American RobinsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

Hello Steemians

Thanks to @keithboone for #featheredfriday

The American Robin, we welcome every year as a sign
Spring is coming.
The largest of the thrush family, their easy to
recognise colours make it one of the first....
DSC_0762.JPG
birds that children learn to identify.
They are found throughout most of
North America.
An interesting fact, they can have up to...

DSC_0749.JPG

three broods in one season, and a breeding
population of 310 million.

Upvote!!.gif

Sort:  

I love your informative posts and great photos! We have a lot of robins here right now. I'm seeing them 40 and 50 at a time filling the tree branches. They are a sign of Spring but the weather has been slow to keep pace...

Thanks very much for sharing with Feathered Friday! Voted & resteemed :-)

Thanks! It is fun and I learn a lot while doing it...
I am seeing more and more of the robins the last few days, got some good shots of tundra swans today, heading north.

Cool... maybe you can show us the Swans next time?

Yes, that is the plan, I only get to see them during migrations, passing through, so was an exciting day..lol

Nice. Slightly surprised they look so different from their European brethren.

Posted using Partiko Android

I had a flock of at least 50 out in my yard for a while yesterday. They didn't seem to mind all the snow, and were soon on their way again. A good sign!

I have seen them throughout the winter, but many more this week, that's good because I was running out of birds to photograph...lol

What, you are tired of the chickadee cardinal bluejay rotation? It will be so wonderful to have all the summertime birds returning.

You're seeing robins already? That's pretty amazing. I still have 4' of snow on my lawn in places.

There are some that hang around all winter. Seeing large groups lately... saw some Tundra swans yesterday..

Posted using Partiko iOS

I guess it's just that little bit warmer where you are. I have never seen wild swans but I'm pretty used to seeing the tame ones since they have flocks in Ottawa and Stratford.

Updraft from the escarpment, they follow it north.. a big migration corridor here.. a number of groups do bird counts... I saw prob 10,000 snow geese passing through one day..

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's interesting and it makes sense.

I saw them here in Florida last week, have they made it all the way up to Canada already? ;)

Haha.. yes all the way here.. a few stay all winter, people feeding them prob helps them a lot... just last few days seeing large groups.. I actually really enjoy Winter... but wish it was 3-4 weeks shorter... lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice and pretty color Robin bird photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85