The Surprise Was On Me #foodfightfriday

in #fff5 years ago (edited)

F6785541-32E9-40D5-9FEE-989716BD5D40.jpeg

I didn’t plan on this cover image today, stopping by the falafel joint was instigated by a rookie food fighter. I’m glad I did, though, otherwise I may have never known how cool it is to have a Kawasaki green and purple cover image.

Look, I didn’t cook anything again this week, “guilty!” I’m married to @puravidaville, I am not allowed have no reason to cook anything. It makes about as much sense as running transmission lines for @jlsplatts, why would I do that?! Or buying syrup if I lived next door to @thebigsweed. Really? How do you compete against a guy who drains husband own syrup out of the trees in his back yard?!

Originally I was going to use a cover image from one of those meals Pura Vida just throws together right quick. I don’t have any progress pictures because, well, I just told you, I didn’t make it, she did. It probably would have gone something like this:

51E2BE24-3759-40D9-98BF-AAAA5EAA3909.jpeg
Eat Your Broccoli And Love It! #foodfightfriday

  • Ingredients: Broccoli, it looks like onions and potatoes and then probably salt, pepper, seasoning of your choice.
  • Cook time - probably 30 minutes, I’d start there at least, 30 minutes is probably good at 350 F.
  • Prep time - I bet it didn’t take her 15 minutes.
  • Should I have listed the Prep time before the Cook time? I’m thinking I should have. 🤔

See you next week.. something, something, happy Friday something else probably, attach my signature and that would’ve been it.

9FC2407A-5A25-498B-ADEC-C2B5A01E2943.jpeg

But did you see the contender @thebigsweed brought to the kitchen today? Are you kidding me?! I was impressed at the beginning when he pulled his own potatoes out of the earth, further extending my impression by adding the onions he pulled out of the earth. Eh, just go check it out, that stuff about the syrup, too, it’s all in there! Bravo, chef, way to introduce yourself to the kitchen! 👍🏿

I knew I didn’t stand a chance at #winning this week with just a casserole dish of broccoli and whatever else she put in there. What I didn’t anticipate was being embarrassed, sweed, I was thinking about you when I was at the gym, wait! That doesn’t sound right. I don’t mean I was thinking about you when I was at the gym, I mean I was thinking about your dish! Wait, that’s not much better, what I mean is, I was thinking of a way to not be embarrassed by your entry at the gym! ....🤔

That’s when I decided to stop by Viva Falafel on my way home and put together an actual contender. There’s a handful of falafel joints around us, this one is not only good but it’s also conveniently located. Then I thought...


source

source

I agree, that isn’t going to be good enough. That’s when I decided to grab a couple of pictures inside the falafel joint and incorporate some gif’s—my first attempt at it. My rationale on this one was if you can’t outfarm’em, you better try something else like add a #comedy tag and hope for the best. So, without further adieu, I’d like to bring that cover image back and say:

9FE88D33-EE48-4EE3-A55C-2116E581E59B.jpeg


source

On the breakfast menu this morning is two 4-packs of falafel, one for me, one for the lovely Pura Vida. iheart falafel, guilty! This joint has good falafel, perfectly seasoned chickpeas on the inside and nice and crispy on the outside. The shell is a little crispier at this location than probably any other falafel joint but...


source

source

source

After I snapped the cover image, I grabbed a few more, the first one is the chef rolling up the chickpeas prior to putting them in the deep fryer. I waited until he had his back to me and then I walked behind the counter to get the deep fryer picture, one of those ‘it’s better to ask for forgiveness than permission’ situations—it worked!

43333BFB-4B8E-4CC6-9534-D001BA9AF271.jpeg

DEE8C4F4-7180-4D46-9945-60329D0CAF82.jpeg

In less than 10 minutes and for only $10 I had an 8-pack of breakfast in my backpack for myself and @puravidville —her favorite food. That’s a...


source

source

I hadn’t even made it to the door of the apartment yet and I knew Pura Vida was conducting some culinary wizardry in the kitchen—I could smell it in the courtyard. Now I’m thinking...


source

Suddenly, a backpack full of falafel isn’t very...


source

I took it out of my backpack and set it up on the TV tray, they looked delicious, Pura Vida came in to check out what I was doing.


source

4F4260A2-540D-4CC5-BDF8-0A5DC0A9401D.jpeg
I just noticed they gave me 9... Surprise, again!

She’s not having any, 🤔 the surprise is on me. While I was gone she made these Rutabaga Hash Browns and filled herself up, she had to pass on the falafel. And, well, it’s best only if it’s eaten right away so... That meant...


source

source

This means I get all eight nine falafel to myself as well as the hash browns Pura Vida set aside for me and that, ladies and gentlemen, is a contender I didn’t anticipate.

