Did you create a testament for your crypto holdings yet?

in #eternitas5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Did you create a testament for your crypto holdings yet?


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

@soyrosa this is a great post. Very well written and informative.

Thanks a lot!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This actually pretty cool.
No, I have not arranged anything yet, but I did think of a fun way (a treasure hunt format) to hand over my keys to my kids in case something happens.

That's great! Something only they would be able to 'solve' so you feel secure everything ends up in the right hands?

Exactly, something that brings back memories and they can decide what to do with it.

Do it. It’s important and I love the idea of combining something important with bringing back memories <3

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! I will :)

Kinda cool, but I'll wait til I make my first 100 K first 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Who know when they die? By then your current 6800 STEEM might be worth the 15 dollars that make 100.000$ ;-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Morbid, but I think about this all the time, especially when I travel by air (the safest mode) :)

<3 Yes, it's one of those things you only temporarily worry about and then quickly forget again. It's weird how flying does that, even though about any other activity we do is more dangerous hehe.

Hey @thekittygirl, I remember us briefly talking about this topic a while ago. I never got to write about it, but I never forgot, it was always somewhere in the back of my mind to write it. Just mentioning you here because you might want to read it :-)

THANKS for the tag, lady! Yes, I remember talking about this, and I appreciate your follow-up here! I have already made some plans, too, but Eternitas sounds like a solution to keep an eye on! THANK YOU! 🙂

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I have thought about it more given I have a young daughter. I have documented most of the procedures so that she could know where are the keys. I have spoken to a good friend to help them through it as well! However, this is still a small piece of the assets but as it grows something more formal should be done. Thanks for the ideas!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm glad you've taken those steps at least! What's 'small' now can be big 'later' so I consider every asset to be huge 'just in case'. Good luck on finding a process that works for you!

I was only talking to Hubby about this.today. How would he get my steem if I died? I did tell him where I store stuff but he forgets and as he said, he'll be too busy crying to see the screen.

Posted using Partiko Android

he'll be too busy crying to see the screen

<3

Yes, at least writing some of the steps down and put a letter in an envelop he only knows how to find is a first step. But having an app that can be updated every time you change something like your keys or when you add a new wallet on another platform would be ideal.

I hope you find a way that works for you both :-)

Super interesting. A necessity over time. Great job bringing this evolving solution to our attention.

As for hypothetically giving all of your crypto for your BF, that's very generous!

KNOCK ON WOOD!!

Well, it's so weird, we discovered yesterday if he were to die today I would be 'settled' for life thanks to his life insurance :-/ It's an incredible sad topic and how money and life are so intertwined. I'm the worst when it comes to long-term planning but it has to be done. These things make me restless, I'd rather ignore that this topic even exists, but yeah, I'm learning :-)

KNOCK ON WOOD indeed!

Last will as a smart contract.... that is a provoking thought. Not entirely surprising though. This is an extremely important post and as the cryptosphere matures this would be an issue that we all would have to deal with.

I havn't been so serious about this until now because my crypto holdings or savings of any other type aren't substantial by any means. But what happens when in a few years time I have my own 10K SP and Steem token's worth is about 25 dollars each. Now that is a substantial amount ........

Makes me wonder on how an artist would divide his/her content and token holdings between their loved ones. Their content would remain eternally valuable and the tokens too have a monetary value of their own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94