You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog 379: Steem Price + Tokenisation without Steem inc.

in #exyle5 years ago

Running full nodes is very expensive because each one of them need a huge amount of RAM. The monthly cost of these servers are several hundreds dollars. That's a lot and doesn't help to keep the network decentralized.

Sort:  

to further that, the current way the blockchain data is being stored and accessed (using a program called chainbase) is such that it must exists on RAM memory. The goal is to put it on a solid state disk with a program called rocksdb which can offer us significant decease in the ram requirements.

4GB with 60GB SSD is like 20$ / month. That would be doable just for fun for a lot of people. @motoengineer I guess the whole blockchain would not fit on 60GB, do you know the current size?

I think @blockbrothers posted it, but the current needs are 64gb or 128gb of ram (I wish I had that much ram in my computer!). Ecc ram at 128gb would be thousands of dollars.

If the stats were as you put it, I'd host a node too!

@anyx made an excellent post about the full node he build. It has 512 GB RAM. here.

@good-karma said his full node cost around 1000 euro a month, without the load of that Steemit.com has.

@motoengineer would you consider voting for @blockbrothers, the witness I am part of. Thanks.

But running a bill of USD2mil a year is something which does not really make much sense. I've been dealing with enterprise servers and designed data centers and the cost vs the specs they have mentioned just does not add up.

Posted using Partiko Android

1000 euro a month: I guess power and high speed Internet cost?

I will give one of my vote to blockbrothers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27