Steem Monsters Sunday!: End of Season and More Tournament Rewards

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)


qyz12mxck6.png

Source

Although I may have lost count already, what was Season 9 of Steem Monsters is now over! It was another tough season to play through as competition continues to remain high and despite seeing new names playing on a daily basis, Daily Quests have become much more difficult to complete as it is now better off to battle with teams optimized for the ruleset instead of always choosing the same Splinter. This is even more prevalent as you climb higher on the ranks as many opposing players quickly notice the Splinter you have been playing in your last games to chose an optimal counter Splinter. While I have been trying to do the same, I have yet to learn these strategies effectively. For example, I love using the Water Splinter for their magic attack buff; but, opponents see this and load up with cards that reflect or just absorb magic attacks! It has made it difficult to complete at higher levels. However, this is something we can fix with patience and practice so it is just an effort to put some more time into it which I hope to do during my upcoming vacation.


2fz9ntfi67.png

Screenshot from Steem Monsters Website

I was able to get into the Diamond Division with only a couple of days to spare so I was able to get 40 more Reward Edition cards for the collection, including another Legendary Black Dragon which was going to be highlighted today until some other events transpired this weekend. These rewards are one of the things that we often do not realize that they help us create value to our accounts as often we may be able to get valuable cards to either use or convert into Steem. It is one of the benefits of this game as it provides optionality on how to collect and use the assets acquired. It is just another example of ways that Steem provides flexibility to add to your value. The addition of tournaments couple of weeks ago continues to provide value to me as well as the weekend has provided some good rewards for placing on some tournaments.


p71i4mm7q8.png

Screenshot from Steem Monsters Website

While I was only able to play a handful of games during the week due to work and commitments, I played a similar amount over the weekend alone and after starting pretty slow I was able to get two tournaments where I placed high enough to get rewards that are worth mentioning. First as part of an Alpha only tournament, I was able to place in the top 10 and secure a legendary Lightning Dragon! That is a great result considering it wasn’t a very high placement as often as seen in these tournaments. Many may be hesitant to join because they don’t think they can win but the fact is that you can get great rewards without winning. I have never won a tournament but have won rewards worth in excess of 100 Steem since starting.


lvcjpaq33q.png

Screenshot from Steem Monsters Website

There are also some tournaments in which not many players sign up for whatever reason, and this has also given me some great opportunities to get great rewards. This weekend I joined a tournament in which players could only use gold cards. Very few signed up which meant that only after two rounds of play I was placed high enough in the tournament to get rewards. When the dust settled, I saw that the reward was of Gold Magi Sphinx! I knew this was a real card as I had only gotten two or three of them in all of the packs that I had opened but never a gold foil. I immediately went to the market to see the value of this card and was pleasantly surprised to see it above $40. Not bad for a couple of wins, about 40 minutes of my time, and holding on to my Gold Cards. This also made me realize that I had never leveled up any of my gold cards. However, I am looking to see where I have some opportunities to improve my collection by doing so.


lcg6312fle.png

Screenshot from Steem Monsters Website

My experience with these tournaments continues to entangle me more with the game as it continues to not only bring enjoyment but is quite profitable if I consider my results. With so much room left for developing the game and improving the experience, I continue to view my time and money funneled to this as an investment. There are not many places where you can enjoy your experience as well as see your investment grow then this game. I think that I am not the only one recognizing this as prices for cards continue to grow in the marketplace. I have seen how the Legendary Summoners that I purchased a couple of weeks to go go have actually increased 50% in value in that time!

Given the promising roadmap I see in front of me, I took a portion of the Stewm that I purchased this week and looked into ways to improve my collection. My focus continues to be how to remain competitive and improve the teams that I select in that only tournaments but during season play which continue to be challenging. I invested about 130 Steem to do so. I focused on improving my Legendary Monsters as I have seen them make a large difference when getting into Diamond Division as their abilities are strong and versatile. I kept adding to the cart and thought I was going overboard but was pleasantly surprised to see what I was able to acquire with this Steem. I had a look at the Legendary Summoners but those have increase dramatically in price which made me hesitate to consider adding to my own except for the one that I forgot to acquire last time.


8gqvj1d4vj.png

Screenshot from PeakMonsters Website

I continue to view the purchase of cards much better than buying packs but that is due to the fact that the cards I use are Alpha and those booster packs are no longer available. My opinion may change on this as the thought of adding to my gold card collection may entice me to buy some more booster packs and try my luck! Also, with SBD and Steem prices increasing, the possibilities to get better conversions is likely to increase sales of the remaining Beta Booster Packs! Have a great week of battling!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Diamond is not a bad level to get to anymore as it is so tough to rise in the rankings anymore. I finished in d3 after a good run of results together. Made d2 but dropped back trying to finish my daily quests. It's gotten so tough up there.

At least you are making full value of the tournaments so far. I have played a few but the timing isn't great for me on most of them between work and the time zones. Still pulled a few steem from them but not as nice as yourself. I should get in a good few more over the next while so will try to earn a bit extra like yourself. Great result with a few of them and the cards.

Posted using Partiko Android

Certainly tougher these days but I hope to get more strategy in and find my way a bit higher this season!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I believe i am also begining to fall in love more with the game. Though i joined few days ago but surely, it is fun playing it

It is quite engaging, especially when you start!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've been slowly adding to my collection, but don't have 150 Steem to spend quite yet. I think I'm falling behind as I used to get to Diamond 3 before the end of the season, but currently, seem to be hitting a wall about gold 2 level.

I'm aiming to add to my common cards in hopes that they will be able to bring in some money when I can start leasing them.

Gold I was really tough to get through last season but I think that it is still a good spot if you have the cards to do it. Excited to see the card delegations and the potential it can bring to the game now!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah I think I could get to diamond if I really push, but not sure if it's worth it as it just makes completing my dailies take that much longer.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by newageinv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00