The Explorer Initiative.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

When a friend told me about the Explorer initiative I thought it sounded too good to be true, yet what did I have to lose?

Let's face it life is for living and taking a chance on this thing actually being what it said could lead to a better life if I put the work in and got a head start before everyone realised how good the deal was. So now you're thinking 'What the hell am I going on about, what is this Explorer initiative?'

Look we all know the history books and how we used to be part of this great society that stretched across space, hundreds of planets, thousands of outposts. Billions of people living in peace and plenty in our great golden age, most now try to dismiss this as legends and unrealistic. As resources on our planet run out and our society stagnates and falls in a repeat of all societies over the entire history of humanity we need to rediscover our purpose. We need to go back to the stars and rediscover our golden age.

We are mad to think we are the only planet left, and even if we are then think of all the resources and technology that is out there, waiting to be found. The Explorer initiative is my way to do just that, they will give me a ship and education implants in science and technology far beyond anything I could afford to buy. The ships we have left are in need of repair as they were mothballed and neglected in large off-planet storage facilities. Over the centiries some of these facilities were raided and the ships stripped of parts but other facilities have been unopened for centuries and in one of these is my ship just waiting for me.
Once I ensure my ship is space-worthy I'll be on my way to chart space and find resources to bring back. The best thing though is I get to keep twenty five percent of the value of what I bring back. I get a ship, the best education implants credits can buy and will have earned enough to live a life of luxury within a few years.

This is the start of an amazing adventure for me when in the morning I'm taken to choose my ship and then within a few days I'll be off to discover worlds nobody from our planet has seen in almost eight hundred years.

trade port.jpg
Image is mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36