Fasting Journal : Seven day fast complete.

in #fasting6 years ago

I broke my fast at 164.5 hours, so I'm claiming that to be seven days. I was actually aiming for 165, but my situation came together a little early and I don't care.

I had some scrambled eggs with bone broth and a little raw fermented sheep cheese, followed by a steak with red sauerkraut and olives.

Then I fell into a deep sleep. Just woke up so I slept for about an hour. Felt really good.

What I failed to journal along this time was the various readings I took as I was fasting, because they were boring and uniform. My ketones (urine) were very high, my blood pressure and heart rate were mostly stable, and I lost less than a pound every day. Between IF and longer fasting I have lost 40 lbs since March 15th. That averages about a pound every three days, which is a perfect amount, to my understanding.

The fact that I only lost 5 pounds during this fast is attributable to the ketogenic intermittent fasting diet I was already using. Any copious "water weight" I might have otherwise lost was already taken care of before I started this fast. The simple math is 3500 calories per pound of fat times 5 pounds is 17500 divided by 7 days is 2500 calories of fat I burned each day. As the basal metabolic rate I calculate for myself is very close to 2500 calories a day, this makes perfect sense.

I did not do any significant exercise, in fact I lay in bed as much as I could, mostly due to the BPPV vertigo which I discussed previously. But since this fast was really supposed to be about autophagy, I'm 100% OK with that.

Now I'm going to do a week of 20/4 IF, and I might do another week fast after that. I'm still considering things. It was a good experience for me, even if it was sometimes uncomfortable due to other issues.


All images from pixabay or the original author unless otherwise noted.
Please try my Future History stories - Enmity
And my How to be a bachelor series

Sort:  

Why not do juice fast? Over long period as your organs will maintain healthy levels of nutrients. But will flush everything out over time.

Interesting read though. I'm suspecting fast is one of dual purpose.

I've done juice fasting before, but it's not suitable for me now.

Because most juice fasting is high sugar/carbs which defeats the purpose of restoring insulin sensitivity, or has protein which defeats the purpose of autophagy. To restore insulin sensitivity and stimulate autophagy, the consumption and restoration of cells, you have to be zero carbohydrate, zero protein.

Thanks! Learned something! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79