The Stain of Mordred. A work in progress, feedback wanted.

in #fiction6 years ago

This is a story I'm working on now so would like any views on this first part. It's not edited so there will be mistakes in here. The story is about a man who defies Avalon to try to stop the fall of mankind and prevent the return of Arthur, the once and future king.

DSCF0250 (2).JPG

A Student of Avalon.
The Mage.

Note left by Major George Stevenson, June 1920.

It is just over twelve months since I returned to you Anne, I had hoped I could leave the war behind me once I returned to you. I’ve tried to go back to my life as a doctor but I can’t cope with practising medicine any more. All I ever wanted to do was heal people but what I witnessed in France I just can’t forget. The horror of the war is just too much for me, it returns every night when I close my eyes. I’m sorry my beloved Anne but it would have been better for you had I not returned.
I’m sorry.

George headed out into the woods to end the nightmares and guilt, he knew Anne would be upset but she was still young enough to make a new life. He’d enlisted in the army as a doctor when the war broke out and spent his time trying to save lives as young men were brought in on stretchers to be treated. Every night he saw their faces and horrors of war from the eyes of the medical staff and he’d turned to strong drink to try and avoid dreams even before his return. His wife was a gentle soul and tried her best to understand what he had lived through but you had to have been there.
This morning a childhood friend had come into the surgery, he’d lost a leg on the second day of the Battle of the Somme and George had been shocked when his friend had told him he’d been the surgeon who had removed his leg. When he’d returned home and looked at himself in the mirror he’d seen dead eyes looking back at him, the last shred of life had left them. Walking back out of the house he’d not even picked up his hat and coat, only his service revolver. He never looked back as he wandered out into the evening never to be seen again by anyone he knew.

George walked off into the night with no thought to where he was going but he did have a plan that involved his service revolver. During the war George had only ever handled the gun to clean it and it had spent more time in his locker with his dress uniform than belted to his waist.
Finally up into the woods he sat by an ancient stone archway. Nobody knew who built the archway but there were many legends surrounding it. Some said it was an ancient gateway while others said it was an entrance to a long destroyed temple.
As he sat there turning his revolver over in his hands he began to feel peace and a tranquillity he’d never experienced before and as he looked up he saw a woman standing looking down at him. She wore a long white dress and seemed almost to glow in the light of the moon.
“You should put that down, you won’t need it now.” She said as she walked over and knelt down before him.
“I can’t go back, I tried but I can’t just go on and live my life. The horror of what I had to do, it wasn’t healing. I only ever wanted to help people , to make their lives better.” George said his voice breaking as the pain surfaced, his words tumbling out before being cut off by sobs.
The lady sat silently and let George sob and release the pain that he’d tried to hold in, then carefully she reached out and took the gun from his hand and laid it on the ground.
“Come with me, I can take you to a place where you can forget the horrors of what you saw. We will heal you and teach you to heal others. Just walk with me through the archway and through the mists and you can start again. What can you lose by trusting me that I can help you.” The woman said with a smile that ignited hope in George’s broken soul.
The woman stood and held out her hand to George who after a moment took it and got to his feet. Looking down to his revolver on the ground he pushed it with his foot.
“I never fired the damn thing, not once.” He said quietly. “At the least that has to count for something.”
“Take my hand and follow me George, no matter what keep hold of my hand or you will become more lost than you’ve ever known.” The woman said kindly as she took his hand and walked towards the archway.
George walked through the archway and into a cold thick mist, the woman held onto his hand and walked with him. After about thirty seconds they walked out of the mist and into bright sunlight, As their eyes adjusted to the light George looked around and saw a landscape of impossible beauty. Rolling hills covered in forest and in the valley below a great lake that perfectly reflected the sky above. In the centre of the lake sat an island, buildings could be seen while in other places ancient woodland covered most of the rest of it.
“Behold Avalon, the land beyond the mists and home to the undying. Here George you will heal and be reborn.” The woman said kindly.
“I don’t understand.” George said in confusion as he gazed around the land.
“”I brought you here to heal and learn George, I am the Lady of the Lake and I have watched the passing of the ages in your world. I am giving you a new life, a life where you will know peace, you will heal from the hurts of your old world and become far more than you could ever dream you could be.” The lady said as she turned to him and smiled. “Let me take you to the man who will be your guide and maybe a teacher of sorts, when you are ready. Until then he will be a friend who helps you in your healing journey.”
The lady began to walk down towards the lake and George noticed a village of small stone houses by the lake, on the shore a number of small boats were pulled up onto the grass.
“To begin with you will stay in the village on the shore with my very dear friend Bedivere.” the lady said as she walked.
“I’m confused, how can this all be possible. How can this be possible.” George asked as he walked along in wonder, for the first time in ages his dark thoughts forgotten.
“Everyone is confused to start with when they first enter
Avalon, once you’ve had a nights sleep to rest I will return to see you and I will give you a choice of what you want to do.” The lady said as she moved onto a path that led down to the small village.

