Steem Monsters Fomo....

in #exyle6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0965.jpg


When I just learned about Steem Monsters I just assumed the common cards wouldn't become very valuable so I put my focused on the epic and legendary cards and gold foils.

Boy what a mistake.

The common and rare alpha cards are rapidly going up in value and the supply is also dwindling due to people stacking the cards (to make them a higher lvl).

You also need less alpha's cards vs Beta's If you want to reach max lvl by stacking.

Here is a comparison.


Untitled.png


As with most investments.

The earlier you get in the better but the most risk you take.

Once things become clear about the project/investment the risk becomes lower but the price of investing becomes higher.

I guess Steem Monsters is a clear example of this.

I can easily say I feel like an idiot not investing in Max Out cards when they were much cheaper.

Another lesson learned.

Prices have gone up.

And all this is happening before the game is finished and before tournaments starts with price money.

So I got fomo'ed this morning.

I went to https://peakmonsters.com and bought a lot of Alpha cards so I have the option to make MAX cards if I need too.


Screenshot 2018-10-16 at 10.18.25.png


I did have to stop at some point because clicking the mouse too much will give you RSI, lol. (there is no select all option).

Now unlike most games were you buy stuff the money u spend here is not gone.

Example: If you buy lives in Candy Crush that money is gone forever and you can't resell the lives.

Here this is not the case. You bought an 'asset' (card) that can still be sold later on.

Wether this card will be worth something a long the lines depends on the demand of the card and on the popularity of the game.

But with what I know now about my investment it seems like a good bet.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

While I like the fact that the prices are going up I am concerned that it will make it too much of a pay to play technique for starting players. I was disappointed that all the playing is not leveling up the cards as well. I think the feature will come but not everyone can buy many and playing needs to be fun as well as rewarding to gather experience. However, I myself fine myself tempted to buy more but waiting for my Kickstarter packs first!

Lvling will come and I also believe there will be tournaments for low lvl cards which should make it fair.

I think this is just for the Alpha cards and not the Beta Cards. The Alpha prices are rising but new players can still purchase Beta cards for as low as $.03. The rising prices are due to the Alpha Cards not being sold anymore.

this game is so much fun!!!!!!! saw you on the field last night @newageinv !!!! nice death squad...and placement of the team. i've been buying more packs....as well as leveling up via the market. it's ON!!!! looking for you @exyle !!!! yeeeehawwww! thanks for being so outspoken about this game...and this whole blockchain!!!!!

I have not met you in the field @rawutah. When I can, I will challenge you to a duel!

On Sunday, @exyle pwned my team several times. That was ... fun.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I will be looking for you my friend! After the mana decreased last night to 17....I reassembled my team...and somehow rose up to about 57th or so on the leader board lol! I'm sure it will change..fast...as others are quickly leveling up new teams. I'm loving how quickly we all have to adapt! the people at about 2000 score keep beating me back. lol....so much fun! see you out there!!!!

Wow! 57th! No way I can compete with that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I did! You sure got your revenge on me pretty quickly! See you on the battlefield!

Example: If you buy lives in Candy Crush that money is gone forever and you can't resell the lives.

Great point!

Thanks :)

I like to play this monster game

Good game.

Oh man, this sure is exciting to see this taking place on the Steem blockchain! The fact they create this without any huge personal investment is just mind-blowing and only shows the potential it has. I am sure many more will be coming. All it will take is a couple of successful games and few killer Apps and the price of Steem will be no less than 100USD!

I am not intending on playing myself but I do like to buy some cards from time to time to give the project my support. I did not get any beta yet but sure will once the Steem/SBD price is little more favorable. What I am hoping for is that someone will create a marketplace for card rentals! That´s when I come in:).... Have a good one Mark, I like to see your updates on various things - it saves me a lot of research time, lol.

Thanks man! And yes, what Steem Monsters have managed to achieve is very impressive without any huge investment! It's an awesome example of things to come. Who knows! ..Cards rentals/lending may come later! I do like the idea.

I've been sitting on my alpha max deck for months and it's finally unfolding. You can have mine for 2500 Steem. Kidding.

Edit: Your article inspired me to do this poll.

Man, Some envy here for sure! Great forth-sight!

Yeah, it is! :)

This is awesome. It kind of makes me wish I hadn't leveled up all of my cards and kept some of those around to move on the market. I am liking what I am seeing so far. I think it is going to be hard to ever place unless they are pretty generous with the tiers.

I think there also will be low lvl Tournaments where everyone has a shot with lvl1 cards.

That would be awesome, though most of my cards I have been able to level to some degree. I just know I am not able to compete with the big dogs right now.

hi dear @exyle !

thanks for this great post who illustrate well the situation in SteemMonsters Game actually !

By the way, as you seem to know well the game, I made a post to ask about XP of the cards, but I didn't get the answer I was searching : do we have necessarily to combine cards to gain XP or the XP increase will come further ?

Have a good evening !

Right now you have to combine to lvl the cards. Later you can earn XP by playing the game.

Thanks for your answer :-)
and do you maybe know when this XP feature will be added ?..
See you soon !

I found the buying them one at a time quite draining too. How they do a multi select soon!!

https://peakmonsters.com/ = 30 at the time!

Aw heck, that's magic!! Cheers!

283 (Soon to be 284) battles later and I'm totally addicted!

Joker in the pack :D

Same here! Just one more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84