Farmpunk Fiction Contest #4 Winners

in #fiction6 years ago

This month's farmpunk contest theme was Pumpkin Harvest. I've got to say right up front, I was overwhelmed at the response I got to this one. There was a total of six entries, and all of them were awesome!

farmpunk pumpkin harvest
Image from Pixabay.

I'm not just saying this. There was something about every story in this contest that I liked. It was a difficult contest to judge. Yet, there could only be one winner and one runner up.

The contest was to write a farmpunk fiction #story. It had to involve farming and high technology, and be punk! In some sense, all of the stories hit upon at least one of these elements and most of them managed to hit two. The winner is the story that came the closest to achieving a farmpunk feel. That doesn't necessarily mean it's the best written story or the best told story. This is a genre contest and I'm looking for certain elements that make the story a suitable farmpunk story.

Having said that, I want to add that not winning this contest doesn't mean a story wasn't well written, well told, or wasn't farmpunk enough. As I said, I liked them all and it was difficult to pick a winner.

The winner will receive two Steem Basic Income (SBI) shares and second place will get one SBI share. Without further ado, let's talk about winners. But first, a word from our sponsor.

steemit bloggers

Join Speculative Fiction Writers of Steemit. Share your links. Discuss farmpunk, and other speculative fiction literature (sci-fi, fantasy, horror, and weird stuff too). Make new friends (but keep the old ones).

steemit bloggers

I want to thank all of the entrants to this contest. It is evident they all put hard work into their stories and that deserves a mention. I hope they'll all reflect some more on the farmpunk genre and enter future contests. The six entrants to this contest were

As I said, all of the stories had merit, but only one could win and one gets runner up. I'll announce the runner up first.

The Strawfolk by @ediblecthulhu

I didn't know whether to shit my breeches or cry. This story had some gruesome moments and a very literary read. It was a fun story and pushed a few boundaries. I really liked it.

the strawfolk farmpunk story
From @ediblecthulhu's farmpunk contest #4 entry post

An excerpt:

And then, so suddenly she couldn't bite it back, that pain that she'd been struggling to keep at bay since she lost the cruficix broke through. It came erupting out of her just as the Diaphagia had spewed forth from the earth on Judgement Day, hot tears flooding her eyes, and snot bubbling from her nostrils, and suffocating sobs wrenching their way like eels up her throat. Her strength seemed to abandon her as well, and she slumped forward, found herself clinging to the strawmaiden as though her life depended on it.

And now for the winner.

The Pumpkin Raiders and the Scarecrows by @manoldonchev

This story was the most punk of them all and that's why it won. It's a crazy fun read, doesn't take itself too seriously, and just fills the page with good punk fun. Unlike most of the other entries, it didn't try too hard to play up the horror aspect of Halloween. If this had been a Halloween story contest, another story would have won. Instead, @manoldonchev went punk and that got him a ticket to the Pumpkin Harvest with a couple of SBI shares.

pumpkin raiders farmpunk fiction story
From the story post.

An excerpt:

From the top of the giant ant-like machine a ladder was thrown down towards hand outstretched and eager to grab. Peshka was the last to go inside the thorax-resembling part of the hull. Aslu and her paramilitary unit of children had already taken their places and were fastening their seat belts across their chests. Only Vanya preferred to be left dangling from on safety handle to another along the walls and ceiling, as the Crawler marched on six legs through rocks and shallow gorges, through overgrowth and fallen trees. The others cheered for him and some envied him but none of them would dare try such a thing again. They were hardly keeping down their vomiting reflexes as they were.

I sincerely hope each of these writers will enter another farmpunk fiction contest. They are all good writers and deserve an honorable mention.

steemit bloggers

Get your weird lit on:

The Biblical Legends Anthology Series

Garden of EdenSulfuringsDeluge
At AmazonAt AmazonAt Amazon

Limerents in the Bog


At Amazon

review me
Review Me, Please

While you're here, check out the backside 5:


Steemit Bloggers

promo mentors

helpienaut

Sort:  

Sorry I didn't take part I will try to go read these tomorrow so I can be ready to get one of these you do a shot.

Join in when you can, my friend.

Such Thanks, much punk!

Yes, I did have a great time doing it and I thank you for that as well.

I cannot go through new things right now, since I am on a 3-days work trip but I hope I catch up with what's going on in your circles later.

Take care, everybody! And take a pumpkin, too! Or two if you can carry.

Manol

Thanks Manol. You should have your SBI shares shortly. I'll be thinking up things for November's contest, so be ready. Enjoy your "time off."

Thank you, I will. I am actually working on a future photo exhibition in a village. And there is some farmpunk by default in Bulgarian villages... in a way. But more cabbages here than anything else to harvest.

IMG_7015.JPG

Oh wow, I'm honored! This was great fun, both writing to the prompt and reading the entries. Thanks for farmpunk and for the contest, and congrats to @manoldonchev and everyone on the awesome stories! <3

Thank you, @ediblecthulhu, congratulations to you as well. Yours was written really well, I was awed by your style and I am happy it found appreciation by the audience.

Thank you, @manoldonchev! And likewise! I read all of the entries on the same night, and yours was the one I started with. The fast-paced action, the wealth of awesome details about the universe and its tech, and the cool punk vibe made for a hell of a fun read and set the stage for an evening of farmpunk goodness! Congrats and props! :D

I think I have one more story to read of those six. When I get back home...

And I am hyped about all the writing challenges I will find tomorrow.

I wish you all lots of inspiration and the time to do what you love!

Congrats to the winners!

I had fun writing my piece for this and I hope everyone had fun writing theirs!

I look forward to reading and hopefully participating in the next contest.

They were my picks too!! Thanks.for hosting this contest. I learnt a lot and had fun!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for entering. I hope you'll enter another one. I like reading everyone's stories.

You have got some good reads here and punk I like. :)

Thanks. You're welcome to join us for the next contest--in November.

@photobe is my alt account...had to sign back in ...thanks again

Ha ha. You're welcome. :-)

Congratulations @blockurator! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blockurator from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85