"Memories on the mountain" - How to add value to family pictures (17 Pics)

in #family5 years ago

"When i think of how to make a picture better... I think: attach memories to them."

TRAIL BLAZING

Just met them and a few minutes later I was taking them up a mountainside that didn't even have a trail.
Of course the first group in a week full of photoshoots that I took to this hard of location would be the first group with two girls to wear high heals (boot heals) to my photoshoots up in the mountains.... as far as I'm concerend... All the better.

I don't really plan it out far in advance... I know this area super well and I have places for almost every light. For random reasons we ended up down in an area i haven't taken any of the other families and randomly some little section of the hillside was in the perfect light and not too far from a pull off. When I say i don't plan in advance it means... i know what to do and where I can go... but I LOVE letting beautiful randomness happen.

"Plan it out and then let the better plan maker from above take control."

WHAT IS MEMORABLE?

When I think of how to make a picture better I think memories... when i think memories I think of a shared experience that is hard and unexpected. And to be honest it takes the right people most of the time and sometimes just the right moment to allow memories to stick.

I was thrilled not just by the location... but by the prospect of going somewhere a little crazy.
Giving them something to talk about... to laugh about... to put a marking pin on the pictures and attach memories to them.

Getting up the hill, and in hills and nice clothes is super random.

BREAKING EXPECTATIONS

The moment I got out of the car I heard the eldest child say something to her sibling like "family pictures are fake moments, they're not really real"

That was probably what got me going. I mean in all honestly many family pictures are just stand here and let's get them done (sometimes that's actually what's needed) ... but not these shots. These were documented moments of an experience. The hike wasn't far and the experience wasn't actually all that long... but this was a THING... A moment... and I think it was random and fun and perhaps even memorable.

MEMORIES + PORTRAITS

Sure these pictures could have been taken a dozen different and perhaps easier places on the mountain... but i love thinking about how they'll not just like the nice portraits but they'll even be able to tell a story... even if the story is "that crazy photographer that made us walk up the side of a hill"

THANKS FOR THE CONNECTIONS

I thank old acquaintances for giving a solid recommendation and suggesting Rebecca search me out and make pictures happen... she drove her kids a long way on a Saturday to get the pictures done. She planned it out for weeks and was committed and I'm impressed.

What a lovely family she has and how glad she found me and made the pictures happen
What a great and fun experience and I it's fine if you guys curse my name for making you walk up the side of a hill in heels ... just as long as you think of the smiles and memories of doing something different and unique together as a family.

Sort:  

Beautiful shots, Jarvie. Lovely family.

Amazing shots! I love the contrast between the rural background and their clothing, not to mention the high heels :)
I am thinking of doing family or couple shootings in combination with some hiking, mainly for people on their vacations and your pictures gave a new boost to my idea!

Beautiful shots and moments. Again the colours are divine!! Do you ask them to wear certain colours at all? Their clothing always seems to work perfectly with the surroundings.

no i never really tell people what to wear i'm just not very good at that sort of thing.

You're lucky they often seem to wear very complimentary colours!

So fun to see the pictures! Love those colors.

Congratulations and keep up the great work!

This post has been manually curated by PhotoStream: The Photography Tribe!

banner 1.jpg

Join Photostreem DISCORD

Follow the curation trail to earn while supporting great photography on STEEM

Hi @jarvie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.436 which ranks you at #184 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 79 contributions, your post is ranked at #9.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87