Starting a FaststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #fasting5 years ago (edited)

DSC_7059.JPG

I typically intermittent fast daily, I've done it for so long already that it has become a habit and I don't really need to put any cognitive effort or willpower to it. Typically I start eating in afternoon and might have my latest bite around 8-11 pm. So, usually a somewhat 16 hours of non-eating followed with 8 hour eating window.

But the longest I've been without food has probably been only 36 hours when I prepared for an eating challenge, and I've wanted to try a prolonged fast for a while. I reckoned now is a good timing because I don't (yet) have a job so I can do it at home at peace.

I'm planning to do a full 3-day+ water fast, so through Wednesday, Thursday, Friday I will not eat anything and will drink only water (maybe plain tea is ok too?). Having ate my last meal this evening (Tuesday) at 7 pm, it will be close to 96 hours until Saturday noon when I will eat the next time, so technically 4 days.

And just to add a bit of scientific method into this, I will weigh myself now (3 hours after the last meal) and then again in Saturday before eating to see the difference.

Starting weight: 69.9 (kg)

Height: 175-ish (cm)

I actually gained a few kilos on the trip to Krakow, Steemfest, and during the shenanigans elsewhere in Europe, because I weighed about 65 kg sometime before the trip. And it figures, because whenever I was in an eat-everything-you-can place, I really ate everything I could. Also, I ate a lot of chocolate and holidays were also recently. All things considered, it is safe to say that most of the weight gain is fat even though I walked quite a bit – it probably can't result with 5 kg of muscle gain in 50 days. Well, I did one short actual workout, too, but not much else.

DSC_7098.JPG
Yeah, I like that stuff.

Now, dropping weight isn't really the agenda behind doing this, because I'm still in totally healthy weight. Rather, I'm interested in the mental side of things. Well, it is said that it also cleanses the system (especially the digestive one) – I could imagine there's some truth to that, but won't swear to it, because I'm not an expert. But going to the fast with bit more bulk goes well, because I can be assured I will drop nowhere near unhealthy digits.

I was thinking I might do some video during the fast describing the experience and probably just ramble about stuff. Would you be interested? If so, let me know in the comments, the more people are interested, the more likely I will make some video about it.

Sort:  

Fasting has a lot of great health benefits. For some time there were two days a week I did not eat. I should pick that up again.

Yes please; I would totally watch your rambling videos. Hydraulic Press Channel gave me an undying love for hearing Finnish people talk about anything. The accent is absolutely musical. And it would be cool to see you explaining your experience with facial expressions and body language; you write very well, but much of that is lost in the written word no matter who is writing.

Maybe I will do a video tomorrow :D

Hydraulic Press Channel gave me an undying love for hearing Finnish people talk about anything. The accent is absolutely musical.

It's funny, we hate our own accent, haha!

Haha even when an adventure hasn’t found you, you go and create one!

That is a great last meal right there. I am wondering if there will be some hunger inspired blogs near the end of it or maybe you will go right insane!

Good luck bro!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha even when an adventure hasn’t found you, you go and create one!

If there's no physical place to explore at least I can explore my own psyche and body :D

That is a great last meal right there.

Oh, the burger wasn't actually my last meal, just a picture that fit the theme :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I don’t think I’d be able to last for even a one day fast...
Best of luck. It will definitely take some willpower!

Best of luck. It will definitely take some willpower!

Thank you. Probably takes some effort to resist eating, but will see how it goes.

70 Kg does not look so much for your height but... I support you ;-)

Yeah, I'm a lean guy, but was even leaner, so it'll be alright :P

Hehehe! You have and athletic constitution as myself

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wished there was a 'wow' reaction when I saw the title :P
Good luck! I'm really curious to see how this goes ;) I don't know if I could do that for three days.

Good luck! I'm really curious to see how this goes ;)

Thanks Honey, it'll be interesting, I think :)

I wished there was a 'wow' reaction when I saw the title :P

Wow reaction? By whom, what? I didn't understand :D

Oh, I just meant I was surprised, knowing how much you like food, that is all :)

That makes sense. Well, sometimes you have to take a break from the intense relationships and return with an even stronger bond :D

I think @honeydue meant like the emoji reactions available on other social media platforms, but that is just an educated guess.

Probably. But using them with computer is just too much copy-paste work, unless there's some plug in that shows a list of them whilst writing 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.116 which ranks you at #3237 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 3227).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 248 contributions, your post is ranked at #48.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This eating competition would make sense o. Provided it would enter my stomach, no problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09