Bedivere was an old man who had a ready smile and despite his age was still full of life. The small hut he called home was a simple round stone building with a fire pit in the centre. There was little furniture in the building and George sat on the floor as Bedivere warmed some water over the fire.
“I can see by the look in your eyes you’ve seen the sharp side of war, the stories are all full of honour and valour but we who come home know the truth.” Bedivere said as he placed a small bag of grains into the boiling water.
“You used to be a soldier?” George asked.
“I was a knight and a friend to the king.” Bedivere answered as he stirred the pot of boiling water.
“This has to be a dream or something, I’m a man of education and no matter what I’ve been through this can not be real.” George said. “You talk of knights and kings and the lady who brought me here calls herself the Lady of the Lake. I’ve read the books about the legends of King Arthur and it’s not real, just an old story.”
“How do you know it isn’t real? Did you live in those days to witness it?”Bedivere asked.
“I know your name, in the story you returned the sword to the Lady of the Lake.” George said and then trailed off.
“Listen boy, over the next few days just accept what you see, you need time to adjust, rest and heal. Trust me as I’ve seen other new arrivals over the years and those who just accept what they see do the best in finding the new life they have had a chance to make.” Bedivere said kindly as he rummaged around and produced two wooden cups.
“If it helps then pretend this a dream for now,how much honey do you take in your barley tea?”
“Do you not have any Earl Grey?” George asked.
“Never heard of it but that’s not surprising, it’s been a while in your world since we had anyone come through the mists.” Bedivere said placing a small slice of honey into each cup and then a few herbs into the cup he passed to George. “The drink will help you sleep later, as it stops you dreaming, it’s the first step to help you heal. The Lady says you are a healer and as such you are most welcome to our land. The world will always need more healers than it has.”
“I was a healer, now I don’t know what I am.” George said looking down at the cup.
“Well let’s have our drink and then head over to get some food. After that I want to show you something, it won’t take long. Many years ago when I came here, not quite as broken as you the Lady showed it to me. It helped me get things into focus and accept things.” Bedivere said taking a drink of the barley tea. “This stuff tastes horrible, always has even with the honey. You’ll have to tell me about this Earl Grey and I’ll ask the lady about getting some.”

Sort:  

@alienbutt, I love this story and it too short for my reading pleasure. Hope you can write it longer. War was cruel, a lot of people who served came back as broken and need to be cured. The doctor in this story also the same. Luckily he met lady of the lake, if not i believed in the story you paint the picture that he want to suicide. Then you brought us to a another world, the earlier world with knight. So, this was a back from future or time traveler kind of story. But I couldn't find any mistake in this part, maybe I too attracted to the story.. I really hope you continue the story, I want to know what happen to George and where was the place he currently at, it is an eternity land or back from future. And his cure would be saved King author by his medical expertise in order to restore his confident and back to his world again. (this only my guess after read your story). I love it.

Thank you, I'm still working on the story and have about 22k words down already, once it is finished I will post it onto steemit. In the meantime I've posted a second part that introduces Mordred who is my villain for the story.

I was wondering how the story will develop. I expected to turn the gun to his head, shoot and wake up in heaven.. but you surprised me with the story. I like the way you write. It is very catching and makes me want to continue reading. I hope you will finalize the piece and share it with us.

Thank you for now and congratulations on your curie vote!

Thank you, once the story is finished I will be posting it on here.

I like what you're doing here. I'm not terribly familiar with the Arthurian legends, save for some of the movies and a brief sidenote in school, but I enjoy the idea of dimensional travel and the joining of (more) modern figures to historical/mythical figures. Please, take my feedback as an attempt to help, I'm not great at regulating tone.

Commas. A lot of places in here, I see situations where it would be a good idea to move your comma back a few words and place a period where the existing comma is. I feel it would help it flow.

I like much of the dialogue. It's believable and enjoyable. Perhaps take time to throw actions and reactions in between speakers or lines of dialogue?

All in all it is off to a great start. Can't wait to read on!

Thanks, glad you liked the start. Still working on this so I'l look at the placing of commas and adding more actions, reactions as I continue to work on it.

Groovy. Keep up the good work! I have just finished a section of a fantasy story and intend to post soon, I'd love it and appreciate it if you'd read it and throw me some feedback. If you are interested, that is. I probably won't post today, though. I have a couple more steps to complete first.

no problem just drop the link here and I'll have a look.

Poor George. Any war is terrible, full of horrors. I can understand his pain. Luck for him the Lady of the lake rescues him from that world. He has a chance to start a new life and do what he wants which is heal people.

Lovely story, another approach to the arthur legend. I love it!

Thanks, I've really got my teeth into this story over the last few weeks and I'm enjoying writing it.

Hi alienbutt,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I'm not a pro-writer so my feedback will have little weight but I like the world that you are setting up. Seems that you've played around with the theme a while back but I find this specific entry stronger because of George. He seems like a character that readers can latch onto and would look forward to seeing his development. Great job on the first part.

Thank you, all feedback is welcome. I started the story last year but over the last few weeks I've been working on it a lot and have the first draft done so working on developing the characters and plot. It's good to know that George is working as a lead person in the story.

That is really intriguing story that happen to George, I can imagine how war can destroy the human especially his soul and this is a gift given to George to recuperate, so what is it? Is it a dream? Is this lady from future or is she a time lord who decided to help George. I hope he will recover and find his peace :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28