Fasting Journal : Off diet meal addendum

in #fasting5 years ago

Social issues are my constant downfall. Two of the older ladies in my building invited me to a lunch today that they made themselves particularly for me. I had mentioned how much I liked chili but I couldn't have it because, as I said for their simple understanding, "It has too much sugar and artificial ingredients".

So it was all made from scratch-ish. They promised me they didn't add any sugar, and I didn't have the heart (or endurance) to tell these 80 year old women that beans are carbs and carbs are sugar. And it was really good. Fresh stewed tomatoes, three types of beans and store-bought ground beef. It was even spicy enough for me although I didn't ask what it was spiced with. I politely turned down the crackers and "whole wheat bread" they tried to supplement me with, as well as the offer of pie, and I left after about an hour.

Got home and took my Blood Glucose and it was 131. My regular non-fasting BG is usually rock steady at 80. It's been another 45 minutes, let me just take my BG again. 138 - that's a little disappointing. It's not bad, but I was hoping I had gained a lot of insulin sensitivity, which would send my BG back to normal faster.

Sort:  

If you'd supplemented the meal with a bunch of fat, do you think that might have toned down the blood glucose a bit? Cos it sounds like there wasn't much fat, if any, in the meal.

Perhaps, but what I did instead was a set of my exercises. I don't imagine any real harm was done.

Ahh such sweet little old ladies, they just don't understand XD

Aaaahhh I hope your blood glucose has stabilised by now D:

I know! They probably worked on it for two days and I know they planned it because one of them asked me a couple of days ago what time I ate lunch and if I was going to be around on Friday. How can anyone turn that down? The ladies here love me for reasons unknown.

Let me check. It's time for my regular nighttime reading, and I did have my salad about 1.5 hours ago... So 82, about where it should be. That's 20 below "normal" in US measurements.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36