The Stain of Mordred part 29.

in #fiction5 years ago

DSCF0250 (2).JPG

Within two hours a young woman was led into Mordred’s office, she was wearing bright flowing clothes and looked every inch a typical new age activist. She stood defiantly staring into the air above Mordred’s head as his guards removed her handcuffs and withdrew from the room.
“Would you like to sit while we talk?” Mordred asked.
‘I prefer to stand in the presence of a snake.” the woman answered sharply finally looking at Mordred.
“You do realise the snake used to be the symbol of the druids before those priests of Christ smeared it. I had hoped to have a polite talk with you about your healer.” Mordred said in a calm voice. “ I could very easily force you to sit and tell me everything I want to know, make it painless or make you suffer pain you never knew existed but today I would just like a simple chat about your healer to better understand why people follow him.”

After a moment the woman stepped forward and took the chair across the desk from Mordred.
“I will not betray him.” the woman stated flatly.
“Good, you have no idea how much I hate those who betray those that they follow.” Mordred said with a smile of approval.
“You’re trying to trick me, I know how you government people work.” the woman said guardedly.
“Not at all, I despise those small little fools who run governments, petty little people who only work for their own short sighted ends. All I want to know is how you met the healer and why you decided to follow him. After that my driver will take you home.” Mordred said.
“That’s it, how can I trust you?” the woman asked confused.
“Before all this started you were probably someone working in a little shop in Glastonbury selling crystals and fake magical items to tourists while at the weekends you’d meet with friends to read tarot cards and such. I can lift up this telephone on the table and have world leaders assassinated. Why with that sort of power would I lie to you?” Mordred asked.
“I own the shop, not work in it.” the woman said defiantly.
“How did you meet the healer?” Mordred asked.
“I saw the dragons fly over the Tor and went to investigate, when the sun came up me and others went up the Tor and the healer was there.” the woman said.
“You have a talent to be able to see the dragons, I bet your tarot card reading are better than most in predicting things.” Mordred said, still calm and friendly.
“I predicted the dragons and the healer, I’ve known he would come for years.” the woman answered.
“I wish you had told me that information at the time, it would have saved me so much trouble.” Mordred said with a smile as he leaned back in his chair. “Would you read your cards for me?”
‘No.” the woman said simply.
“I could force you to do it.” Mordred threatened, an edge to his voice.
“That would be breaking your word to me.” the woman said, not a hint of fear in her.
Mordred began to chuckle and stood up, walking over to a table at the side of the room he poured some whisky into two glasses and brought them back to the desk and placed on before the woman.
“Very well then, let’s have a drink together and know I only drink with people I like. In the last four hundred years or so I’ve had a drink with just two people and both I met this week. Why do you follow your healer?” Mordred said sitting back down.
“He gives us hope that things can get better, that we can make changes to live better lives.” the woman replied.
“Hope is so dangerous but I’m afraid your healer can’t stop what is to happen, it’s all gone too far. You are caught up in the end game of something you could never understand, powers beyond anything you’ve seen. My driver will take you home, make the most of your final weeks. I’m told there is a big protest on the Tor so it could bring in more customers for your store.” Mordred said smiling.
“I don’t care about money, I never have.” the woman said.
“Well then, join your friends on the Tor.” Mordred replied.
“What will you do now?” the woman asked.
“I will find and kill your healer and then sit back and watch the end of the world unfold.” Mordred said simply.

To be continued.

Sort:  

Hello @alienbutt, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29