Black and Silver - Chapter 4

in #fiction6 years ago

Previously

Adam Black, a falsely prosecuted former federal agent, has been broken out of prison in order to work for the Los Angeles Anti Terrorist Coalition, ATC, to go undercover and work with a known drug criminal, in hopes to use his contacts to locate a deadly virus that is supposed to be somewhere is Los Angeles this day.

Chapter 4

November 1st, 2023. 10:47am - Los Angeles

Adam and Gwen get in the car, this time Adam takes the driver's seat. After a moment of silence, Gwen attempts to make the drive a little less awkward.

"So, you and Maria."

Adam immediately snaps back at her.

"I don't want to talk about it."

"Must be pretty hard for you."

"I said I don't want to talk about it. Let's just find Diaz and the virus."

"You're all business, Adam. But don't try to tell me she's not on your mind. I just need to know if it's going to effect your work."

"It won't, okay? What do you want me to do?"

Gwen does have an interest in Adam's feelings towards Maria that goes beyond work, but she's not going to admit it.

"Just askin'."

"Well, don't ask."

Gwen decides to change the subject, as Adam and Maria is an obvious dead end. She does want to keep the conversation with Adam going, though.

"You think Nathanson will lead us to Diaz?"

"He's our best bet. I know he can contact Diaz. Whether or not he's willing to do it, that's a different story."

"How far are you willing to go if he doesn't cooperate?"

Adam thinks for a second.

"As far as I have to."


ATC Headquarters

Paul is working on something on his computer, but can't really concentrate. His mind is in the fighting he's been doing with Maria about Adam. He prints something as an excuse to go see Maria in medical.

Paul drops the papers on Maria's desk.

"I need you to go over these reports for me."

Maria doesn't even look at Adam, but instead goes through papers of her own. Paul turns to leave, but decides to open his mouth.

"Look, I'm sorry about earlier."

"Not now, Paul. We're in the middle of a national security threat."

"You're right. I can't let my feelings get in the way. I'm just a little on edge. This was rather unexpected."

"It was unexpected for me, too, Paul, and you don't see me acting like a child about it."

The fact that Adam has showed up in LA and now Maria is scolding him makes Paul feel miserable. He does not want to look bad in front of his wife in this situation.

"Maria, I..."

"Not now, Paul. I have work to do. And so you do."

Paul gets frustrated, but realizes this is a battle he's not going to win, so he leaves. Before getting back to his work place, he receives a phone call from the White House. It's Palmer Collins.

"Agent Douglas?"

"Yeah."

"This is Palmer Collins, I'm calling from the White House. What I'm about to tell you is off the record."

"Okay, go on."

"I feel the President is making a bad call in allowing Adam Black to be a part of this operation. I have a feeling you may share this concern."

Paul glances at his wife's office.

"As a matter of fact, I do."

"I'm calling you to ask you to do keep an eye on Mr. Black. And between you and me, the rest of the administration does not yet know about Mr. Black's involvement. Currently it's between the President and ATC. And strictly on a theoretical level, should Mr. Black cause problems, and should the word about the President's decision leak out... Like I said, strictly on a theoretical level, the 25th amendment could come into play."

Paul is intrigued, yet skeptical.

"With all due respect, Mr. Collins, the 25th amendment was designed for cases where an illness or a disability would deem the President unfit to carry out his duties. I'm not sure if it applies here."

"Rules can be bent in politics. Making such a drastic decision as this one, well, should Black become a liability, I feel the President could be deemed unfit to carry out his duties as the leader of this nation. I'm sure the Vice President feels the same way I do. Just keep an eye on Black, agent Douglas."

"Sure. I will."


Downtown Los Angeles

Adam stops the car in front of an ugly apartment in Downtown LA. It's a poor neighborhood, with a high crime rate. Not that neither Adam nor Gwen were expecting anything different.

Adam knocks on the door, as Gwen stands next to him, with her hand behind her back, ready to pull out her gun just in case.

The door opens, and it's indeed Marcus Nathanson, a junkie who looks like it's been a painful while since his last fix, and it can be seen on his face, as well as heard in his voice. He is very shocked to see Adam.

"Adam, what the hell?"

"I need to talk to you."

Adam invites himself in with Gwen following him. Nathanson is not exactly pleased about Adam and Gwen forcing themselves in his apartment.

"You can't just walk into my home, man."

"I just did. I need to find Diaz."

"Diaz?"

"Yeah. You know how to find him."

"What do you want with Diaz?"

"A business proposal."

Adam knows Nathanson through his work undercover in the drug business years ago, and is playing it cool, in the hopes of his cover still being intact. Though Adam is not sure about it, he feels that Nathanson still thinks Adam is a drug criminal.

"Look, man, I'm on parole, I'm clean. I don't do that shit anymore, I'm not involved. You need to think of something else."

"I wasn't asking."

"I think you need to leave."

Adam violently pushes Nathanson on the wall and presses his gun on his forehead.

"Tell me where to find Diaz!"

Nathanson is terrified and breaks at the threat of violence.

"Okay, okay, okay! Goddamn, man! I think I have his number. I mean, it should still be the same number."

"You call Diaz. Say it's Adam. And he has a business proposal."

Nathanson is shaking as he looks for his phone and dials in the number. After it rings a few times, Diaz picks up.

"Uh, Nicolás? It's Marcus."

Nicolás Diaz is the complete opposite of Nathanson; cool, calm collected. For years he's been a high ranking man in the California drug world. He also does not like to be bothered, nor found against his will.

"Why are you calling me, Marcus?"

"It's, uhh, it's Adam. He wants to see you."

Diaz is surprised to say the least.

"Adam?"

"Yeah, he barged on in here and..."

Adam grabs the phone from Nathanson's hand.

"Let me talk to him. Nicolás, it's me. I need to see you."

Diaz is very cautious.

"Why should I see you?"

"I have a business proposal."

"I'm listening."

"I need to see you face to face."

"And why should I trust you?"

"Because I can make you more money than you've ever dreamed of."

Diaz is still cautious, but, of course, the possibility of a profit is something that always gets his interest. He'd never pass that up, so he at least wants to hear about the opportunity to make money.

"Fine. I'll see you. I'll call back on this number in a minute to give you an address and we'll meet."

Diaz hangs up the phone, and he's approached by one his henchmen.

"What was that all about?"

"An old friend."

"What did he want?"

"He said he has a business proposal. It's worth hearing him out."

"Do you trust him?"

"No. But he knows Nathanson, and Nathanson knows too much. That's why, after hearing him out, we'll kill him."

Sort:  

Amazing...Gercekten super bir calisma. Turkish

You read the whole thing in one minute? That's impressive!

Took me 33 minutes to read. =/

No skills. Upon starting, you should have it read :soon:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73