0A77412A-FCCA-4558-8123-B3833681802E.jpeg


source

source

A2C0CD68-CCEC-46C6-806F-27143A356157.jpeg


source

Happy #fff, happy Food fight friday, I’m stuffed! I’ll see you on Monday, have a great weekend!

8E2291A7-1020-439A-82C9-30CD709E8812.jpeg

Click here for Thanksgiving.
3F1EE2D5-9835-4EE4-93F3-C6F57228C9FA.jpeg

Click here for Monday.
777260CA-241C-4763-845B-521C7B3CE361.jpeg

Sort:  

Thanks again for the mention. Have been away from the computer for a couple of days except for a quick look see here and there. Family visiting since Friday and the activity level when they are here keeps us very busy.
We must have played a Texas Hold-em card game for the better part of one night.
Good night, first victim my better half, took her out with a pair of pocket Aces, what a shame she had pocket Kings. Next to fall was my daughter in-law. From there it took several hours of trading chips with my two sons, but it was only a matter of time until I had every chip in my pile.
Big winner $5.00/person.
Five of us playing minus my buy in = $20.00, and that is only if the wife pays up. For some odd reason, because I was victorious she feels like she can retain her 5 bucks. 😢😢😢
If one of the kids won, she would have forked over a $20.00 and told them to keep the change.
What am I, chopped liver.
While on the topic of food, I would just like to thank both of you guys once again for the nudge. I can see that this might end up being one of the posts we thoroughly enjoy creating on a weekly basis.

Although it is a little strange to be thinking about me at all, especially when at the gym, all lathered up with sweat dripping from the tip of your nose, I get it, it's called a MAN CRUSH. While feeling a little flushed myself I have to admit, the feelings are mutual. 😍😍😍.
LOL to the both of you, yeah I guess I just came out of the closet.

Ha!! Eh, has anyone told you you’re awesome today?? Yeah, I’m not gonna be the one to do it, I was curious if you’ve been told that yet. 😉

I’m not making this up, #fff is my favorite Friday of the week, I haven’t missed a fight yet, 18 weeks and running. I’m glad you’re in @thebigsweed, I have a feeling you’ll enjoy it as much as I do. And I’m not even the chef here! ONLY reason I even started #fff was to get my wife involved. About 2 months after I was there she finally began participating. Well, she’s been winning competitions ever since and I still haven’t left! What ended up happening is Pura Vida and I will do a ‘Thursday night date night’ that was also instigated by #fff. Sometimes I use the date as the contender, sometimes I don’t, but it makes for a great excuse to go find a new restaurant.
(I’m working on @janton now)

I was so blown away with your post dude. I had no idea! Did you see the contender post @foodfightfriday put up? But really.. I’d love to camp out next door to you one weekend, what a great time! A California guy looks at what you did in awe. You’re blessed with a family at the dinner table sweed, whoever doesn’t enjoy a game of hold’em is a fruitcake! Take it from someone on their own, no siblings, parents, kids, none of that stuff... a family dinner together is a blessing! I don’t envy you, I just wish I could relate sometimes. 👍🏿

Happy Monday @thebigsweed. Eh, I don’t typically promote myself this much but I’ve been mentioning, to anyone who will listen, I’m putting out an article today about a dude name Rittz. He’s one of my favorite artists right now and I’m really proud of the piece. Please keep your eye out for me.

Cool, so that gym part didn’t weird you out or anything. “Whew!”

Loading...

Howdy sir dandays! lol. very funny stuff, that was a valiant effort trying to not get slaughtered so bad by thebigsweed's award winning, breath-taking, colossal fff mega post! Very valiant effort in creating your own great post. You guys are amazing.

I have never tried falafel, @dandays. Until your picture, I wasn't even sure what it looked like. And, it doesn't look like something for breakfast, either. :) I guess it has chickpeas, but what's the taste like? Any other seasonings? It feels like you had vegetables for breakfast, dude. :)

I just called it breakfast because it was early, I had actually already had a shake and a bowl of overnight oats.

Oh heck yeah there’s seasonings and depending where you go, they’re all a little different too. Each restaurant seasons theirs differently, rolls them a little different, fries them slightly different, it’s interesting. One little tweak in the ingredients or the size of the balls makes all of the difference.

Try it out next time you have a chance, I have no doubt you’ll enjoy it! Do you have a Greek restaurant near you? They always have falafel. Let me know what you think!

Thanks for stopping by @glenalbrethsen. Happy Friday! As usual, the pleasure’s all mine.

