Reality In A Parking Lot.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

I walked outside to start up my car. The weather is typical of spring. The sunshine is peeking through a few clouds. I dread the weekly drive into the city.

My trip requires me to hire a babysitter. This creates a financial stress for me. As always, I'm in a rush to get to my appointment . . . my weekly visit to the employment office. I need a job! I want something new! Maybe this trip will reveal a great lead . . . . to a job?

I turn on the car radio. I blast some of my favorite tunes! Not too bad! The optimism is creeping in. This may be a fun drive after all!

One hour later and all is well. . . . a future job interview is established. I spot my car as I walk across the parking lot. The day has turned into a sunny spring afternoon. I start the ignition. As I look to my left, I notice a man walking toward my car. Tall, handsome, wearing a dark suit, white shirt with a dark tie. Cute . . . . I instinctively close my window and lock my door. Don't be paranoid.

In a matter of seconds he is standing at my car window, smiling and speaking to me. I can't hear him. I lower my car window down . . . . one inch. Although I'd noticed his presence early on, I felt caught 'off guard'. Am I feeling surprised or scared? It is hard focusing on the words rolling off his lips. His smile is captivating. I begin to relax as he speaks. "How's your day going?" With my car window still 'almost' up, I respond "I don't know you. What do you want?"

To my shock, he tells me exactly what he wants. . . ."We are outside of an employment agency. You are probably short on cash. I will pay you $1000 today, if you will pose nude for me. No strings attached." He held up a camera in-front of my car window. "What the hell?" I felt stunned, alarmed, flattered, all at the same time. I'm thinking "This is crazy!" He continues, "Don't be scared. I am serious. I will not hurt you. I am a photographer of beautiful women. I was looking for a model to be in my next photo shoot and I saw you." I gasped. I felt a surge of anger rising. "Believe me, I am not the one you are looking for! I don't need or want your $1000." I lied. So what? I don't know him. It's OK to lie to a stranger in a parking lot. Right?

"Your loss" He turned around and started to walk away. "WAIT!" I hear the words coming from my mouth. Did I just say that? Damn it. Maybe money talks after all.
He made his way back to my car. He continued the conversation where he'd left off . . . "Don't worry. You are in good hands. My name is Chris. What's yours?"

At that point, I thrust my car into drive and sped out of the parking lot! A moment of true clarity had snapped me back into reality. I could see him in my rear view mirror, just standing there with the camera in tow. I did not care. I may have been broke, but I was not desperate. Not that desperate anyway! I managed to get out of the city without getting a speeding ticket. I certainly could not afford that!

While driving home, I thought about what had just happened. About what had 'almost' happened. About how I was temporarily tempted by a cute guy with a nice smile, in a fancy suite. Who was he? What was he? Had I been blinded by the almighty dollar? Blinded by his charm? Or both? Could he have been a Ted Bundy type? Oh my God! Had I compromised my safety? Maybe my life?!!

As I continued to drive home, more questions lingered . . . . Was he a legitimate photographer trying to make a quick buck by selling nude photos? Was his name really Chris? Or was he really a charming serial killer? I will never know . . . I am glad that I will never know.

I will be home soon. As I drive, my thoughts wander to my child at home waiting for Mommy's return. I think about how much I will owe the babysitter? I tell myself to stop worrying about the money. I put the car window down, all the way down. I allow the wind to blow through my hair. I feel safe. With that, I turn my car radio back on. Louder this time! Even the loud music feels calming.

Sort:  

your kindness and kids worth more than the money he offered ;)
and common not even photo agency professionals pay that!
you could have waked in a batub ripped of some organs or kidnapped! luckily you eared your alert instinct!

Thank you for the comment and for reading my fictional story.

great post !

Thank You Very Much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97