My entry for the "WE LOVE ANIMALS - PHOTO CONTEST" by @flamingirl - Monday entry with a "Jesus Christ" lizard

in #fg-photocontest6 years ago

Thank you again for these contests! What a great excuse to post about my main interest: wildlife!
My first entry is with a photo taken in Costa Rica, in Tortuguero National Park. This one was a bit special for me, because this was one of the species that I reaaaaallly wanted to see; and as with all wildlife, you have to search for them, but also have a little luck! And fortunately for me, and with the help of a fantastic guide with eagle-eyes... I spotted it!

IMG_0177.JPG

Green Basilisk / Basilisco verde (PT) - Basiliscus plumifrons

Basiliscus are also known as Jesus Christ lizards, because they have the ability to run bipedally in the water surface without sinking for a few meters, thanks to the membranes between the toes. This one is the green basilisk, also known as the plummed basilisk, and is one of the 3 basiliscus species you can find on Costa Rica. And for me, by far the most beautiful! Below, some more photos before managing to catch him looking at me:

IMG_0173.JPG

IMG_0178.JPG

Photos taken with Canon SX50 HS

Sort:  

oooook! Jesus Christ lizard?! I didn't expected that! 😅

There are some amazing videos of them running over water... I only saw them basking thow :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Pardinus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82