1. After HF20 - change produces change

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

dyj3s4r82e.png
Source

I, like many others, have been waiting to get the green light to start posting again.

Or should I say, we were waiting for the proper replenishment of our daily food - Mana. I cannot help but seeing the analogy with Manna - heavenly food - so bear with me. 😀 I am not technically inclined, so the large Mana numbers are overwhelming. However, thanks to @holger80, we have: https://beempy.com/power/username - which provides a comprehensive and understandable overview.
Here are the details for my account:
vjd1qelnta.jpg
It speaks for itself - no explanation required.

In the Beginning - this new Beginning - we are given:

  1. Daily Mana - Voting Mana - a new name for Voting Power/Influence. This Mana is attached to your Steem - the more Steem one powers up - the more Mana one has.
  2. Resource Credits (RC) - it tells us the cost of using Mana. It tells the total number of times one can upvote/downvote, comment or power up/down, perform transfers. RC is used up or eaten up with these actions. If it is not used - it will grow - 100% is full replenishment.

Any change in Behavior?

I believe HF20, like any other change, will cause changes in behavior - they could be profound or subtle changes.
The obvious ones are:

  • As mentioned above - our language will change - we will talk about Mana and RC instead of Voting Power and bandwidth.
  • We had to wait - patience is a virtue. However, we had no choice. There might have been complaints but we will forget about this down time. Soon we will be back to business as usual.
  • There is no doubt that we will all consider what is good for ourselves with this new start. Everyone will form their own opinion and hopefully we will move forward positively to better days.
  • Some will buy more Steem to Power Up thus increasing Voting Mana. The end result, would be a positive impact on the price of Steem and more happy Steemians.
  • Will their be more engagement in order to earn more Mana? Hopefully that will be the end result - it should be all about engagement.
  • We will stop spamming - hopefully the inclination to spam will be reduced as our actions will cost us RC and reduce/waste our Mana.
  • etc.etc.
    You fill in the blanks.
    Although one's environment can change and force some predictable outcomes - human behavior can also be unpredictable.
    HF20 tested some people's patience and belief - to what extent -only time will tell.
Sort:  

I am yet to see those spam accounts spamming me with comments, I guess hard fork has taken good care of them

It will be great news if they are all gone. Hopefully bots will go too - or is that wishful thinking. :-)

Bots stay, there is enough sp to keep them rolling

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hf20 is a good step in the right direction. But it doesn't fix the biggest problems with steem in my opinion, bidbots and evergreen content. I love steem but it seems pretty crazy to not address these problems now, because it does ruin so many users experiences and them quit. Stellar post!!

@grayoo Yes indeed - a step in the right direction. Yes - for me it was wishful thinking that bot would disappear. I wonder how Steemit could ensure evergreen content when the content is totally dependent on the blogger? I also hoped for some user friendly features - however Steemit is still beta - more to come - I guess.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by MoMoGrOw from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Only time will tell the true effect of the HF20.

Indeed and also my ending words - time is the teller of the truth. We can hope for the best.

Well! We all are celebrating the success of hf20! Even me, as I see we all are back again and enjoying streming...

But wait... Why I can't write comments anymore? As a plankton/newbie all I had was to comment on other's posts as many as i like. With 15 sp back then (even now with 33 sp) my upvote didn't have any power , I had just one tool to make myself visible, make new friends and gain exposure over steemit. I made many friends through just and just commenting on their posts! And I have to admit that I was growing at a decent rate. But after hf20, which is being said 'a revolutionary act' is not doing any help for me at all! Yes I appreciate it's positive vibes... It is killing spams... And other stuffs! But it's also killing us... The planktons and newcomers specially! I used your tool and I calculate that I can make only 9 comments per day and that is only if I do not give any upvotes or make any kind of transactions! I think steemit is forcing small accounts to invest in it so that thay can communicate freely without taking the headache of rc or mana! But not all of us are rich people to invest in it. I have already powered up my sp with all of my steem and sbd, but it is not nearly enough! I don't know if I survive steemit or not. But hf20 has made steemit into whaleit, I did realize that! I know you all will oppose me, then correct me if I am wrong! I Will be very glad to hear that I am taking it the wrong way! Anyways, stay happy dear and keep posting. It was a very informative post and I like your hard work! Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

@mango-juice - I hear you. You prompted a change in my post for today. I share some thoughts there.
I do not think Steemit is only for whales now. I know that the limits that RC imposes creates limits for all including plankton who might suffer the most. I truly hope that communities will be supportive even more so now as it needed more than ever.

Yes and I am feeling that dear, only being together as a community we can grow!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39