The Yggdrasil Highway Saga

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)



#66: Sensei's Escape to Earth


.......................................................................................................................................................................................

I slammed right into that damn hatch at a full run. It closed in front of me and I hit it dead on. I rebounded back into the ship’s compartment a little bit dazed. Lucky for me that HellKittens are resilient but even so this was not good.

Oh. Well. Guru was on his own now. I’d better look after my own self. There was certainly no one else here that was going to do it for me. I stood up groggily and contemplated my situation, as I’d said, it was un-good.

I immediately went in search of another means of escape and saw the escape pods meant for larger being’s than I. At first I decided against them until I found a smaller one. It was almost tiny. I had no idea what they intended it to be used for, perhaps a child or a pet, but it was just my size. I crawled into it, and the ship warped, and I strapped myself in as best I could .

The shuttle emerged and into deep trouble. Missiles locked on emergence. The poor flight control computer tried to out run the missiles and boosted for the horizon. It didn’t matter, the missiles were faster. They continued to close the distance. The shuttle got half way around the planet and then it did one thing right. It 'punched out' all occupied escape pods,both of them. That would be me and the pilot's seat.

The pilot being dead didn't benefit much, he just got more dead. Me being alive, I benefited quite a lot. The escape pod slammed out of the shuttle bare instants ahead of the multiple missile impact. The missiles completely obliterated the shuttle. The collision also made a real pretty explosion and then nothing but very tiny pieces raining down on the planet below, and the escape pods...and the pilot seat. Being in an atmosphere there was a shock wave from the explosion. The shock wave caused my escape pod to tumble....I was THAT close.

I was now in a 'normal' re-entry mode. I was fairly high up, and slowing down. Things were looking better. The escape pod had slowed enough for me to survive a bailout. I ejected and kept my wings 'tight'. No need having them stripped off in a high speed slip stream. That would smart.

I curled up as tight as I could into a ball. Since I didn't die I guess I'd slowed down enough. I stuck out a paw here...an elbow there...and tried to attain some semblance of aerodynamic control. I used my tail as a rudder.

I was really high up...in the air. Without my battle-rattle I'd have suffocated if I didn't freeze to death first. The suite was doing it’s job and keeping me alive...again. FINALLY I had slowed enough to deploy my wings. With a whoooomp I suddenly slowed dramatically and was gliding under the span of mighty pinions, or so they appeared. My wings are mostly carbon nanotubes and graphene. They are incredibly strong but also very light. I AM a cyber cat after all...a cyborg kitty. I was soaring like a bat. A fairly BIG bat...... a bat with almost no visual, radar or electromagnetic signature. Lucky for me.

Descending upon the town of Austin Texas...on Halloween night.

Impossible as it would seem, someone saw me anyway. Someone told another someone...and unfortunately they were ignorant and stupid and liked to kill things. They shot me out of the sky. Once again my cyborg construction saved my life. My skin is tough enough, similar to kevlar and the battle rattle helped a lot. At this altitude the pellets didn’t penetrate. I was still badly bruised and jarred by the impacts though. I was injured but still alive, for the time being.

I managed to 'flutter-glide' out of their sight and land....in a tree. It didn't help. They found me. They were none too gentle pulling me out of that tree. In fact I think they were trying to hurt me. I was none too gentle with them either. I was definitely trying to hurt them. I fought back...I used my claws and got in a few good slashes. I got in a very pretty throat slit. There was a cute fountain of crimson blood. I’d got the artery. The guy burbled and let forth an artistic gurgley type of scream as he slithered back down the tree trunk. I was free enough of grasping hands that I could pull a weapon. They immediately piled on me before I could properly get into position. I think I only killed two or three.

That made the natives restless I guess. They banged me up some more, enough to almost give me a concussion. They took my weapon away...as well as all my battle rattle. All I had now was what Hell had given me. I kept fighting but they carried me away.
.
We took a ride in some kind of loud stinky mechanical conveyance to a building and then I was pulled out of the vehicle and carried down a flight of stairs. They dumped me on a table.

I was weak and injured and still not thinking clearly but if I could move I could fight. I immediately tried to gouge out some eyes but they were ready, I only got one or two eyes and a few deep face slashes, maybe a nose and some ears.

Oh...I got another throat too and I bit off a finger. I spat that finger out quick...I think he was a nose picker...it tasted terrible,...bleh. Dumb suckers. Give ME an opening and I’ll slash you every damn time.

The angry bleeding natives finally dragged me over to a piece of wood shaped kind of like a "T" and stuck upright in the floor. They stretched my wings out on that "T"...or maybe it was an "X"...and clamped them to the horizontal board. One guy got out a big nail and a hammer. He tried to nail my paw to the wood. That hurt. Didn't work though because of my cyborg skin....it’s made from carbon. Graphene, diamond, buckytubes, carbon fiber...all that's carbon. No mere nail manually pounded on by a hammer is going to puncture graphene. It hurt my paw though, and pissed me off even further. I went beserk.

There I was...a thirty pound cat, clamped to a board AND being held by FOUR two hundred pound monkey-boys...and they were having a hard time holding on. Well the ride was just beginning boys. I was pissed off now and I got down and dirty. I used my claws and teeth to max effect. I commenced to slashing and biting some more. They'd taken their heavy clothing off when we come indoors so I was drawing a LOT of blood. They backed off and I slashed one across the eyes.

He screamed, and stumbled around a bit...and knocked over stuff. He must have knocked over the wrong stuff because shortly the whole place was burning and the building went up in flames around me. Then the building collapsed and everything fell into the basement. I got smashed around some more. I drifted in and out of consciousness.


Some time later there were loud noises and later still voices and movement nearby. Someone saw me. The good guys apparently....firefighters.

Great emotion and turbulence ensued. I passed out from the pain before I could kill anyone.

Else.

Some unknown time later I woke up and find myself here.

My wings are gone, torn out by the roots, and all my equipment is missing. I’m wounded and battered.

…......and caged.


Next Episode
#67: Meanwhile...a Thousand Miles Away
Previous Episode
#65: No Remorse

First Episode
# 1 : In the beginning…


I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
I have other books on Amazon.
Sometimes I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

Love what you are doing with this story. Off all the Steemit authors you are the one picking all the subjects I like to touch on myself in my own fiction, but still the results couldn't be further apart. An intriguing reality. Hope to see you using the mythpunk tag some day 😉

Thank you
I didn't know that there was such a tag

A very lonely tag at the moment. I think (sub)genre tags are really underused on Steemit. Hard to find the stuff you love in sweeping tags like 'fiction' , 'story' and 'writing'. Here are some other relatively lonely tags that I hope will find some more users.

I read somewhere if you mix Yggdrasil Leaf and Yggdrasil Dew together you'll achieve some kind of super Elixir . Can't remember the book . It's going to drive me crazy now .

your story is nice, i like your all post, great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85