"Catfishing" with Makeup: A Ramble in Insecurities About My SkinsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)


As you can tell by now, I have never been a "typical girl". Frankly, I stopped seeing myself as female for a while now but that's for another day.

A "typical woman" is expected to wear revealing clothes, wear makeup and high heels in order to court "most males". This idea is obviously problematic and heteronormative. Heck, a male ex of mine went from "I accept you as you are" to "CHANGE EVERYTHING NOW", which may or may not be a future post.

I have seen a lot of people mock makeup and push-up bras, but then proceed to demand their idea of "natural" beauty, which consisted of smooth skin and perky boobs for some reason? 

Who's funding all the chemical peels and fat grafting??? 

Sorry to break the news, textured skin, flat or sagging boobs are all the rage.

Did I say all the rage? I mean, REALITY.

I guess the thing a lot of people don't realize is that not everyone can party (I have medication that keeps me on a curfew as a side effect), put on makeup and outfits every day. Courting people at parties or clubs just feels so alien to me.

My skin has all the time it needs to take to recover from the little makeup or partying I do and it still looks the way it does.

I'd really love to get a dermatologist to look my skin and explain what the heck is going on. Honestly, I think it's sugar. I have a really sweet tooth.

Putting on my face is really just so I can take my self-portraits for my Patreon or if I am modelling for a photographer.

I don't think I am lying to anyone by not beating my mug. Heck, if you intend to be in a long term relationship with me, expect to see this greasy, acne-prone face sleeping next to you for years and years to come.

Image: From my YouTube channel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82