The Stain of Mordred part 35.

in #fiction5 years ago

DSCF0250 (2).JPG

In the violence of the storm of earth power George felt a presence approaching, as did Mordred. He looked up and reached to pull his spear free of George’s body but then stopped and knelt down on the grass.
“You are one with this land Mordred and I’ve used the power of my blood and my sacrifice to remove the stain of the Dark Ones from your soul so now you are free of their influence and free to choose.” George said. “Pull free your spear and return to darkness or return to the Old Ways you loved before they marked you, you can be that knight again that wanted to heal the land.”
“You tricked me into waking him and removed the stain on me at the same time?” Mordred said in shock. “When did you become so sly George, to play me like this. Was this your plan all along, to give your own life like this.”
“Not all along Prince of Camelot, only had it for the last couple of days, I chose to give my life for you as it was the only chance I had to beat the Dark Gods. I had to summon your father to return as the defender of the land, summoned by the land to defend itself with my death. Only together can you both have a chance to heal the land, to bring forth the golden age you were born to create. Avalon is all about choices, your choice is now to return as the Prince of Camelot and Avalon to your home or sacrifice your life to heal the land of the dark magic of the Dark Gods.” George said, even with the power of the earth flowing through him he could tell his body was dying as he’d given the energy of his blood to the spell to remove the stain on Mordred’s soul. Only the outpouring earth power now kept him alive.
“Why would you sacrifice yourself to heal me?” Mordred asked as King Arthur walked to stand before him, the sword Excalibur in his hand.
“He did it to heal the land my son, for we are the land and we were divided by the mark of the Dark Gods, the Mage has acted to remove that mark and heal the rift between us so together we can heal the land of their dark magic. Look at this henge Mordred, it’s builders are forgotten as is their religion. Do you think the land cares what the people believe in? The land just wants to grow, to know peace for all that live on it. Our rule was never about preserving the Old Ways but providing peace for the land to grow.” Arthur said.
“How could I get things so wrong? In my pride I allowed the Dark Gods to taint me, I fell into their trap and divided the land with war, I failed everything I believed in. For centuries I’ve been controlled by them as they fed me anger and hate.” Mordred said in anguish.
“You haven’t failed yet my son, together we can banish the Dark Gods, there is a way to stop all of this still.” Arthur said.

Mordred bent his head forward, tears running down his face as he took George’s hand. “I thank you George for showing me who I was and what I was meant to be.” Mordred looked up at his father. “I spent most of my life hating you, yet always when I thought of this meeting I knew I would let you kill me. Just never thought it to be to heal the land.”
“My son, I’m sorry for not being there for you, for not being the father you deserved. We were both tricked by a woman and her lover who acted for darkness, even though they never knew it. One of her priests was a servant of the Dark Gods and convinced Lancelot to poisoned me. We were all played by this servant to destroy Camelot, to divide us. The quest for the Holy Grail to heal me was part of that plan as it claimed so many of our greatest knights. Guinevere and Lancelot were tools of the Dark Gods who played us all. The Dark Gods put their mark on them through her priest as they did you and I never saw it happening.” Arthur said sadly as he raised the sword ready to deal the blow that would end Mordred’s life and heal the land
“Please make it fast father, I’ve lived this life for too long and just want an end to my life. I give my life and blood for the land, to remove the dark magic and heal the destruction I helped cause.”
“Your life here will end and you will know peace but you will not be free. You will join me as a protector of the land, we will now both become as one with the red dragon to defend the land.” Arthur said and then swung his sword.

The ground again shook and blinding light lit up the night sky as Mordred’s blood soaked into the land. All across the country lightning would soon begin to streak from the sky and the ground shake as the power of earth magic worked to destroy the dark magic that had been poisoning it.
At Glastonbury Tor those with the ability saw the Red and White Dragons furiously circle the Tor as lightning streaked down to hit St Michaels tower in a constant display of power before they race away taking the lightning strikes with them leaving the thousands of protesters camped there in shocked silence.

To be continued.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85