What to do when you only have 100 fans

in #fanbase6 years ago

If you have 100 fans give them all your love. 20 000 likes/followers might make you look better or feel better for now, but at the end of the day it's all down to engagement. Companies don't care who have the most followers or likes anymore. You can buy 1 million of those very cheaply, but they will catch you out. It's all about engagement.

I silently call bullshit when I see an account rolling around with 20K likes/followers and constantly getting one or two likes per post with zero engagement in the comments section. Let's think this through... Bearing in mind the Facebook algorithm kicks in when they post so their post won't reach all 20K people and not all their fans are online at the same time, how can you only have one like on your post with zero comments. Super fishy. Sounds like fake accounts or bots to me.

Some backdoor companies tried to work past this by creating commenting bots that will populate the comments section for you for a monthly fee with generic comments like "nice one" "well done" "(insert assorted emojis)". This is also easy to spot as there is no depth to the dialog in the comments. Stay away from these. It's like buying 100 teddy bears and inviting them out for coffee. Zero engagement.

Inflating your social media status like that may make you feel better in the interim, but the feeling passes. Also, you might be fooling some people, but I guarantee that the people you're trying to impress won't be falling for it.

The main goal should be to build solid relationships with people you come into contact with. Do your best to engage with people on their pages, DMs, email and through text messages. It's hard work, but you build true fans that way.

comment on this post if you'd like me to go more in depth about knowing which relationships to build and how to build them. Please share this with a friend or musician who may benefit. There's a lot of misinformation out there. If you believe what you've read, teach another person.

Sort:  

I absolutely agree with the importance of actual genuine engagement in the comment section. I have commented my honest, sincere thoughts on several dozens of posts and often times don't even receive a reply much less an upvote for taking the time out to comment on their content. It shows a lack of concern for the material if you cannot engage with your audience and it makes me think the person is only posting in hopes of how much money they may generate than actually reaching out to their audience and building relationships that will keep a follower coming back to read more content and show support. I know how much time I have invested here and so does the blockchain, those who want to keep a substantial fan base need to recognize that fact.

This is the way of the world though. Very few people actually dive into the comments section and ACTUALLY engage. I'm all about engagement whether it be here or on FB or any other platform. I also wish people would reciprocate with the authenticity because if they don't then you might as well drop a generic "great post" and keep it moving. Thanks for the comment.

Once again, I agree! In my opinion, one of the best ways to build an audience is to engage and share ideas, thoughts, suggestions, etcetera. I think here though the generic comments could have the potential to be flagged as "spam" by some of the more affluent and serious content creators so I do what I can to show the author that I appreciated his or her work, and share valuable, yet sensible feedback.

Thank goodness for that. I'm really still just learning this platform so that's reassuring.

Same here! I read a lot of the content for new comers, and I still think I have a great deal to learn, while at the same time I'm trying to help other people become acquainted with the site, and the benefits of block chain economies and cryptocurrencies. I think after a while we will both have a greater understanding so that we can help build the community to an even greater significance; that's my hope for time spent here, not just profit. I find value in decentralized economies, transparency, open source information, peer to peer networking, and think Steemit has the potential to help others become more financially free. Teaching young people these ideas will help them decades from now as the block chain technology advances and changes the infrastructures of internet and business. I'm really excited to be a part of this innovative community, especially at a time when cryptocurrencies are growing ever more popular from individuals exchanging with one another and promoting the message of a decentralized ecosystem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25