I am going to be a DAD!

in #family5 years ago (edited)

”There is no school that can teach you how to be a good dad.”


That’s what my old man used to tell me while I was growing up, every time we had arguments. As a kid, being a complete punk rebel during my teenage life, I did not pay attention too much to those words, but very deeply inside, I knew he was not having it easy with me.

Did my dad do a good job with me and my siblings? There is no doubt he did.

Everyone makes mistakes while raising a kid, and he was not perfect neither. I remember when I was 9 or 10 years old, we had shrimps for dinner, I started to feel weird by the smell of it. He was expecting me to start eating, but I was quietly neglecting the food trying to understand why my throat was itching. It wasn't until I said “I don't want to eat this” when he got mad at me and replied: “You are going to eat all your food!”.
It was thanks to my mom when she noticed that something else was happening, and that is how we discovered I was allergic to seafood.

I am sure he didn't feel good about it, but I was old enough to comprehend my dad had no bad intentions, he just wanted me to eat that meal he paid for and appreciate the value of having something to eat, while many others can’t in this world.

me and dad.jpeg

Me and my dad when I was a few months old.


”You can tell how good a parent you were by observing your children with their children.”


I found this quote in a small collection of Fathers quotation from my grandfather’s books. The “World’s Greatest Dad” by Thomas Nelson.

I am sure my grandfather was always proud of my dad, because of the way he raised us and the opportunities he gave us to study and become who we are today. I do know that he was also proud of him for marrying a wonderful woman

When I first read this collection of great quotes, I always asked myself if I was going to be as lucky as my dad to find a wonderful woman, and also have the strength and discipline to be a good father. So far, after almost 10 years of marriage, I can happily say I cleared my first doubt.

On the other hand, I know is too soon to think of this, but something that it’s in my mind lately is if I am going to handle situations properly, later on when my son enters the adolescence, believe me, I was hard to deal with during my teenage rebellion with no cause.
A lot of credits to my dad who had to deal with my defiant attitude.

These and many other questions and thoughts occupy my mind lately. If you are a father, you can remember how it was before your first baby was born.

divider.jpg

A new way of love…

A friend of mine just had a baby, and he told me the other day that I have no idea how I am going to feel when the newborn arrives, it’s a new way of love hard to describe. So if I already feel the way I feel, I cannot imagine how it will be next year.

I like to control everything, and sometimes I am too technical. I am already thinking about all the things we will need and planning on which items I should ask to friends whom had their babies more than a year ago. @evecab tells me not to worry too much about that.

I am also worry about finances, because I want our baby to have everything is needed. I am constantly asking @evecab if she has been eating and what she ate. Now that I wrote all this I realized that maybe I am worrying too much, if so, I can’t help it. This is probably a sign of an overprotective dad.

It’s so hard to explain this new love I feel. I can only say that it made me have some tears at the doctor's appointment when I was watching the ultrasound screen:

It’s a boy...

BABY.jpeg


Something that I also think of, and that makes me sad, is that my dad is not around to help me out with his best advices and most importantly, to enjoy how it is to be a grandfather.

Unfortunately, a cancer took my dad away from us when he was 54. I know that one of the things that made him sad during his last months was to realize he was not going to enjoy any grandson in this life.

I promised myself I am going to take care of my health and diet as much as I can so my son can enjoy his father’s love for as much as this life allows me to.


We have not decided which name we are going to give him. Although I already proposed an idea to @evecab and I would like you to let me know what you think of it. She doesn’t like my idea and we already have an argument about it. Well, I would love his name to be: “Satoshi“...

Hey, it’s a joke! Of course we are not going to name him like that. Not that Satoshi name has anything wrong, but an occidental type of name would be more appealing. We have time to think of this later.


I hope someday in the future I will show this writing to my son and enjoy it together.

