A Temporal Tragedy In Infinite Parts, or A Series of Interconnected Dialogues (With Narrations, of Course)

in #fiction6 years ago

linebreak.jpg

A Temporal Tragedy In Infinite Parts, or A Series of Interconnected Dialogues (With Narrations, of Course--Because Dialogue would NEVER Work Without Scene Setting Mood Markers and Narration.) Enjoy! Feel free to stop at anytime.


again, for ana.


linebreak.jpg

1.

DIFFERENCE BETWEEN BOYS AND GIRLS AND BOYS AND GIRLS

linebreak.jpg

--My mom told me never to tell boys how I really feel.

--Cos boys don't listen?

--I'd rather tell them the opposite of how I feel.

--But I do know how you feel.

--I believe it. You're not like other boys.

--On the contrary, honey. I'm exactly like other boys.

--You don't ever pretend.

--Maybe that is itself a pretence.

--Well at least you try. Boys don't try.

--And girls try too hard.

--Maybe I ought to try harder.

--Maybe you ought to.

--Is that how you really feel?

--Yes, honey, that's how I really feel.

--Your mom is a really smart woman.

--You're alright, honey. Oh you're very fine. I'm just not myself tonight is all.

--Have you ever been?

--Silly. Of course I've been. Tell me something, honey. You've been silent all night. You've been silent for a while now.

--There's nothing to say, dear.

--Because girls never listen?

--Because the things I really want to tell you I cant tell you.

--Why not?

--You dont like to hear them.

--Oh but I do. I do love to hear them. It just scares me is all.

--I know it does. I just don't understand why. Girls love to hear these things. And even though I don't like to say them they're all I ever want to say when we're together.

--Yes, honey, but see girls love to hear them because they know deep down its all lies. But you say them so truthfully. It's scary, you know. The way you say them. It takes away the simplicity, you know. Life's hard enough without having to listen to truths.

--We will enjoy the lies of this silence, then.

linebreak.jpg

2

CHEERS

linebreak.jpg

--Whatever can give you great joy can give you great sadness.

--Yes. Whatever can give you great sadness can give you great joy too.

--I agree.

--I'm glad.

--We should definitely drink to that.

--Drinks give me great joy.

linebreak.jpg

3.

INTERIOR DIALOGUE

linebreak.jpg

--Its the most terrible kind of pain for sure.

--And the worst part is not knowing.

--There's no healing from that.

--The worst part is wanting to do so much to help but being so useless.

--And of course the not knowing.

--Yes the not knowing. Because you can never let yourself feel even for a second that she's not in pain.

--And the distance.

--Yes. Distance is the cause in the first place.

--And that the distance increases.

--Through our uselessness.

--And through our attempts at being useful.

--If only we knew, we could at least evaluate and convince ourselves.

--But as is all we can do is--evaluate and convince.

--But without conviction.

--Or at best with very little, whereas nothing but the utmost would do.

--We could ask, of course.

--Yes but no one ever speaks the truth in such cases.

--You mean you do not trust her?

--I mean I trust that she'd try to protect us.

--By lieing?

--By not speaking the truth.

--So?

--So silence stops being the absence of noise, becomes the noise of absence.

--Without conviction.

linebreak.jpg

4.

ALL MANNER OF THINGS

linebreak.jpg

--All manner of things shall be well.

linebreak.jpg

5.

FEAR IS THE FEAR OF FEAR

linebreak.jpg

--So what would you do if you were not afraid?

--Thats a terrible question, my sweet friend.

--Why is that?

--Because I'm always afraid, you son of a bitch.

--Hahaha of course, of course.

--So are you.

--You know me so well. We should have another drink to that! Cheers, buddy!

linebreak.jpg

6.

BFFs

linebreak.jpg

--I'm flattered, of course. But I'm afraid it means nothing to me, in the end.

--Why not?

--Why should it?

--Well I just called you my best friend and told you how much you meant to me. I'd at least expect something.

--What, you want me to say it back?

--No of course not.

--I will, if you want me to. It means nothing to me.

--Well I don't want you to, May! Not like this. I was only expecting a sort of enthusiasm. Forgive me for wanting too much.

--Ok, you're my best friend. Yay. We're all happy. Not a single problem left in the world.

--Jesus Christ!

--What is a friend anyway? Tell me. What is a best friend? In the end it's every man-- and woman-- for himself! You know why? Because nobody really matters to anybody. Nobody can love anybody. Because nobody can know anybody. In the end only thing that matters is your own self. Because that's the only person you can expect to know, if you're really lucky!

Oh so you decide to keep quiet now?

You're not going to say anything, eh? Fine. Remain quiet.

Still not talking?

Well what's a best friend anyway? Pssh. I'll tell you. A best friend is someone with whom you haven't lived in a room for a long time. That's it. So pardon me if I don't get too enthusiastic about it.

Speak now or forever remain silent.

linebreak.jpg

7.

HAHAHAH

linebreak.jpg

--Hahahahha.

linebreak.jpg

8.

Capitalism With Literary Characteristics

linebreak.jpg

--I'm just saying, that statement was clearly a huge clash against your prior communist rhetorics.

--Communist rhetorics? Are you mad? I'm no communist!

--Sure you are!

--Of course not. I have my own philosophies, and eccentricities! And yes I do believe the world will be a better place if we all have them.

--Communist.

linebreak.jpg

9.

Characteristics

linebreak.jpg

--My teeth are awful tonight. Awful I tell you.

--It's fine, come back to bed.

--Your husband has better teeth.

--Yes. Yes he does. But who cares, right? Come back to bed with me, will you?

--I do. I do care. Teeth are awesome.

--Yes. But tits are much better, so come back to bed.

--Amen to that.

--Oh Samuel I have the most fun time when I'm with you.

--Even though I've got terrible teeth?

--Sure. Sure, who cares about teeth!?

--Well I do. I care very much.

--Well I still have the most fun time when I'm with you.

--More than with your husband?

--Why do you have to say stupid crazy shits all the time?

-- Its hard to not say stupid crazy shits when I feel like talking to you all the time!

10.

...

--Incomplete.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @rasamuel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04