You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Frontier Justice (Part 1)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Oh, very well done. I love it! I knew I would enjoy your writing right here:

Caitlin nodded. Somehow Molly always knew. “You know where the travel bags are. Get Momma’s out. We’re going on a trip. Maybe to San Francisco this time. I bet there are a lot of books there you haven’t read yet.”

"I bet there are a lot of books there you haven't read yet." Such a seemingly throw away line, but it tells me oodles about this woman, her child, and their relationship.

Thank you for adding to the supply of quality fiction on Steemit, and if you would like to meet some other creatives here, stop by The Isle of Write Discord server and give me a shout. I'm @Just Jess (jrhughes) on there ;)

I've resteemed and you have a new follower. Can't wait to read the rest of this!

Sort:  

LOL I'm glad I'm improving as a writer. It took me 9 paragraphs to hook you!

Seriously, I'm so very glad you enjoyed the story enough to stick it out to the end. And thank you for the invitation. I'm still figuring out how Steemit works best for me; Discord will likely be the next step, but it may take me a while.

I'll be re-presenting some of my older stories here, but expect new content too, as I get around to finishing it. I even have a few ideas for a serial story or three...

Again, thank you so much!

Haha! It didn't really take nine paragraphs to hook me. I've just been recently burned by something that started out pretty great then halfway through the first page it was like a child took over the writing... Just the author totally threw in the towel or something.

That was such a great line, I knew then I wouldn't see a similar display from you ;)

As for navigating Steemit, it can be a hassle, and a lot of the Discord activity (ours included) is there to sort of shortcut the process. Steemit is a place you only succeed by followership, but it's set up so that it's ridiculously hard to engage people on more than the most passing level.

Joining a place like the Isle lets you share your work and yourself enough that people actually want to follow your blog. And not just because they hope you'll follow back, but because they truly have found content they enjoy. Which means fewer "dead followers" and more engaged upvoters ;)

Any time you feel ready to stop by, give me a holler in the Pub or tell Thunder God I sent you and you'll be warmly welcomed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48