Experience shapes us.

in #esteem5 years ago

kwztfpt4i8.png
Source

I started working properly when I was 14. At the time it was in a bar in my local golf club, ( Yes that's technically illegal but I got paid in cash so it's fine.)

It was a great experience for me to grow up and gain confidence from being a very shy person that was thrown into the deep end of working by myself and dealing with customers and problems. It wasn't the toughest place in the world to learn as there were nice people for the most part but still fairly daunting or a young lad.

We also hosted a lot of events such as 21st's, 30th's, Christenings and Xmas parties so we did get the full bar experience on those nights. The messes, the drunkenness, the fights and all of the other fun stuff that goes hand in hand with bar work. I loved it and worked there for 8 years, doing summers and weekends all through college. I still help out from time to time for big events as i am a member of the club and it always takes voluntary efforts to run a small club in a local town.

I think it was the best thing that could have happened for me at that stage as I was very withdrawn around adults and shy in social occasions. ( You couldn't tell that now, even though I still get it from time to time in strange situations.)

Anybody that I tell wouldn't believe it as over my college years and everything since, I tended to be in the middle of the action and having the time of my life.

It's strange though. While I have no problem being in the middle of the action i've always been a very private person. I like to keep myself to myself and still enjoy my own space. I don't tend to share much of myself with others outside a very tight circle of people. Even writing this post here feels strange as I don't tend to talk about myself or let others in easily.

It's different here though for some reason. I would never write anything personal on Facebook or Twitter and barely post anything onto them at all. Any pictures are from other people and the only things on my profile are a few happy birthday messages to friends.

STEEM has been something more than social media. It's part of a lifestyle. You get involved and take pride in the people here. When you read a post from a person you've been following for two years. A person that you have interacted with for two years. A project that comes to fruition.

Whether it's a game that does well or a curation group you have watched built from the ground up. We all have some stake in these projects and should be hoping for their success.

I've never understood the negativity shown by some of the people here who really seem to want everything to fall apart. Why not leave if you hate something? It's not the money. Very few people here make much and even then you can do it through delegation and avoid the blogs altogether.

Thankfully most of those people left over time while the believers stayed. The people building projects. The ones who post because they feel part of STEEM and not for the rewards.

After multiple jobs, two runs at college and lots of excitement in between these I have ended up in a retail job where my first experience at work has shaped how I operate. It actually got me in the door here in the first place out of 1200 applicants down to 40. The skills I learned at 14 in my immaturity were invaluable to my career at 30. Back then I was unsure of what to do and where I would end up. I was shy and not great for interaction. But I grew. In experience and personality. Those struggles shaped me for where I have ended up now and the life I have.

I think that we all experience these growing pains in the same way as we are watching STEEM itself mature. We might feel all grown up now but in reality STEEM is still in it's infancy stage and trying to figure out a place in the world. These experiences and struggles over the past few years are what will shape the future here and hopefully see it grow into a strong and sustainable system that keeps evolving.


vm70hsf1ot.png

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @blewitt.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

I really appreciate Your job @helpiecake, because You are true person, not cruel bot made only for money. I see You support really worthy posts like that, not whatever what.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi, @niallon11!

You just got a 40.75% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

This is the most entertaining such long post Ive been reading on Steemit.
I wish You all the best.
My life looks different than Yours, but I don't state mine better. It is just different.
Have a nice month!

We all have different lives but the important thing is to enjoy it and make the most of the experiences that we have.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @niallon11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.129 which ranks you at #3446 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 118 contributions, your post is ranked at #27.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77