SteemIt Fiction Game #1 [Contest]

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Do you dare enter the Rabbit Hole?

Rabbit Hole
Photo Credit

Hello Steemians!
@finleyexp here with SteemIt Fiction Game #1. This game (writing challenge) has been inspired by the @steemtrail #fictiontrail and by @dreemsteem who's recently asked if one of my flash fictions was part of a bigger story. In the comments, I said it wasn't. I've changed my mind.

So, what is this mysterious challenge you ask? This is a multi-part fiction writing challenge.

The Rules

  1. Pick one prompt using my flash fiction, The Chill of the Night. Prompts supplied below.
  2. Write a 500 - 1000 word flash fiction.
  3. Leave a comment with the prompt you've chosen and a link to your flash fiction.
  4. Tags should include:
    a. fiction
    b. ficgame1
  5. Share this post and your flash fiction on steemtrail's fiction-trail channel.
    a. Don't forget to sign up for an OpenLedger account to redeem your STEEMTRAIL Instructions here.
  6. Authors may post more than one submission, but only one will be considered for a prize (in other words, no single writer will win all the prizes).

The Prompts

A. What happens when Matt wakes up in the hospital?
B. Retell the story from the robbers' POV.
C. Retell the story from the police officer's POV.
D. What led up to the robbery?

The Prizes

Grand Prize: 10 STEEM
2nd Place: 5 STEEM
3rd Place: 2.5 STEEM
Honorable Mention (upto 5): 1 STEEM

The Deadline

All submissions must be left in the comments of this post by 1/15/2017 3/15/2017. That gives everyone a week to write, post, and share their flash fictions.

The Judging

I will begin judging submissions on 1/16/2017 3/16/2017 and will post the winner's list on 1/22/2017 3/22/2017. If for some reason there's an insane number of submissions, the judging period will be extended and an update will be posted.

The Criteria

  1. Author's ability to follow instructions: The Rules.
  2. Storyline: did you keep with the story and the prompt?
  3. Grammar: I'm not a Grammar Nazi, though I do expect an effort towards proper punctuation. The occasional comma splice will be ignored for the sake of sanity. A 1000 word run on sentence will likely be disqualified, unless there's an incredibly compelling reason for it.
  4. Creativity: I'm here to write fiction and read fiction. I love a good story. Please let your creative juices flow.

Proof of Payment

When the winners have been chosen and paid, I'll leave an update with screenshots of the payments.


NOTE: As you can see from my wallet, I'm not a SteemIt Whale. This writing game is being offered because I thoroughly enjoy this platform and the community that is growing up on it.

Follow me on Twitter: mfinley80
SteemIt Intro Post: What's Up, STEEMIT?! I'm Monique Finley, a Blogger, Poet, and Author of the Free E-Serial: Terra Damnata!
Read my novel: Terra Damnata, Book 1 of The Pu'Shing Bhu'Tons Series

Sort:  

Great idea! And The Chill of the Night is very cool! Though I'm still trying to puzzle out that last paragraph of the story (the recorder??).

Glad you think so! I think that last paragraph is the "fun" part... there's so much potential for what's going on there. In my mind, the whole thing is a set up. And, Denise is deep in the middle of it. But, of course, it's been left very open for the imagination and apparently other writers. :D

love it!!!!! upvote and resteem :)
glad we got to catch up a bit today - looking forward to NEXT weekend ;)

Glad you like it. Will you be writing something for it?

I'm also glad we got to catch up a bit and will definitely talk to you more next weekend!!!

If I have anything to do with it... yes!!!!
If my brain takes over and stages a coup? Well.... we will just have to see what kind of mood it's in. How stubborn/uncooperative it will be.

I envy those people who have obedient brains. They tell it what to do and it listens????? I never!

I've already started contemplating about which POV I want to take- but I'll see if a tale emerges fully or not ;)

Stubborn brain.
Can't live with it....
the end ;)

No worries! I totally understand how the brain might rebel against one's writing intentions. I could give a list of things I've meant to write but haven't for one reason or another. Of course, no one wants to read my writing bucket list, so I'll refrain from boring y'all! :D

I'm contemplating extending the deadlines based on the premise that we've all got a ton of projects going on right now and a week just isn't long enough. Soon as I figure out what I think is a better deadline, I'll post an update!

sounds good!!!! :) I agree - tons of projects and my thoughts are doing tap dances all across my brain. hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99