You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Up in Foster Care.......... And How it Effects Your Relationships.

in #familyprotection7 years ago (edited)

I was homeless on the streets at 15, because it was better than being in care, the abuse that happens in foster care is usually much worse than being on the streets. Kids here get trafficed for sex, and many end up dead or go missing.

What I went through, and every single person I know who's ever been in foster went through you would not wish on your worst enemy, whatever country you grew up in.

Sort:  

It's interesting that there is this general belief that what happens in other countries doesn't happen in western countries. The west has successfully painted a picture of freedom, wealth and abundance, whilest hiding the corruption underneath.

Yes, we like our Potemkin villages here. We like to clean up our streets by criminalizing homelessness. They are pushed into sewer tunnels! My city keeps spending more on law enforcememt to control the behavior of homeless folks, rather than setting up a dignified shelter, rehab, etc. And neighboring towns view San Bernardino as their human trashcan, and bus their homeless to us. The LA Times did a huge series on how low San Bernardino has sunk, with runaway teens trapped in prostitution on Baseline Ave. It is overwhelming trying to find solutions in one city here, and it is a globalism-caused problem! I am working on growing more food to have surplus to give away.

The more I learn the more I see that the objective is to widen that divide between the rich and poor. I hope you can make a bit of difference with excess food.

I'm very sorry about what happened to you and yes you're right, I wouldn't wish homelessness, sickness, abuse, drug addiction on my worst enemy, but please remember that it could have been a lot worse. I apologize if I accidentally offended you.That was not the intent of the comment. I was simply trying to make you feel better about your past that is all. I never went to foster care so I wouldn't know what that feels like and you're right about the country thing. I should have been less ignorant in my comment. :)

You have overcome ignorance, now you are wise to the fact that North America has a miserable underbelly. Worldwide, the powers that shouldnt be spit on regular people. I hope we can unite and build new compassionate societies, like what we are trying to do here on Steemit. I am very glad to meet you and discuss this with you on here, it is amazing and inspiring to share how life is across the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65144.58
ETH 2627.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83