Story: The Stranger

in #esteem5 years ago

The wind seemed to speak to Tim. It beckoned him from across the land - calling him to the sea. Sailing was his passion and I tagged along as I also enjoy it. As a result, there we were, riding the waves again on our Caribbean adventure.

We anchored at Union Island and went to the first café we saw by the beach. Tim left immediately to use the facilities and order drinks. There was no one else on the patio, so choosing a spot with a great sea view was easy. The palm trees swayed rhythmically catching the sea breeze in their dance. I settled down, my mind drifting with the warm breeze across the white sands back out to sea.

My reverie was abruptly disturbed by a tall, dark stranger asking tentatively if he could disturb me. He seemed timid, as though he realized that he just interrupted something special.
He seemed quiet calm and pleasant, so I answered, “Sure - no problem.”
He sat down, then said to me’ “I do not mean to scare you but I have been expecting you. When I saw you walking here - I knew immediately that it was you.“ I looked at him flabbergasted but curiously. If this was a new pick-up approach, I wanted to hear what would come next.

Jovially but politely, I said, “ Do I look like someone you know?”
He responded, “ No, we do not know each other. However, it was destined that we meet. It is our destiny.”
“Oh, ok” was my lame response.
I did not want to trivialize his seemingly earnest proclamations. However, this was too bizarre for words. I suddenly wanted Tim to return.

Maybe I was still dreaming - after all this was a dreamy location. I did not want to learn about my destiny. I just wanted to mindlessly enjoy my surroundings. There was an awkward silence.
I then muttered “I do not live here. “
He smiled and said, " I know."

I thought, sure - he probably knows all 3.000 inhabitants. Tim returned with drinks in the nick of time to help me end this peculiar awkwardness. The polite man rose, shook Tim’s hand and thanked me for my time. The stranger went to sit a few tables away - close to the sea.

I relayed the encounter to Tim. He laughed sardonically then said, "Momogrow come on. I hope you do not believe this nonsense."
”Of course I don’t ," I retorted quickly, "but look at him. He seems more like a philosopher than a flirt. Maybe a mad philosopher.”

We enjoyed our drinks then rose to depart for a quick tour of the island, before setting sail to Tobago Cays.
The mysterious stranger approached us and said, “ I have a lot of respect for you bareboat-ers. I hope you have a great adventure.”
Then he looked me dead in the eyes and added “We will meet again!”


source

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Hello @momogrow, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I had fun reading your story, @momogrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88