Feathered Friday- Mourning Dove Molting

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

I have always seen two pairs of Mourning Doves hanging around my backyard on the ground under my bird feeders and on the telephone wires. I was happy to see three pairs this year. I was also happy to see this dove during its molting process.

For mourning doves, their molting process takes approximately 4 months to complete. It begins with their primary flight feathers and their tail, then their secondary flight feathers, followed by the feathers that cover the main body and wings. The feathers around the neck and head are the last ones to go.

This is a different mourning dove hanging out on a wire. I like how his photo turned out because it look like a silhouette.

#featheredfriday by @melinda010100

All photos are my own.

Information Source: thedovecotespot.com

Thanks for stopping by!

Are you looking for a caring community where you creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Than head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Wonderful photos of the doves! They must be happy living in your neighborhood! Thanks for sharing them with #featheredfriday!
!Tip

Thanks Melinda and thanks for the tip. So sorry for the late reply. My cat has been very sick but is finally improving.

🎁 Hi @whatisnew! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

Check out @melinda010100 blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

@whatisnew I have doves in my driveway either coming or going they will wait till I am almost to them then they will fly a few yards, land, wait for me to get close then they fly and land we do this down the entire driveway.

They are greeting you. Love it! : )
So sorry for the late reply. My cat has been very sick and he is finally responding to his meds now.

@whatisnew no worries, family pets come first, my daughter just had to have one of hers put to sleep, she was 10 years old and stopped eating and peeing, they took a liter of fluid off her stomach and the vet said it was only to make her feel better but would build back up. It was difficult but the right thing to do. I hope and pray your kitty feels better.

Aw, I feel so bad for your daughter and her kitty. But we know when to end their suffering. Mine is 15 years old and I just have to take it one day at a time. I will know when it is time since there is nothing else that can be done for him.
My sister-in-law has been in the hospital for the past month and she almost died but thankfully she is finally on the road to a slow recovery. Still in the hospital but that is where she needs to be right now. It has been a terrible 5 weeks and that is why I haven;t been doing freewrites or posting much of anything, Thanks so much for understanding and for your thoughts and prayers @myjob!

@whatisnew Prayers for your sister-n-law, may she get to go home soon. When it comes time to say goodbye to a pet is the hardest thing to do but knowing it is the right thing helps. You could have many more years, our kitty was 21 when she had a stroke, we had to say goodbye, I think she would not of had the stroke if we had not just lost her buddy, our rottweiler. She had it 3 weeks after we lost him then 2 months later we lost our last pet, a dachshund the three of them were very much an odd trio.

Thanks so much for your prayers @myjob! I am hoping to have many more years with my cat but I was told that we just have to take it one day at a time. We think he had a stroke because he tilts his head to the left now. Your kitty lived a really long life at 21. So sad that all went so close together. When my kids were young we had a trio of a cat and 2 dogs, and the same thing happened with them. One dog died first, then the 2nd dog and then our cat. We always said that the last 2 died of a broken heart.

Lovely birb

Thank you and thanks for stopping by. : )
I am so sorry for the late reply. My cat has been very sick but he is finally doing better now.

No problem.
Don't worry about it, glad to hear your kitty is doing better now!

Thanks so much! : )

They are so graceful looking...

They are one of my favorite birds.
Sorry for the late reply. Pachino has been very sick since last weekend and I thought I was going to have to put him down. He is finally responding to his meds and getting better, and I couldn't be happier! : ) : ) : )
I will be doing a post about it.

Oh boy always something to worry about ...

That moulting process is too long, a shotgun would do it in about a half second! Really good photos there Butterfly and howdy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28