ground.

Bong:  That’s right, ya didn’t.  So you’re welcome.  Anyway, where’s this rendezvous point?
Punch:  In the village a few miles west of here.

Bong:  Kind of a vague “point” isn’t it, an entire village?
Punch:  It’s not like it’s huge.  It’s only a couple thousand people.    

Bong and Punch walk to the village.  They get some curious looks from the locals.    

Bong:  You have a picture we can use to ask around?
Punch:  Again, it escapes your memory that we just got out of a cage.    

Bong:  You said he worked for the Chinese Mafia’s Space Agency, right?
Punch:  Yeah.

Bong:  What’s his name? I’ll try and get a pic online.
Punch:  Sun Zen.  It would’ve been scrubbed by now, though.

Bong;  I know someone who might be able to find it.

Bong dials up K. 

Bong:  K! 

K:  Bong!   
Bong:  I need you to find a pic for me online.    

K:  Bong, girls find you attractive.  I don’t see why you need to

Bong cuts him off.

Bong:  Not now, K, this is important! I’m searching for the inventor I mentioned to you before.  His name is Sun Zen and he used to work for the Chinese Space Agency.

K:  Is that Sun with a “u” or an “o”?
Bong (sighs):  Just text it to me when you have it.   

Bong spots a whole-in-the-wall bar.

Bong:  That’ll be a good place to meet locals.
Punch:  A bar during the middle of the day?

Bong and Punch walk into the tiny little shack.  Two local men and the bartender gape at the newcomers.

Bong:  Martini, shaken, not stirred.    

Punch:  Look at your surroundings, Bong.  This doesn’t look like a martini-sippin town, now does it?
Bartender:  Hey, what do ya mean by that?   

Punch:  Do you know how to make a martini?
Bartender:  Well, I’m a bartender, so what do ya think?

Punch:  Sorry, it’s just that
Bartender (offended):  Yeah, yeah, I know, small town, unsophisticated stereotype.  I get it.

Punch:  I’ll pass on the drink, then.

Bong looks at his phone and shows the picture to Punch. Punch nods to confirm Sun’s identity.  Bartender sets martini in front of Bong.  Bong shows picture to bartender.

Bong:  Have you seen this guy around here?
Bartender (smiles):  Everybody knows that guy.

Punch:  Really? Why is that?
Bartender:  It’s a small town, man.  What do ya think? Everybody knows everybody. 

Punch:  Isn’t that a stereotype?
Bong (huffy):  We haven’t got time for this.  (chugs martini)  Can someone take us to him?

Bartender looks at his two local customers, who are starting to slump.  

Bartender:  I’m not sure those two are in shape to go up the hill to his house right now, but they maybe could.    
Bong:  Can one of you take us there?

Local Guy 1:  No way.  I’m just getting started drinkin.
Bartender:  You’ve been here since we opened.

Local Guy 1:  It’s not even sunset yet!
Bong:  I’ll buy you a drink if you do.

Local Guy 1:  Make it two.
Bong (annoyed):  Fine.  Let’s go.   

Bong, Punch, and the local guy leave.  After walking for about 20 minutes they arrive at a small cottage.

Local Guy:  There ya go.  That’s his shack.  I’ll wait here.

Bong and Punch go to the shack and knock.  No answer.  Punch yells Sun's name a couple of times.  No answer.    

Bong:  Let’s just go in.

Bong turns the doorknob and notices it’s not locked.    

Bong:  That’s strange.  Why is it open?

The door opens and they immediately find out.  Sun Zen’s bullet-riddled body is on the floor.  Bong rushes over and checks his pulse, only to find that he’s dead.    

Bong:  Blood is still fresh.  This happened just a short time ago.    
Punch (sobbing):  We’re too late.

Bong:  Yeah, we’re too late.    

After leaving Punch at the Kinshasa airport, he goes back to Acapulco.  After telling K, Miss Moneybit, and Symphy about the outcome of his mission…..

Miss Moneybit:  Don’t beat yourself up over it.  You failed.  You’re human, right?   
Bong:  Last time I checked. 

Miss Moneybit:  It happens.  I mean, look at K, he’s had tons of epic failures.
K:  You have a very loose definition of epic.    

Bong:  Do you realize what kind of opportunity it was? Near limitless energy, practically free.    
Symphy:  I am sorry to interrupt, but there is news that you might find pertinent to the situation.

K:  What’s that?   

Symphy:  I found a blogger on Steemit.  The account is less than two weeks old.  The name is SunZenergy.  The only posts it contains are instructions on how to create a free energy material in a zero g atmosphere.

Bong:  What do you mean “found”? Why wouldn’t something like that show up in a standard internet search?
K:  Because somebody’s trying to hide it.

Symphy:  K is correct.  Great effort is being made to hide this information.  Only due to my advanced Artificial Intelligence abilities was I able to find it.    

K (talking to Moneybit):  Looks like you’ve got some publishing to do.    

Stay tuned for episode 16!

Thanks for your time and attention!

Just say "NO" to slavery!

Top image is from pixabay


 
 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12