The White Room -- FICTION (An Original Short Story)

in #fiction6 years ago
Image Source


I'm running. 


I have no idea as to who or what I'm running from. But I kept running, and screaming at the same time.


I stopped when I reached a spacious room. All four walls are marble white. Four gigantic chairs are placed on each side of room. The carvings on the chairs were accentuated by the golden enamel that covers the furniture. Above me lies a huge elliptical mirror that covers almost the whole room.


No one is here.


"Hello, Anna," exclaimed a voice from behind me. He wore a silk robe that flows freely onto the floor. His eyes are calm and heavenly. All in all, he looked sacred.


But I'm confused. How did he know my name?


He chuckled. "I know everyone."


Did he just..


"And yes, I hear your thoughts. You don't have to be scared, Anna. We've met before. I just don't think you remember, but every time you die, we meet here."


"Every time I die? What does that mean, Sir?," I asked, horrified. Then a realization hit me. "You mean, I'm dead?"


At that moment, I didn't even try to hide my confusion. But he remained calm. He smiled at me knowingly and then sighed.


"Correct. You are dead. Not like it's the first time. In your previous lives, you've always asked me the same questions."


I could only stare at him in wonder, prompting him to elaborate it further.


"You, as a soul, was born million years ago, along with thousands of others. You were sent in different times to play different roles. Every time you die, you come here to wait for another task and another lifetime. That's how it works." The man gave me a wide grin.


"Wait, so you're saying that I've already lived in the past?"


"Oh yes, I remember how you cringed when I assigned you to be a slave in the renaissance era, and when I sent you to become an old king's mistress. You should have seen your face back then." He laughed at his bizarre memory before he continued.


"One time you were an elephant, a tree, a murderer, a poet, a doctor. You've been very productive in all of your tasks. I must say that I'm a proud father."


"Father?" I managed to blurt out.


"Yes, my dear. I am your father. And soon, you will be with me. But for now, you must learn to live among the people that you will govern someday. When that time comes, you will be standing right here, answering the same questions you're asking me right now."


I fell silent, trying to digest all the information.


"Don't sweat it, you won't remember any of this anyway. Come, let's send you away to your new home."

He held my hand and ushered me to one of the chairs.


"Can I ask one more thing, before I go?"


"Yes, of course, my child."


I paused for a moment.


Then I spilled it out hesitantly.


"A-Are you God?"


He laughed out heartily before he answered.


"You may call me that, or whatever you want." He looked into my eyes and whispered sincerely, "But you and I are the same. Now off you go."


He placed his hand in my forehead and never in my life have I felt such peace.



Hello! Thank you for reading this story.

Please leave a comment below and tell me what you think.

Cheers!


Sort:  

I haven't read anything of yours before, but I enjoyed this story - as pibara said whatever I had to say, I'm just going to end with expressing the hope that I get to read many more of your stories. (btw - tenses is one of my greatest problems in writing my stories)

Thank you so much for taking time to read this story @arthur.grafo. :D I'm glad you liked it. Haha I'm not a fan of tenses. Especially when I get too excited to share my stories. But I guess I have to pay more attention to it. :D

Well written, interesting story. :)

Thank you. thank you!

Thank you !!

Superb Story great writing as always

Thank you JJ!

Love seeing your writing improve and evolve. One little nit. The jump from pressent tense to past tense in your opening, while sometimes used as powefull and purposefull style element in the hands of seasoned wordsmiths, appears to serve no specific stylistic purpose here. If you did it on purpose I think I get what you were going for, but it doesn't quite seem to work at this point. If you want to play with time and rithm, I would suggest looking at the Two Democracies work from Alasdair C. Shaw, a talented indie author who seems to have a great, be it still a tiny bit unpolished mastery of time and rithm. Anyhow, we are privileged at being here to see how your skills develop quite rapidly. You are really making great progress. Keep improving like this leap learning.

Thank you @pibara for the feedback. Yeah it wasn't as effective as I have intended and not so powerful. The rhythm of the whole plot should have been consistently in the present tense. I'll find time to fix it later today. Thanks!

lol, so I'm not the only one who ends up with jam on my face. Pibara, should be extra careful when commenting on grammar or spelling mistakes of others. Just in first two lines there are two...(what I think of as 'fast typing' mistakes). But your point is valid and I'm glad you made it.

Great to see the first two winners of the Minow Fiction Author Support Lottery interacting😊 For me spelling always tends to be the bigger problem than grammar, but I make mistakes in both.I'dd love both you guys to point out any grammar or spelling issues in my own fiction by the way. Think pointing these out we help eachother improve our work. And @lyxng is improving at a speed us old geezers can only dream about I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73