@FARMS: Save on fertilizer. How to Make our compost at home.

in #farms6 years ago (edited)
Greetings to my beloved friends of farms, 22 days ago I made a post where I talked about the process to clean my crop Bananas at home, this activity allowed me to obtain a product that within a couple of months I could use as a fertilizer for my plants in substitution of chemical fertilizers, it is Compost, or mulch.

P1020652.JPGBy @dulce85

For those who do not know what compost is, this can be defined as a type of natural fertilizer created from the action of bacteria, fungi and worms on organic or biological waste from your home (food remains, dried plants, etc.) , used in agriculture and gardening to help conserve and improve the fertility of the earth and that have a favorable effect on the biotic equilibrium of the soil.

P1020490.JPGBy @dulce85

P1020653.JPGBy @dulce85

And they will ask, how did I do it? Well, once we finished cleaning the garden, we collected all the brush, grass and leaves, which are materials of rapid decomposition, and piled them up, constructing several piles to subject them to a controlled biological process of oxidation called composting. In this biological process intervene the microbial population as they are the Bacteria, Actomycetes, and Fungi that are the responsible of 95% of the activity of the composting.

P1020659.JPGBy @dulce85

P1020654.JPGBy @dulce85

For this, I chose several strategic points of the patio, which are outdoors, where they receive sun, shade and rainwater, which helps the production of fungal bacteria, protozoa and microorganisms and these accelerate the decomposition of organic matter.

P1020494.JPGBy @dulce85

P1020490.JPGBy @dulce85

Once a week, with a rake I move all the ingredients of the compost, to ventilate the materials and so that all the elements are integrated, fortunately it has rained frequently, in case it has not rained it is necessary to add small portions of water to keep them moist this will make the decomposition effective and fast.

P1020502.JPGBy @dulce85

As I mentioned at the beginning of the post, my compost is still fresh and semi-decomposed, it has a few weeks and it is not yet able to join the nutrient cycle of the earth or plants, the presence of earthworms is still not observed. organic remains are drying, it has a homogeneous structure, a pleasant smell, but it is not decomposed in its entirety.

P1020491.JPGBy @dulce85

P1020498.JPGBy @dulce85

I have done it on other occasions and it has taken almost 8 months for it to have a practically black color and be totally decomposed.

Preparing our own compost allows us to avoid expenses in the acquisition of fertilizer and in the boat and garbage collection. It contributes to reduce pollution and improves the health of the land and plants. What else can we order?

Go ahead and prepare your own compost.

Sort:  

We find thia post very helpful and useful to the community and we are pleased with this publication, beautiful writen.

Thanks for sharing

SteemChurch Farm (@farms)

Thanks for the procedures you used. If l may ask @dulce85 , will you apply it on your bananas or have plans of adding few crops in your farm ?

Hello my friend @loso, as it is a compost of natural origin I will apply it in my banana plants, the plants that I have in my garden and soon I will plant aji and aubergines and in them I will also use it. I have used it before and it has really given me good results, but to achieve this it is necessary to devote time and care so that the organic matter decomposes completely and will be a top quality fertilizer, and best of all, it is free.

Gotcha😉. I bet you that you gonna have more yields with the application of your homemade compost.

Congratulations @dulce85! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28