Happy Birthday, to Arab-American Poet/Philosopher, Gibran

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

aisrzol81e.jpg

m23crc7oie.png

Discovering Gibran's philosophical and spiritual art was a highlight of my youth. As a teenager, he helped me feel less alone and allowed me to dare to dream to be a writer. In honor of his birthday, today, below are 11 stirring excerpts from various works of his that I return to for sustenance and inspiration:

"Your daily life is your temple and your religion."
When you enter into it take with you your all.

I have found both freedom and safety in my madness; the freedom of loneliness and the safety from being understood, for those who understand us enslave something in us.

We choose our joys and sorrows long before we experience them.

Generosity is giving more than you can, and pride is taking less than you need.

To belittle, you have to be little.

We often borrow from our tomorrows to pay our debts to our yesterdays

And in much of your talking, thinking is half murdered. For thought is a bird of space, that in a cage of words may indeed unfold its wings but cannot fly.

When God threw me, a pebble, into this wondrous lake I disturbed its surface with countless circles.
But when I reached the depths, I became very still.

Dig anywhere in the earth and you will find a treasure, only you must dig with the faith of a peasant.

Faith is an oasis in the heart which will never be reached by the caravan of thinking.

The significance of man is not in what he attains, but rather in what he longs to attain."

To learn more about Gibran

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79