Going to Grandma's House (Steemitbloggers Contest)

in #fiction6 years ago

grandma-2942839_1920.jpg

So I walked up the sidewalk, my feet dragging more and more the closer I got.

The weeds were breaking through the cracks, probably the only thing that would ever grow here anyway. My grandma was such a grouchy old broad, I bet anything else was too afraid to grow.

I grumbled under my breath, still mad at my mom for making me come. I was like some stupid red riding hood, bringin my sick grandma cookies and shit. By the way, why was I bringing her cookies? I was never allowed cookies when I was sick. Mom said they were bad for me.

I grumbled some more and kicked a rock as I turned the corner to grandma's house. Up the cement steps, I knocked on the bent and battered aluminum door that hung crooked on its hinges.

I heard my grandma yelling something, so I assumed I was supposed to just go on in.

I sighed to myself and opened the door with a groan. My grandma was probably going to be laying about like a bundle of rags, griping about everything under the sun. UGH I did not want to so this.

I quietly opened the door and took a deep breath.

I stepped onto the ancient linoleum and peeked into the kitchen. I couldn't believe what I saw. My grouchy old, supposedly sick grandma wasn't sick at all. I was beginning to wonder if she had ever really been grouchy at all! I mean, surely a grouchy old grandma wouldn't be capable of dancing like that, right?

I realized then what I'd been hearing from outside. It wasn't my grandma yelling... she was listening to music! And DANCING! And not grandma dancing, either. No, siree. She was dancing to music that I liked to listen to.

I stood there, flabbergasted as I heard the lyrics, "To the window... To the wall" and dropped the basket of goodies at my feet.

There was my grandma, getting down, hands against the wall, her old lady booty sticking out and gyrating. I nearly choked. What the heck was I supposed to do with this?

black.png

I used the most dangerous writing app for this story. That was nerve wracking for sure. I didn't edit afterwards (but then I rarely do with freewrite style writing) so forgive any typos. I kept writing after the 5 minute timer to finish up the last sentences.

This is my entry in the @steemitbloggers contest. I chose the prompt, "Now send your character to his or her grumpy grandmother's house for a visit. Write the scene of your character's arrival." I really thought this would show way more of the grandma, but I ran out of time before that point came!

black.png

Other Fiction

A serial: Where things on the Island "Paradise" aren't quite what they seem. A man and a woman wake up separately, seemingly alone on a deserted island with no memory of how they came to be there, no memory of their pasts, but drawn to each other... even though they can't remember why. Once they find each other, then it's time to solve the mystery of who they are.

THUMB-IslandParadie.jpg


Trying my hand at SciFi

Thumb-BREEDERS-Cover.jpg


A fun series: Letters from a Boat Cat!

23-Tempest-hideandseek.png

black.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

black.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source under the photos (Or in the case of linked thumbnail cover photos in the sig, they are sourced at the original post).
.
byn-sig.png



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://bynalways.com/2018/09/30/the-unexpected-haunting-short-story/

Photo Source Pixabay

Sort:  

Hello i think you did so well. I just try the app and didn't manage to write more than 80 world i think lol.

To be fair, I've been writing every single day and most of those days have been freewrites, so my typing speed and my creative spark really fly when I do stories like these! Thanks for reading and leaving me a comment.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

@byn!!!! You genius writer you, I love your stories!!! This is hilarious, to the window, to the wall Hahahaha oh my Lord soon she might sing to the milkshake song 😂

Lol! Well I ALMOST failed when I typed the lyrics, because those were the ONLY lyrics I could think of. Just remembering my kids doing crazy silly dances to that song (and the milkshake one!) a few years ago with their friends.

Thanks for the support!

My grouchy old, supposedly sick grandma wasn't sick at all.<<< haha looks like she was just in it for the cookies!

Exactly! Hopefully they were good cookies, she'd need some good carbs after that dance workout! :)

hahahah Loved it!!
Wasn't expecting that!!
I want to be a grandmother just like that :D
Thank you for entertaining me this Saturday evening .. :D
I could actually see granny twerking hahaha

Sorry for being a little late. Loved the story. Nice twist to show grandma's true nature :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85