You are not just a woman

in #feminism6 years ago (edited)
Often times, I over-react whenever I hear things which are very unpleasant for my ears mainly because it does not go with how I perceive some things in life.

One of the things that pisses me off is how some people in the society view women. They tend to look it as if it is a subject under a microscope where its features and every movement of will be viewed and scrutinize.

No matter how I try to reason out to myself that such beliefs exist because one culture varies from another, I still raise my brows unconsciously. I do not wish to impose my own beliefs, and I also think that the same thing should be done with the other party.

I do not wish to criticize men but rather provide an input as to why such actions should not be tolerated. To add, I would also love to counter some views which are imposed by some women. These words of mine are in line with humanism. I wanted every individual to be given importance regardless to their traits and needs.


Body Shaming

I often saw posts about women being ridiculed or shamed because of their physical appearance. What is wrong with wearing bikinis then? I mean do women who have lean bodies are the ones who have the right to flaunt it in public? Are women with great physical attributes are allowed to do so? No offense to women who has the ideal built, but I just find this view very wrong.

What is worse is that most men and even would even love to make fun of someone else's photo sonline. They tend to have fun poking on someone else's body as if theirs is pefect.

The Standard of Being a Woman

You are a woman so you shoulf know how to take care of your household. You should know how to cook well and take care of your kids. Your house should be organized , says the crappy society who wants to dictate the social structure.


I really hate it whenever I see posts like that over social media. Does it really make me a less of a woman if I tend to burn almost everything I cook? I swear on my sister's grace, I did everything I could but I just could not have the sparkle inside the kitchen.


I do believe that there is no such standard to call a woman as a woman. I do not see any reason why the society should continue to dictate the things we should do, rather doing great on what we think.


You are a woman of substance. You are a woman regardless of your structure. You are a woman and you deserve to be praised and be given importance. You are a woman and you are more than what you think you are.


Simple illustrations are made by @gailbelga. If you wish to add your insights, feel free to comment below.
Sort:  

I apologize in advance, I am a man, I understand what you mean, men who like you say there really are even very many, but not all men are like that, I myself really appreciate women because I think a woman is a hero, she is a mother, if there is no woman then there is no mother and no one gave birth to me.

I am a woman and I thank man like you. Keep shininh sir and being a role model.

Wow awesome post I really like your content. And you have a awesome PHOTOGRAPHY(art).

Oh thaaaank you.

welcome, its my pleasure.

I think ultimately its up to us how society views us as an individual because we can't instantly change how society views women.
We can go above and beyond and we're awesome!

I like this one a lot

We can go above and beyond and we're awesome!

I agree with you. Just because we don't fit, to the standard of beauty the human society impose, makes us less a woman. We're a woman regardless of that. I hope society would stop giving standards to what a woman should be.

Indeed. Standards are just crappy excuses to insult someone. I feel awful.

I totally agree. We deserve love and respect equally to men.

indeed! Let us fill this world with love, care, and respect.

ikaw ay isang talentadong pinay ;)

Naku napakaraming salamat po sir. 😊

Your "simple illustrations" are gorgeous! And I'm also not the best in the kitchen, so I let the men cook instead =p

Thank you! I will also let my "man" in case ( I will have one). I suck bigtime in the kitchen.

Hahahahaha you're welcome!

sorry I do not mean to compare let alone insult, a man will lust if he sees a woman displaying her body,from there abuse and humiliation as we often see in the news, therefore we are Muslim is recommended for women to cover her private parts and not to show her body to other men except her husband, all that just to avoid immoral.

The entry does not only revolve of women wanting to expose their body. It has more than exposing her body but her ideals as an individual which makes a unique human being. Pertaining to what you share, I understand your culture particular people living in Middle East and North Africa.

we do that because in our religion it is strongly recommended and it is written in al-quran as our guidebook.

beautiful artwork

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34