You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An actual good day of runs.

in #exhaust5 years ago

Did you really? That's hardcore... was it a struggle or did you set your mind to it and breeze through?

All of this is really making me question how much food do we actually need.... did the Aborigines in Australia eat every day? I have no idea... I really should check it out.

I'm definitely keen to try to eventually eat once a day... it just seems so efficient!

Sort:  

Yeah I've been off of it for a while now -- not sure why I stopped. Think I just started getting a bit greedy and enjoying the nearby lunch restaurants when I'm at work.

All of this is really making me question how much food do we actually need....

It kind of sounds like a funny question at first -- but after you start dialing it back a little bit, you start realizing how often you eat because you're socializing, or just because it's "more or less around the time you usually like to eat", or just because you're bored. Very very doubtful that our ancestors scarfed down 3 huge meals a day.

On a similar, but tangential note, most people eat WAAAAY more meat than they need to... All in the name of protein, which most people eat WAY too much of. I've been pretty quiet about my vegetarian / mostly vegan habits to this point -- but thought it was relevant enough to mention.

Oh yeah, I 100% agree... there's no way that meat could have been anything but a very special occasional food for 74,900 of the last 75,000 years that people have been around.... purely because of the logistics involved... hunting requires way more energy and organisation than gathering... and if you ate deer, etc every day you'd destroy your region pretty quick. I'm sure once farming was established, you couldn't possibly raise enough farm animals quickly enough to eat meat every day... let alone 2, 3 times a day.

It's something I'm definitely working on... but because I've already cut out carbs, I'm struggling... I'll figure it out though, I really want to head in a self-sustaining direction if I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79