Why buy EOS with ETH?

in #faq7 years ago

I just noticed that after HF19 we can't purchase STEEM with btc or eth from this website, I think it was even possible to get it with Bitshares from the wallet page but I'm not sure. The button towards the upper right corner is now gone...

But that's not really what I'm writing this post for, instead I want to know why EOS will be sold for ETH. I don't want to be associated with ETH, is there no way to avoid it as long as I'm using Steemit or EOS or Larimer products? What am I missing? Why can't we buy with Steem or BTC or even Bitshares? Why ETH and not ETC?

I don't want to help Microsoft and JP Morgan's monopoly by purchasing Ethereum, does anyone know why Dan has chosen this method? I'm not sure I want to support EOS if I'm going to be forced to support banks in the process.

Sort:  

Yep, with you 100%. I tried to convince Dan to fund with STEEM and BTS, but too many ETH whales are funding EOS.

Worst part is a I sold a bunch of BTS and STEEM to buy ETH at $350 - 375 in order to be positioned for this ICO. What a burn, not cool at all.

Thanks @tommycordero for giving a voice to my feelings too.

I would need some more info/proff on that, but if that's the reason they are going with ETH I feel even more unconfortable to invest in this project. I belive very much in the potencial of EOS and in the team behind it, but cannot put my money when the decisions are made thinking what is best for big investors instead of what is best for the project itself. The same thing ETH did on the DAO's fork, btw.

Really sad news.

So this is an insider thing and unrelated to any actual merit ETH may have?
How disappointing if what you are saying is true!

Sorry to hear about the burn, I wouldn't be happy either. I don't want to buy any ETH and a project built upon it or crowdfunded exclusively with it is very dangerous in my opinion. Why not build great things with ETH as opposed trying to sell any idea remotely associated to crypto for ETH?

Yea. Im staying away. I can't buy eos but how do people expect it to compete with ethereum if its helping ethereum thrive.

I think I will keep some distance too unless this situation can be clarified. I really see no reason why it would be done like this.

Its best to stay away. We'll see what jappens with time. We are already being informed so we are not in a bad position to jump in of we see its potential at a later time.

Yes, it is taught that at first I must exchange my bitcoin for the etherium, and only then buy EOS. Uncomfortable.

Not just uncomfortable. As you can see people are already losing money buying Ethereum to get EOS.

How do Microsoft Microsoft JP have a monopoly on ETH? Excuse my naivety.

I never said Microsoft and JP have a monopoly on ETH, but they do have a monopoly and I believe they are looking to maintain it through ETH. http://fortune.com/2017/02/28/ethereum-jpmorgan-microsoft-alliance/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25