We still have several weeks ahead, a lot to read about post pregnancy, prepare ourselves (psychologically speaking) for the nights without sleep to come, more doctor visits, etc, so good vibes are very welcome =)

These are very exciting moments. I will be writing more about this new journey of our lives.

divider.jpg

Are you a father already? How your journey have been? If not, what would you do that your dad or the person who raised you did with you that you enjoyed a lot when you were a kid?

divider.jpg

Thank you!

monedasteemit.gif

Sort:  

This is such an amazing and personal and tender post full of love and honesty. I truly love it, so much so that I have nothing to add. I have no doubt you will be an amazing dad <3

beautiful words @soyrosa thank you so much, I also hope that!

Congratulations @el-cr and @evecab. This is very exciting news indeed!

Your friend is right, that it is a new kind of love. You will find out soon enough.

Just relax and enjoy this time. It is very precious indeed.

Please give @evecab and big hug from me and lots of love to you both. 💙

Thank you Gillian !!! Sending a hug right back 😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

thank you so much @gillianpearce for the support!

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome @el-cr. Please keep us updated.

Have a wonderful Christmas! 😊

Jo Jo man! Congrats..this will change your life for sure! Blessing to you and your girl!
Cheers!

Qué dice el Charrúa? gracias hermano!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you 🙏 @leotrap 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

That with ur father is sad but I'm sure u'll be a double great dad and make up for it :) haha poor @evecab, her diet is under even stronger supervision now than when she was having her shredded weeks :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahaha tell me about it ! Thank god I have loads of unsupervised time at home 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

still, you know you have to put in glucosa for our baby, I should not worry no more.

thanks bro!

Congratulations @el-cr!! You sound to me like you're going to be a perfect dad, and I'm so sorry that your own father is no longer around to witness it. My two boys are now in their very early 20's, and I know you're going to get more advice than you'll ever want over the next few months and years, but the best advice I can give you is this: Just follow your gut and your heart. Everything else is white noise <3

thank you @lynncoyle1, I appreciate that!

Posted using Partiko Android

My pleasure :)

"I have no idea how I am going to feel when the newborn arrives"

Your friend is right about this. I was distinctly surprised how different the love for a child was compared to the love I had for anyone else. I think that with the joy you feel now, everything will be jut fine. I am a mom, not a dad, but I would say to take time with your child is the most important thing. Work is not as important or anything else. You only get a few years to be his role model for life, so be there for as much time as you can.

Big congrats to you :)

thank you and I agree with you, believe me I will dedicate myself to him!

Posted using Partiko Android

I know you will. You happiness makes me very happy. Best of luck to you all.

Dude hell congratulations this is such an amazing day for you, however I disagree on the parts with parents. I agree they carry the best intentions it’s yet their methodology is old and doesn’t keep up with time. Though there’s no proper way to raise a family every child is different.

Sometimes when parents are strict it comes across insensitive to the child and it hurts them knowing that their parents of all people don’t understand or aren’t willing to understand what they’re going through.

I just wanna say if your kid comes to you distraught or unhappy about something just ask them first what happened and be careful not to judge children are perceptive

Posted using Partiko iOS

thank you, very wise! I am wondering how parenting changes so much throughout the time! We'll see how it goes.

Posted using Partiko Android

No worries hope you succeed where most others have failed!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is probably the best Christmas gift a man can receive. Congratulations.

some day I hope to be able to live an experience like that.

Merry Christmas

wao thank you! and yes, definitely a beautiful unexpected gift 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

That is such an exciting news and the love that is in this post suggest that you will be great father indeed. 54 is so young to die and I'm so sorry to hear that. You must still be missing him terribly.

Posted using Partiko Android

I do, but he communicates with me in my dreams, its amaizing. Wherever he is I know he will be soon a grandfather 💚

Posted using Partiko Android

I can already see you bursting with pride and the fact that you are already tuning up your parenting skills shows to me you're going to be a wonderful dad, just like you had a wonderful dad!
Interesting that you have chosen to live as healthy of life as you can to be with your son, I found once you actually become a parent and you realize how dependent those little ones are on you, you end up taking far less risks and do what ever you can to be there for them.
Congratulations and much love to you and your family to be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21