Hmmm not sure if i had one either but was just watching a ahow on falafels. Haven't had Greek in a minute, great idea. There's a awesome mom n pop greek place fairly close which is awesome! Literally grandma cooking lol. Maybe next Friday....

We live in a pretty small town, and the larger town next to us doesn't have one. I'm sure there would be some place within a half an hour, though. Would just need to find it. I guess it would just mean the falafel would have to be pretty good to go any great distance for it. :)

That sounds like my kind of adventure! Pura Vida and I do that often, if we fly into a new city or something, we set out for the local falafel joint. It’s hit and miss with Mediterranean restaurants but sometimes, I’d guess about 50/50 will have falafel on their menu.

And a trick we learned while making our own is they’re no good baked. They’re actually worse than that—quite terrible. Now that I know the difference, there’s this one restaurant near us with the worst falafel ever, now I know why.

Israeli restaurants as well have falafel, at least around here but we’re in Los Angeles. I’m anxious to hear about your first experience should you get the opportunity.

Mmmm looking good :]. I am not allowed ,hahaha 😂

Eh, good morning! Happy Friday (yesterday)! You like that part about not allowed huh? Yeah, until the dishes need cleaned, it’s best if injustvstaybout of her way.

I caught that response about you’ve never tried falafel. Oh dude I think you might be missing out! I really like it.. well, depending on where you go. I’ve had some that Isn’t that great, some that’s not good at all but some that’s spectacular! The 10’s always make up for the 2’s and 3’s.

A Greek restaurant ran by a couple of grandparents?! Man, I wish I could get a sample, I bet it’s bomb!

I’ve learned the Greek restaurants and anytime I meet a Syrian or an Israeli who own the restaurant, those cultures typically serve up first prize.

Thanks for stopping by @weirdheadaches!

Oh Dudeee 😁. You funny. Yeah check it out...

https://christaverna.com find me a vegan plate? I imagine that can be challenging at times? So owner use to own a pool biz and so did i. He partnered w 'mom n she is amazing. Im checking to see if they have falafels. Alls i see is 10s n 24s lol

Twista!! Eh, whoever don’t like Twista first thing in the am, don’t like girls—F’em!

Man I’m glad you dropped this video off with me, bro you gotta come check me out on Monday, I’m releasing an article on Rittz. I’ve been working on it for about 10 days now, I think it’s ready to go, I may just do a few more edits but if you can remember to stop by, I know you’re gonna love it!

Happy Saturday to you and yours, I hope this weekend is a bar setter for ya’all.

edit interesting... I didn’t see any falafel in the images at the restaurant. I’d be pretty surprised if they don’t have some. That menu, though, my goodness! I’d have a tough time not stopping by there a couple of times a week.

Lol you crack me up tehe! No girls, what!? Lol. I like twista, especially heart beat (putting on after this comment. Can be like a love it or hate it. Def will check out Rittz, pls send me a reminder if you remember to remind me about Ritts ruff. 👁 (i need more emojis but that will do lol)

Is that your clothing line? Ritts link?

Laugh out loud, no hell no! Haha. That’s Rittz’ stuff, that big red headed Afro having dude. I just sent you a link so you’d have a pre introduction to who I’ll be writing about on Monday.

Who doesn't like a good triangle love story of a man, his falavels, and a broccoli.

Nice to hear from you again, Ed!

Thanks for saying hello, if you’re free on Monday I’m releasing a piece on possibly my favorite rapper these days: Rittz. I’m sofa king proud of it I almost released the frikkin thing yesterday!

With all you’ve got going on in your productive career, this may be a refreshing 3 minute intermission. I know I use your music all of the time when I need an intermission, maybe I could return the favor flavor.

Thanks a lot for stopping by @edprivat! It’s always a pleasure hearing from you. Congratulations on all of your success around here, too, dude. Much deserved.

Good luck in Round 18 of
Food Fight Friday
May your contender survive and not be placed in a permanent food coma.
125BBBF8-726F-41EA-BB39-4F1622EE09F8.gif

I love falafel, and those look awesome

Hey happy Friday, it’s always a pleasure running into you. We’re big fans of falafel, it makes it easy each time we go to a new city finding somewhere to eat. Some is better than other and very few are bomb! But when they are, oh heck ya.

Congratulations on all of the attention you’re catching @gguy773, your meals are all deserving, that Baked And Curried you did today, with the eggpl aubergine ..oh man!!

Thanks for stopping by @gguy773.

Cool, thanks dandays

Hi @dandays, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @puravidville doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @puravidaville ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

You’re the best @checky, that’s exactly what I meant. It’s cool, I mis aplel spoil spell all kinds of stuff.

Congratulations @dandays! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89