Esteem - Deep-linking is broken?

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

Today Team @esteemapp has released the new version of esteem surfer - v1.0.5. The newest release comes with a lot of bug fixes and new features. @good-karma has posted the new release here! Testing fresh releases is like a hobby for me so without wasting the time I went up to test the newest entry in esteem surfer. Now the newest version has "Counts" available above the preview section which shows the counting of the letters typed! Before I start with my blog, Esteem surfer is the best steem-interfaced desktop application available for all the major desktop OS so just download it right now! Download - Esteem Surfer

  • One of the features which grabbed my attention is Deeplinking. Most of the people don't know Deeplinking and how it works! Here is the note on it!
  • Deep-linking is like the integration between apps so if I type, click or trigger some actions then it will open that file or link into the applications that support it.
  • Example: Torrent files always open ups in uTorrent(if the app or software is installed on the device) if clicked in the browser or pdf files when clicked in a browser, gets launched in PDF Reader.
  • Similarly, when you put some pre-defined order of links in the search bar of any browser it will launch that specific application.
  • Here is the example is given by @good-karma, give it a try!
    n9za67mucc.png

Didn't worked in my case!

  • I tried given example in my Chrome but it didn't launch in esteem surfer or showed any notification to launch an app.
  • To further study it, I installed Firefox and again tried but no result.
  • I restarted my Xubuntu just in case, if there is any error restart will fix it either ways, but no effect even after restarting and relaunching the apps.
  • Instead, it shows Google search results for every typed command.
    ggg7p4plvl.png
  • To extend it to further options, I will install esteem on my Windows and will see that if the problem is happening there or not.
  • In case if I am missing any details or if this Deep-Linking worked on your side then do let me know in comment section.
    Source Images!
    1 Copyright - Esteem
    j76k1yoa2f.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76