Bless Your Children, Don't Curse Them

in #family6 years ago

Words are powerful, they are like sharp arrows which can either push a person forward or to pull the person down. They are like raw materials which can be used to either build or destroy a destiny.

A common trend I have seen among parents who lack knowledge of the power of words is the attitude of being abusive to their children. Some parents don't have any good words to speak to their children rather all they speak to their children are hateful words, insults and curses.

No matter the wrong the child has done, never you open your mouth as a mother or father to insult or curse that child. The effect of your words may not be seen now but as the child grows up, those words begin to manifest in their lives because you are an authority over your children.

I am saying this because I grew up in a peaceful Christian home where my mum and dad never for one day insulted or used any abusive words on we the children. And from childhood they ensured we were not abusive children and this became part of me and my other siblings that it is very hard to insult any one no matter what they did to us.

I could remember about two to three years ago when my immediate younger brother was misbehaving and cursing my mum pains and tears. My mum never for one day insulted or cursed him but one morning after the morning prayers, my mum slapped him and told him these words you can not be useless in my house. After a while my younger brother started to change his attitude and ways of life.

Dear parents, be mindful of your words over your children. Instead of abusing or laying curses on your children, why not pray and bless them? Instead of insulting them and calling them good for nothing, idiot, fool, etc, call them good names of what you want your child to become.

Your words as a father or mother is a seed you are sowing into the lives of your children

Be an example to your children, don't teach them something else while your words and lifestyle is teaching another thing. Let your words speak positivity into their future and not negativity!

Sort:  

Its the parent's duty to chastise the child but not with abusive language but correcting.

#up-gage

thanks for this beautiful reminder my dear , i'll always love my kiddos ❤️

Your post has been recommended by @synick for my up-gage challenge

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48