Audrey | A Short Story - FictionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Audrey.png

Audrey sat up on her bed; for the third time, through its loud singing, the cockerel announced that the sun was rising; it was time to get up. But of course Audrey wouldn’t get up before first doing the sign of the cross whilst holding her prayer beads thanking her God for her good health, her daily food, for her work and the small home she lived in and loved so much. Hers was a very small house with one living room, one bedroom and a kitchen. The bathroom was outside at the end of a fenced backyard where she raised half a dozen chickens, cultivated some herbs, and did hers and her client’s laundry. This was Audrey’s main source of income, washing and ironing people´s clothes.

She finally got up, her hands ached a little, but she was still grateful for the pile of clothes she had to take care of that day. She needed to hurry as they had to be delivered tomorrow. It was a good thing the city council opened a new bus line; the bus-stop only two blocks away from Audrey’s house made things a lot easier for her to carry the heavy basket of clothes back and forth. Oh! How grateful she felt. Nina, the very spoiled cat came running into her begging for some food. She had been found on the street by Audrey one year ago and it was now her inseparable companion during working hours. After feeding the animal, Audrey returned to the bedroom to wake up her daughter, who was heavily pregnant expecting a baby-girl.

With much love Audrey gave her daughter a mug of sweetened, black coffee as well as scrambled eggs; then as usual they engaged in a lively conversation about the near future. They had so many plans. A couple of weeks ago they bought a brand new mattress (Audrey was so pleased), after much debate they both decided Audrey would sleep on it when the baby arrived. Either in the kitchen or in the living-room; you see, the double-bed and the old wardrobe already took all the space available in the bedroom.

Well, after some chatting, off Audrey went to feed her chickens and collect some eggs - she could not forget to take a couple of fresh ones to her good next-door neighbour who was feeling poorly as of late. Audrey knew so many good people and for that she felt very thankful. There was also this neighbour across the street, she always came around in the evening; oh ... how they gossiped, laughed and did things together. With the plump, friendly lady from up the street, Audrey set up a small business; so they called it. Three times a week, they took little crops of herbs to the market and sold them there. On those days Audrey had to get up at three o´clock in the morning to wash her client’s clothes and hang them on the line. The city market was a forty-minute drive from where they lived; so they had to take the first bus in the morning to get there early enough to sell everything. ‘How adventurous a life I have’, she thought smiling during those journeys.

Day in day out, Audrey carried out her duties with so much pride, on those early morning starts she sang folk songs, looked at the moon and thought it so beautiful; in fact, Audrey saw beauty in everything, found pleasure in every action and felt so privileged for such a wonderful life with so much to look forward to every single day.

redline.png

Original story by Abigail Dantes (2017) based on the gorgeous illustration from Agnes Laczo and the various male and female ‘Audreys’ I have come across in life. To see more beautiful illustrations like this please follow @agneslaczo’s blog.

Sort:  

I really envy those people's gratitude towards life. I wish I could everything from their bright side, but we get so consumed by the "bad" things that happen to us, not being able to choose what clothes to wear out of the hundreds of pieces in our wardrobe, not being able to buy a more expensive TV, because we could.only spend 600€ at the time instead of 1600€...
Sometimes we forget to be thankful for the lots of things we own and people like Audrey should always remind us of that!
Really sweet story @abigail-dantes!

Thanks @ruth-girl 🙃. My toughts exactly! I do sometimes wonder why it seems so difficult to be grateful. Thank you for stopping by. I really appreciate it 🌻
Have a great day!

Well, people are greedy and moan all the time! Maybe that's why we hardly say thank you for all the things we have and take for granted.

Have a great day too @abigail-dantes! :D

Nice story!

Day in day out, Audrey carried out her duties with so much pride, on those early morning starts she sang folk songs, looked at the moon and thought it so beautiful; in fact, Audrey saw beauty in everything, found pleasure in every action and felt so privileged for such a wonderful life with so much to look forward to every single day.

I used to be like that before I quit my full-time job years ago - but only days that I was off...lol!

But seriously I envy such people although they are far and few.

LOL ....
Very few indeed!
All the best @maxabit.
😊

I loved the detailed descriptions of your story and the friendly characters. I hope you'll bring your work into the Fiction Workshop queue - have you already submitted some and I missed it? I don't remember seeing your work there. But I think this story would benefit from the addition of a dilemma. I would love to see Audrey encounter a problem in her world and then go about in her own optimistic way to solve it.

You are absolutely right @geke! 😀 No, you have not missed anything. I have got to start dedicating more time when developing my litte stories.... I should definetly take my next one to you guys!! ❤️
Thank you geke, all the best!

I have to say, if I had to choose between being Audrey or Nina, I would choose Nina. Cat's life. Herb gardening's cool, but laundry! Phooey!

😂 Nina is very spoiled!!

Aww! This is wonderful! What a heartwarming story. The painting is is pretty too. That's what caught my attention at first. Keep on doing stuff like this! It makes my heart sing. 💗

What a beautiful comment!! Thank you @pusteblume.

You are welcome! And I thank you!

I love how simple the story is and about the love of Christ and thankfullness! All that life really is about when you get down to it...Daily accomplishment and helping others...
Wonderful to find you!
Melissa

Thank you @joearnold :) Your words are incredibly kind! Thank you! :D

You are very welcome, Hope you had a great weekend!
Melissa

Absolutely loved it! Upvoted and followed! Amazing what a story person can see from a mere picture! ^.^ Just recently I tried myself in such an art also, you can check my story here.

Not trying to nitpick though, but I needed to read this part twice to get it right:

"Nina, the very spoiled cat came running into her begging for some food, she had been found on the street by Audrey one year ago and it was now her inseparable companion during working hours."

I think there should be a full stop after "food". Or maybe it's just me. I'm just trying to provide some constructive criticism. You know, one author to another. ^^

An you are absolutely correct @svashta, absolutely correct! You criticism is very much appreciated indeed! :D I will definitely have a look into your blog! :)
Thank you and all the best.

It gives off a feeling of calm, this story. Takes you back, to when times where simpler, people were simpler, jobs were simpler.

Looking forward to reading more.

It's weird, when I asked you on steemSTEM what your steemit handle is, I had first of course searched it same as you use it on steemSTEM, and got no results! Nor did I get your response on steemSTEM! Only now I went back to read the conversations I missed, and there it is! And here your page is too! How could that be?!

Hey @alexander.alexis !! :D Thank you so much for stopping by, taking the time to read my story and leaving a nice comment! I am sorry you didn't see my steemit handle before! I replied to you as soon as I saw your question! :)
Well, see you around and all the best :D

Great little story. So sweet and optimistic. I love how Audrey has just a tiny bit of bad in her. Gossip. It makes her very human. 🐓🐓

Oh! Audrey truly enjoys a little bit of gossip :D
Your comment is beautiful @mother2chicks!
THANK YOU! :)

Will be looking for some additional stories in the future. I also went to your friend's page that does the illustrations. Very interesting work by both of you. That was a great little collaboration. 🐓🐓

Oh ... Thank you for taking the time to visit Agnes blog. She is incredibly talented! :)

wow posting is very good and worth to follow.
and be a good example.
very good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75