Fashion Week Hits Mickey's Toontown: Opening Ceremony x Disney

in #fashion-week6 years ago

Few things make me as happy as a trip to Disney Land.


disneyland-gallery00.jpg
credit

The anticipation leading up to going The Most Magical Place on Earth is always excruciating painful but, really, it’s all things Disney that have always done it for me. Even in my old age Disneyland, old movies, cartoons, toys, books - all of it remind me of another time.

A time of innocence.

I’ve had this conversation a few times with friends about how we really cling to things like Disney, Hello Kitty (my two favorites) and other kitschy characters of years past - to remind us of another time. A time before whatever difficulties or hardships really started to chip away at what made us youthful and carefree.

I’m sure quite a few of us can actually pinpoint these critical moments that forced us to grow in certain ways or opened up our eyes and minds to more mature thinking and experiences. We weren’t always ready for these moments but, sometimes they happened without our control or knowledge. Which is why I’m such a big advocator for hanging onto your innocence/youth for as long as possible.

With that being said, at this point in my life what gets me as excited as realizing on a Friday night in 1998 that Disney’s One Saturday Morning on ABC would be on the following day? Fashion. Quite obviously all things fashion from my recently posted content.

Disney_Afternoon.jpg
Opening Ceremony debuted their recent collaboration with Disney at the Disneyland theme park in California. In arguably the besttttt section of the park, Mickey's Toontown. The charge was led by none other than the Mouse himself.

Screen Shot 2018-03-14 at 10.45.27 AM.png
all show images credited to Getty

Opening Ceremony's signature edgy streetwear style was prominent throughout the collection. Using an array of fabrics in delicate silks, denim, poplin, taffeta and more.


Screen Shot 2018-03-14 at 10.59.39 AM.png

Any type of glittering under eye moment isn't lost on me! As @fashionphotos knows!


Screen Shot 2018-03-14 at 11.02.55 AM.png

I value accessories as much as I value clothing so all of the "ugly" sneakers, fluffy accessories and heavy duty jewelry is speaking to my heart.


Screen Shot 2018-03-14 at 11.11.16 AM.png

572493245a10803b7b6a9b586e3d-1-1.jpg


Disney has been known to create collections with brands such as Coach, Dooney & Burke, Kate Spade and many others. Humberto Leon and Carol Lim of Opening Ceremony have really taken the torch a step further with their collaboration – one that both honors the Disney legacy (I mean look at all of those vintage prints!) and embraces the current trends of the times. I am sure this collection will sell out far before I am able to scrape together the pennies for a pair of those amazing sneakers and the signature varsity jacket OC is known for.

#openingceremony #accessories #california #disney #shoes

Sort:  

I really like those balloon pants and the pajama looks😂.

Pajama looks are my life <3 My roommate Mallory exclusively picks out pajama-esque things for me these days haha

Congratulations @chandralm! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @chandralm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86