Somewhere in Africa, sand and ashes are being used in place of sanitary pad

in #feminism6 years ago

I am a Nigerian. I am a woman. I live in Nigeria. And this doesn't sound pleasant to the ears. The sad reality is that it's happening even in 2018. This is one of the effects of Boko Haram insurgency in Borno state, northern Nigeria. Here's the link to the news

nature-3278356_640.jpg
Source

This is both unhealthy and unhygienic. Just imagine the trauma this people are going through. First they were displaced from their family as a result of insurgency, and now they are fighting to survive in a critical circumstance.

I am sad for these women. I am sad for the people in northern Nigeria. And I am sad for my country, Nigeria. It's unfortunate that my country is going through this phase at this point in time as a result of poor leadership. I even heard that the President was given a red carpet treatment when he visited this part of the country. What a shame and misplaced priority.

The point of this post is not to point fingers or lay accusations. I just want to create awareness of the reality of our world today.

As a woman, remember these things the next time you're tempted to take your life for granted.

Remember that there are some women who have it worst than you. Remember to be grateful for who you are and where you are.

Remember the women in Borno. Remember what they are going through every day just to survive. Also remember that they would have easily swapped places with you even if it is to just have access to sanitary pads which is the least of your worries.

Always remember that somewhere in Africa, sand and ashes are being used in place of sanitary pads in 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82